We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh ideas and great service”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #21 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Wow! Finally someone dared to break away form the traditional style in an old part of Rome in favor of a thoroughly modern design and high tech amenities, and combine it with the attentive, very personal service.
The location is reasonably good, if you don't venture towards the railroad station (which is ugly in every single city I've visited), but the other side provides access to Republica with subway connection to Vatican, Spanish Steps and Barberini/via Veneto, and buses to elsewhere. Via Nazionale has lots of shops, and there are plenty of restaurants around. Opera is next door (literally).
Rooms are very large, comfortable, with nice beds, lighting and bathrooms. Very fast free Wi-Fi in the room (their internet provider plays a big brother, though, blocking some web sites, which mistakenly prevented me from accessing one of my work-related sites; that was annoying). The breakfast is very good in quality and variety, and could be had on a rooftop veranda or indoors.
If you arrive by car - make sure to request a permit from the front desk, because they are in a limited traffic area. Parking garage is 2 blocks away, but it's not cheap.
Overall - this hotel was a fresh breath of comfort and relaxation at the end of our 8 day trip around country, and I will call them first next time I am in Rome. Unfortunately, their introductory sale will end sometime, but at this time it was a great value and a great pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,062 - 3,068 of 4,276 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2010

We came here as part of our Europe trip. And iQ seems to fit on what we are looking for which are clean, good rate and comfortable.

== What we like about this hotel :===
Frankly, all aspects of the hotel : multi-lingual staff. They are very friendly and attentive.

Location is superb - just around the corner from busy Nazionale and also many restaurants nearby.

Excellent cleaning of the room. The rate was alright, the cheapest hotel during our whole european stay ( about $100p/nite) !

== What we don't like about this hotel ==
Almost nothing to mention.

Perfect for a trip to Rome!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Betimoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Stayed at this hotel three nights, with 4 friends. We had 3 rooms, were all located together on the same floor, next to each other. After first night, room was not cleaned, as apparently there is some mystery do not disturb button in the room. Upon reporting the concern, the hotel quickly delivered fresh towels to us though, and the room was made up the next day. The room was a bit small, so there was not a good place to put the second suitcase, unless you unpacked and put the suitcase in the closet. Breakfast was good, and wished we had eaten the day we checked out as we got to termini and realized McDonalds' didn't have any breakfast food. Vending machine upstairs that I think was supposed to have the beer/wine was empty with a sign to check downstairs, but we really only were buying water, which was priced at 50 cents, so a great deal, since the next hotel vending machine in Milan was 2 euro. Internet access didn't work consistently. Would however definitely stay again if this continues to be priced competitively in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank europa00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iQHotelRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2010

On behalf of the iQ Hotel management team, I thank the guests for their fair comments regarding their stay at our brand new hotel. We at the iQ Hotel are very keen to take all our customers remarks into consideration and look into them. This is our policy and I think an important way to continuously improve our performance and facilities.
With regards to the first point reported by the guests, there is a "do not disturb" button over the bedside next to the light buttons. It is clearly indicated by a label with writing in black letters on a yellow background. When the button is switched on it lights up and also simultaneously a light on the door key reader goes up to indicate the “do not disturb” message to the floor staff. As the button is next to the bedside light buttons it might be possible that it was pushed by mistake. However we will surely think how to improve the messaging system in the room to prevent such incidents in the future.
Concerning the second point regarding the size of the room, the hotel features a variety of rooms and bed sizes ranging from a small double room to quadruple rooms to meet any clients’ needs and budget. They are all described in detail in our web site. If the guest would have notified us during their stay about their remarks, we would have been happy to check if another room type was available and we would certainly offered it as an alternative with the lowest supplement possible.
The wine vending machine was unfortunately out of order for a few days. We apologized to our guests for the inconvenience. We also put a notice on the machine indicating that the same choice of wine and beers was available at the easy bar located in the lobby at the same prices.
The Internet access actually had a few problems that we solved immediately.
We are really sorry for the unfortunate coincidence of the both Internet facility and wine vending machine simultaneously not working during the guests’ stay. This is such a rare event that I am sure it will not occur again.
Ms. Loredana Spaltro, iQ Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed here in Sept 2010 and had a wonderful stay. Hotel is very modern and new which is hard to find in Italy without paying a small fortune.The hotel is in a great location just around the corner from Piazza Della Republica and only a 10 minute walk to most attractions. We chose the double room which, while comfortable and smartly designed, was a little small for us so would recommend choosing a larger room. Inclusions like a laundry to wash ur own clothes ( which was a great help after 2 weeks of traveling ) and free wifi along with the friendliness of the staff made our stay in Rome very pleasant. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerpetualTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

The IQ Roma was a new concept to us - a hotel with no bar and no restaurant and if I am honest we chose it for its fabulous location near to the railway station (as we were travelling on to Florence later in the week) Its a new hotel and we were given a free upgrade on arrival _ nice touch . The bedroom was huge and the bathroom even more so - toilet , bedet, full bath with overhead shower and a seperate shower with massage jets. Gave us more sightseeing time as we showered simultanouesly ! The service at reception was outstanding - no seperate concierge just all multi tasking / knowledgeable receptionists ! There is a fabulous rooftop with luxurious sofas to curl up on in the evening - and a host of vending machines selling everything from toothpaste, to snacks, to alchohol. It may sound odd but a bottle of wine for 8 Euros to enjoy on the terrace - you wont find that elsewhere ! No overstuffy bartenders, no sweeties on your pillow and no fancy pen and notepad by the bed - just beautifully furnished contemporary rooms and competent friendly staff - we will certainly be back ! It doesnt have a restaurant but the buffet breakfast was beautiful and great value at 10 euros per person.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wab46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

I had recently spent a few nights in Rome in a quite distinguished hotel. I enjoyed the stay at the iQ hotel because of the many reasons that make this hotel really different from others in central Rome. The concept of the iQ hotel is to keep the room price as low as possible while providing the customer with a very good level of comfort. For example, the hotel doesn’t have a big restaurant or an expensive bar but instead an array of vending machines that provide the guests with all they need at prices that are even cheaper than the shops. There were laundry machines for a few Euros instead of an expensive laundry service. There is a fridge in the room that I was able to put drinks and light food items without being embarrassed of walking through the hotel lobby carrying plastic shopping bags. I didn't have my laptop with me although there was a free WiFi service but I was able to check my emails in the well equipped business centre for a few euros. There is a huge roof garden equipped with drinks machines of nice Italian wines and beers, snacks and sandwiches. The hotel was very modern and very nicely decorated, the room including the bathroom was spacious and comfortable and also quite which is a big plus considering being in such a noisy city like Rome. The bathroom had basic essentials like shampoo, soap, bath foam and a shower cap, anything else was available at the iQ shop across the corridor for a few coins. I fully recommend this guest oriented hotel to anyone who visits Rome and wants to enjoy a central, comfortable and not a very expensive stay in an expensive city.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pyramid66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

my wife and i stayed here at the start of september the hotel is brand new so it is in perfect condition. the staff in the hotel are very helpful on our last evening we arranged an alarm call and asked about ordering a car to take us to the airport the staff arranged for a mercedes benz to take us which cost only 45 euros 5 more than a taxi at 40. the vending machines in the hotel sell wine for about 6 euros a bottle,beer 3 euros they even had smirnof ice and various snacks and sandwiches these could all be enjoyed on the roof terrace which was very tastefully decked out with seating there was also a small kids play area which i saw 1 kid using when we were there. There is a small gym and sauna on the 2nd floor with some free weights and cardio machines. the location of the hotel is ideal its on a quiet street just of one of the main streets through rome you could easily walk to all the major sights or there is a metro station just up the hill from the hotel the metro was safe and clean and easy to use 11euros for a 3 day unlimited use ticket. i will go back to rome and stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colingeddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,859 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,269 in Rome
1,374 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,269 in Rome
2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#41 of 1,269 in Rome
941 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,269 in Rome
2,993 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $139 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing