We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bruto

Bruto
Ranked #3,925 of 12,165 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Trieste
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

After a very Wet and Hectic first day in Rome, we asked the staff at our hotel for somewhere close to eat, they gave us a map and pointed out the restuarants in the area, Bruto was very close and we thought since in Rome we will have pizza, We walked the block and a half to Bruto but was too early, I think they said they open at 8pm, so we came back then.
There were 5 of us and the Staff sat us at a table in the window, the restaurant was very clean and nicley decorated.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was very good, we had pizza's which were very tasty, although the base was not what I was expecting.
It is not a big restaurant which I enjoyed, as I like to hear people when they are talking.
They also have a takeaway pick up counter next door.

I would definitely go there again if we ever go back to Rome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hippo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    82
    31
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simple but excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We went to this restaurant whilst staying at the hotel Relais 6, as it was close by and recommended by the reception. In a back street this small restaurant doesn't look much from the outside, but the interior is clean and modern and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The waiter took time and effort to explain their speciailities in English, and although the menu is not large the choice is good and all the food is fresh and delicious. The cost was extremely reasonable for the excellent quailty. We would thoroughly recommend this restaurant to anyone who finds themselves staying in this area of Rome

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BooberBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
177 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Another Great Neighborhood Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Love that this is not a "touristy" establishment. Delicious food, good service, and accommodating. We had a steak dish, and a risotto dish and shared them. Very tasty! It was a quiet evening there and it was almost like dining in someone's home.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank profjan06nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good steaks, too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Though most folks end up eating Pizza at Bruto's, their Steaks are excellent as well. Friendly staff that helps translating the menu and an all Italian atmosphere made us enjoy a comfortable dinner. Opening hours: 7:45pm.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Talaria_Sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I chose the wrong pizza!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were staying in an apartment nearby and dropped in at end of a long day to foot sore to walk further to another restaurant.
We were made to feel very welcome. The atmosphere was cheerful and relaxed.
We ordered beers and pizza. I dont remember what I ordered..why? My girlfriend ordered the quattro formage (I hope I spelt that right) and I had a taste. It was one of the nicest pizza I ever eaten. The cheeses where rich and creamy. I am sure I enjoyed my pizza but my girlfriends was the one I wished I had ordered.
WE had an enjoyable relaxed meal. I recommend it

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DomenicPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruto also viewed

 

Been to Bruto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing