We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best bread and breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Domus Valeria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Domus Valeria
Ranked #414 of 3,762 Rome B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
L'Orignal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best bread and breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Best bread and breakfast we have encountered. Our host was incredibly helpful and personable.

The terrace top has the most peaceful and typically Roman setting. Could have stayed there forever but too much to see in Rome.

Huge comfortable bed and access to two bathrooms, fridge and coffee machine, etc. Felt like a comtesse for the time we were there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Proprietario at Domus Valeria, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Many thanks for the nice review.

I am happy to know that you were good in my house.

Hope to see you again, maybe in Canada nex time!

Hugs from Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    29
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
106
92
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We had six nights with Marco at this great B&B near the Spanish Steps. The location was perfect for walking to most of the major attractions and only a couple of minutes from the metro. Marco is a wonderful host - always there to help and he gave excellent advise on where to eat. The rooftop terrace was a lovely quiet escape from the madness on the streets and a perfect start to the day for breakfast. The shared bathroom was never a problem as there are only three rooms and we always felt at home in the apartment with fresh fruit, great coffee and tart always available and very welcome on our return in the afternoon before going out to dinner. This is a unique experience in Rome and should not be missed. Our stay will be long remembered.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akurafarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Proprietario at Domus Valeria, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thanks for the nice review!

I was glad to had the chance to meet you.

I hope to see you once againg in the near future, why not .. in Australia!

Hugs from Rome

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

My 3 friends and I rented the Domus Valeria Apartment for three nights. In addition to our charming host, Marco, the apartment was very comfortable and affordable. It was perfect to be able to rent whole apartment - we had 3 rooms for 4 people and shared a bath and a half bath. Two of the rooms had double beds, seating areas and armoires and the third room was a cozy, smaller space with a single bed, armoire, and small desk & chair. Our rooms were tidied and beds made daily by Martin, the all-around handyman and house cleaner - so nice! We also loved the 2 coffee machines and round-the-clock pastries that were in addition to a fantastic breakfast (served on the beautiful rooftop terrace!). We did not make use of the kitchen, but easily could have brought home ingredients to cook or take out to eat and save in the refrigerator. Marco made it very clear at the beginning that the entire space and anything in it was available for our use. I highly recommend Domus Valeria!

I can also highly recommend Ristorante Il Gabriello around the corner from Domus Valeria. Make sure and ask for “Claudio’s Extravaganza”. It is not on the menu, and is a several course meal chosen by the chef and brought to you with fantastic service (price includes dessert, but not wine). Marco is very helpful in making dinner recommendations and reservations!

NOTE on ATM use: I arranged with my bank ahead of time for a larger than usual daily ATM withdrawal. Then, by using Deutsche Bank ATMs in Italy, I was able to withdraw 700 euros at a time, rather than the usual 200-250 at other banks. I highly recommend Deutsche Bank!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Beth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Proprietario at Domus Valeria, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thanks for the nice review.

It 's been a pleasure to have met you and your friends. I wish you all the best of luck!

I'd love also to stay in touch, and hopefuly see you once again in the near future, in Italy or in the U.S..

A big hug

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Near the Spanish Steps, but away from the hordes of tourists. The immediate area is bustling during the day and more low-key with strolling locals at night, but at all times, our apartment itself was quiet and restful. The apartment is on the top floor (4 flights up, elevator available) of a centuries-old residence, with lots of old-Italy charm and coziness. Marco, our host, was incredibly gracious, witty, and accommodating, and capable of walking a fine line between being available for questions and requests but providing ample privacy and personal space. His warmth is actually what made our stay memorable, and he was always ready when asked for a recommendation for dining and destinations, or for an offer to call for a reservation. The way Marco put on a rooftop-terrace breakfast made for a wonderful way to wake up every morning! I will be booking at Domus Valeria the next time I’m in Rome.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank increduloso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Proprietario at Domus Valeria, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thanks for the nice review. It 's been a pleasure to have met you and your friends. I wish you all the best of luck!

I'd love also to stay in touch with you, and maybe see you again in the near future, in Italy or in the U.S.. A big hug Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

From sleeping with the window open, to breakfast on the rooftop, we found this B&B to be remarkably quiet and peaceful – especially for being located less than one block from the Spanish Steps in the heart of Rome. The ample continental breakfasts (and endless coffee) helped launch us into the city – easy because the B&B is located on the edge of a pedestrian shopping area, and is an easy walk to the Borghesi Gallery and Roman Forum area.

The cordial host, Marco, lives on-site, and was very helpful with dinner recommendations and reservations. He made us feel at home in his own home. Shortly after arriving and meeting our immediate needs, he invited us on a brief walking tour of the neighborhood to orient us to environs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOR-NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Valerio A, Proprietario at Domus Valeria, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thanks for the nice review. It 's been a pleasure to have met you and your friends. I'd like to stay in touch, and maybe see us in the near future, in Italy or in the U.S.. A big hug Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kornwestheim, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Thanks Marco for having been your guests! Domus Valeria is perfectly located, quiet and tastfully arranged. To explore the city forget the tube; put your shoes and start walking, within 30 min walk you will reach most of cities places of interest.
Looking for a nice place to eat, a delicious gelato? Marco has excellent hints, look into the room black book and/or ask Marco.
Finally weather and temperatures in May in Rom are pleasant, good time to get there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephane_1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

close to the spanish steps and other great attraction in rome. wonderful host and great breakfast. marco even helped me get tickets to the last supper even if its in milan. he goes above and beyond what a host should be. thank you! this is a great benchmark to what a good bnb should be.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FauzyIsmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Condotti Palace
Condotti Palace
#526 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Forte
Hotel Forte
#276 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Campo Marzio
Babuino 127 Rooms
Babuino 127 Rooms
#260 of 3,762 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Relais Babuino 124
Relais Babuino 124
#1,031 of 3,762 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Campo Marzio
Babuino 79
Babuino 79
#111 of 1,089 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Campo Marzio
Relais Pierret Piazza di Spagna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Valeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Valeria

Property: Domus Valeria
Address: Via del Babuino 96 | 4th Floor, Apartment 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #414 of 3,762 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domus Valeria is my cozy Attic-Floor Apartment (with lift) for gays, lesbians and hetero friends, located in central Rome.The apartment, with two doubles and one single room, is on the attic floor of Palazzo Saulini, one of the most prestigious historical buildings of Via del Babuino, built in the eighteenth century. The roof garden of about 100 square meters, overlooking the Spanish Steps and the Academy of France, is completely available to all guests.The period decor and the comfortable lounge area make Domus Valeria the perfect place to stay for a visit in the Eternal City, for business or leisure. Wi-Fi Internet access, the collection of films and books and a large terrace overlooking Rome will make your stay a unique experience, whether it is for a few days or several weeks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Domus Valeria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing