We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay...”
Review of DomusamoR Colosseo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DomusamoR Colosseo
Ranked #152 of 1,093 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just okay...”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at this bed and breakfast in February 2013. It is a bit off the beaten path but in an easily accessible location, a mere 10 minute walk to the colosseum. The b&b is an apartment with three bedrooms. They all have their own private bathroom and the kitchen area is shared. In the kitchen, you'll find an internet-connected computer for guest use as well as a washer and dryer. Especially the latter two came in handy given that Rome was the third stop on our Italian trip. The kitchen also has a fridge to store food, a toaster, coffee machine, cups, etc... the things you would expect to find in a kitchen. Breakfast is not much, actually a bit disappointing: pre-packed sliced bread, pre-packed croissants, some orange juice, milk, cereal and coffee are to be found. It's a self-service kitchen. Our room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. However, the pillows were a bit too thin and there were no extra pillows to be found. Also, bring your own soap and shampoo. It is not provided. There are towels available, though. Call ahead to let the manager know when you are checking in as he is not usually there. He comes to open the door, to give you the keys and an explanation of the place and that's it. If you expect a hotel service, this is not the place for you. It is a very independent stay which may suit some but not others. It was fine for us, though. We stayed for three nights. The first night we were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves. The second night, however, we discovered just how thin the walls are. After we had gone to bed around 9 PM after an exhausting day, the manager came in with someone else and they chatted in the kitchen for the longest time. Not sure what they were doing. It sounded like they were just hanging out. Anyway, it was very loud in our room. The third night was somewhat better. Another pair had checked into the room next to us but were thankfully quiet and we tried to do the same. But I can imagine if there are other guests in the kitchen, you don't get to sleep much as you can hear everything. Overall, it was not a bad stay. I mostly value cleanliness and this place was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollito C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    26
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you like your own company and prefer not to mix with people at breakfast or like to get up in your own time then this is not for you. The apartment carries noise so other guests will wake you up getting their breakfast, we also had a dog barking of a night time and lots of noise coming from the apartment above so we didn't sleep too well. We would have preferred more choice at breakfast, but the location is excellant and the rooms are great.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious, clean with great bathrooms, showers are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Brilliant hotel for the independat traveler. Ideal location only mins from the Colosseum and main train station. The breakfast was minimal so we bought fruit and some good bread rather than the plastic wrapped stuff. Would definately come again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

nice place with good facilities. The room with our own bathroom. A kitchen to use. Situatet very near Colosseum and not so expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jens m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Near the Colosseum and the Forum Romanum. Only 3 rooms. Kitchen on the same floor which is ready to use all the time. We felt immediately at home. Good restaurants in the neighbourhood, not expensive. If you don't like mass tourism, you should book this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ria v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Domus amoR Colosseo was a great place for our family to stay. We had enough room and the a/c worked perfectly in our room at all hours! It was nice having a kitchen so that in the morning we could go out when we were ready to eat some breakfast and serve ourselves. It was close to the Colosseo and walking distance to the Metro.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Wayfer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

I loved this place. It is clearly an apartment that has been renovated so if you are looking for the Hilton, this isn't the right place. That said, each room is unique, cool, and comfortable. There is a washing machine and a kitchen which saved us an enormous amount of money. You can also use the refrigerator. The location cannot be beat. You are within walking distance or a short cab ride from nearly everything or at least from termini station. We spent very little money on transport. There are some great local restaurants nearby (La Forchetta and Nipolito) as well as a small shop where you can buy basic necessities. The colosseum, forum, Trajan's market and Domus aurea are all just a few minutes away. Davide is very helpful. The place is also stocked with tourist books, info, and dishes in the kitchen. It was very affordable. I would recommend this little place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pikasum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#80 of 1,257 in Rome
661 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#99 of 1,257 in Rome
817 reviews
Relais 6
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Sweet Home Colosseum
Sweet Home Colosseum
#136 of 1,093 in Rome
110 reviews
Monti
Mecenate Rooms
Mecenate Rooms
#846 of 3,644 in Rome
165 reviews
Monti
Terme di Traiano Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DomusamoR Colosseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DomusamoR Colosseo

Property: DomusamoR Colosseo
Address: Via Angelo Poliziano 70, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 1,093 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — DomusamoR Colosseo 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domus amoR Colosseo B&B is situated right beside the Colle Oppio Park, which is beautifully placed in front of the Colosseum. Rome was founded on seven hills, and the B&B lies on one of them, the biggest called Esquiline Hill, facing another, Celio Hill. Situated within walking distance of several of Rome's main attractions, this area is central and offers plenty of restaurants and a great nightlife. Pubs with live music and the seasonal jazz festival are all part of the unique atmosphere.The B&B is children friendly, is available for families with new born or babies a set composed of a camping Cot, highchair and Baby Bjorn.My name is Carlo, I come from Rome and I have run the business Domus amoR Bed & Breakfast and apartments since 2000. My associates and I look forward to welcoming you and we will do our best to make your visit in Rome a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your DomusamoR Colosseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing