We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #22 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Recife, PE
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel is very well located, close to everything...subway, supermarket, restaurants, fashion stores, etc. The breakfast is marvelous and well-served. Despite of all theses advantages, the hotel has an intelligent concept, with a lot of facilities, vending machines selling everything you may need during your time there, including a laundry with a dry machine, too. Excellent place to stay. I recommend and will certainly come back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,964
    1,053
    104
    19
    9
See reviews for
1,019
2,157
117
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I had high hopes for this hotel but it did not work for us. They did let us check in early, but then the A/C and TV did not work. Complained once and was told that the A/C was working and americans just expect it to be colder. Also was not believed about the TV. Someone finally tried to fix the TV but it never worked. Complained the next day about the A/C because we did not sleep all night - it had to be 75-77 degrees in the room even at night. The next room was better a little cooler - at least we could sleep. Front desk was not very friendly and some were also not helpful. The bed was hard as a rock. The breakfast was okay = we were given this for free after we had to switch rooms. Bacon was very funky and almost raw. Beans were barely warm. Breakfast staff were very friendly. Hotel was clean.

Room Tip: Do not stay in 318. A/C and TV do not work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Sirs,

As far as we understand you have not been very satisfied about your stay for various reasons. Since these are of different types, we will do our best to explain what we think has happened and give more in depth information on the matters occurred.

A/C: As explained on other occasions, our system is centrally controlled and it is switched between heating and cooling on certain dates of the year, as determined by Italian/European guidelines. As such, the temperature is normally the same throughout the entire hotel and guests can partly adjust their accommodation’s temperature via the in-room controls. Unfortunately, the system cannot allow too many degrees of difference since, by law, the internal and external temperatures cannot vary greatly, as, for example, it is common in USA. Being this the case, even when our colleague came to check the A/C, he could not do much since the system was in fact working well. The reason why you have found the other room cooler might be due to the position within the building itself. We are glad that the second room was sufficiently cool for you and that you had no more problems with your sleep. Probably our mistake was not offering you a fan which might have helped you in the first place; however, being the week of your stay cooler than usual for July - in fact it has been characterized by various thunderstorms - we thought that the A/C system would have been sufficient.

TV: We are sorry that you thought that we had ignored your complain about the malfunctioning TV channels. We can assure you that we have checked the system at the same time as the A/C. In fact, when our colleague checked it he noticed that only some Italian channels were not working properly while all the international ones had no problems.

Bed: Once more we can only stress the fact that we do have the possibility to place a foam padding on top of the mattress in order to make it softer for the guests who require it. Unfortunately, you did not come to us directly reporting this other problem as well, otherwise it would have been our immediate care to have it set up for you.

Breakfast: Regarding the bacon and beans, we are sorry that these were not to your liking. Most guests seem to appreciate the way we cook the bacon; while the beans’ platter is in fact constantly heated and stirred often so that the contents are kept at the same temperature.

Staff: As part of your negative points we have to admit that this is what concerns us the most. As for the appreciation of our breakfast, our guests also often mention our staff friendliness and eagerness to help. Therefore, we are extremely sorry that you had such a bad impression of them during your short stay. Since you do not provide us with any specific issue encountered with them, we cannot really offer a proper explanation, but can only guess that the sensations you felt might have been in part due to the already difficult situation that you were experiencing. We can only reassure you that our staff had no intention to be unhelpful or unfriendly in your regards.

Said this, we are sorry that you have not been able to fully enjoy your stay with us but we can confirm to our customers that the room in question has both the television and the air-conditioning working properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Everything about iQ was pitched towards the self-sufficient traveller who wants a clean, efficient experience with a focus on good facilities and self service. The laundry is self service as is the bar and there are a number of vending machines selling good quality wine at value for money prices. Rooms were cleaned and tidied daily and bathrooms kept spotless throughout my stay. The location was within walking distance of the ancient sites like the Coliseum and Pantheon so near enough to walk to but sufficiently far from the more crowded locations. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: First floor room with a street facing balcony worked well for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macgeorgia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Had stayed in hotel during one of my business trips and loved the place. The hotel is centrally located. The rooms are a bit small but the overall managable. The staff are courteous and the breakfast was good. Overall a fantastic experience and would definetly stay here during my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajkamath786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

The IQ is well maintained with very comfortable rooms.
The staff is very friendly and very accommodating.
The hotel is very accessible to the train station and the buses. I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pnhalladay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We elected to try this (do it yourself) hotel for a few days following a cruise and luxury hotel extravaganza in Europe. We were able to do our own laundry, mix our own drinks and picnic on the roof without hassle or admonition; in fact, all the forgoing were encouraged. The hotel is close to the Termini train station and therefore, close to everything accessible by bus, train or metro (which is everything!). The staff were very helpful and everything was handy - including a beer and wine vending machine! The 10 euro breakfast buffet was very good and the room was modern, clean, quiet and sufficiently large to accommodate our luggage without tripping over it. Closet had a reasonable number of hangers and a safe. Internet worked quite well and was free.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 40-YearWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Upon arriving we were greeted by friendly, welcoming staff. The hotel lobby and facilities were nice. The rooms were a bit small and tight, but the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very modern and clean. The hotel is also in a great location for walking to shops, restaurants, as well as very close to Republicca metro station. The only downfall or room for improvement I'd say would be with the wifi. The wifi was in and out and often times didn't work, which was oftentimes frustrating when trying to communicate with family and friends in the states.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AD_Wilson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Sir,

We are glad that even after a month from your stay you still cherish some pleasant memories of our staff and facilities.

Regarding your note on the size of the room you were assigned, we have checked our system and can confirm that as per your booking you were in a Small Room. Moreover, at the time of booking and on the voucher you have presented at check in it seemed that you had requested a single room, although you then arrived in two. Unfortunately, on this occasion, we were not even able to offer you a different type of accommodation since we were fully committed – which is quite usual being June high season in Rome.

For this reason we can only stress once more the importance to choose the right accommodation depending on length, number of people travelling and reason for stay. All of our selling websites have been equipped with all the information and photos of all our room types so that guests may make an informed choice; furthermore our staff is always available to answer any further question that our customers might have.

As for the Wi-Fi, we are sorry that you have experience this lack of service. Regrettably, even by checking our log-books, we could not find any reference to this malfunction occurred during the period of your stay nor any other complain from other guests or yourself. We can only imagine that might have been a temporary problem; nevertheless our staff is always ready to help and having know about your distress about this particular matter we would have checked immediately the system and adjust any possible issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,259 in Rome
6,684 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,259 in Rome
1,304 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,259 in Rome
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,259 in Rome
2,888 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#74 of 1,259 in Rome
2,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Property: iQ Hotel Roma
Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing