We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but modern”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #20 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Upon arriving we were greeted by friendly, welcoming staff. The hotel lobby and facilities were nice. The rooms were a bit small and tight, but the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very modern and clean. The hotel is also in a great location for walking to shops, restaurants, as well as very close to Republicca metro station. The only downfall or room for improvement I'd say would be with the wifi. The wifi was in and out and often times didn't work, which was oftentimes frustrating when trying to communicate with family and friends in the states.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AD_Wilson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Sir,

We are glad that even after a month from your stay you still cherish some pleasant memories of our staff and facilities.

Regarding your note on the size of the room you were assigned, we have checked our system and can confirm that as per your booking you were in a Small Room. Moreover, at the time of booking and on the voucher you have presented at check in it seemed that you had requested a single room, although you then arrived in two. Unfortunately, on this occasion, we were not even able to offer you a different type of accommodation since we were fully committed – which is quite usual being June high season in Rome.

For this reason we can only stress once more the importance to choose the right accommodation depending on length, number of people travelling and reason for stay. All of our selling websites have been equipped with all the information and photos of all our room types so that guests may make an informed choice; furthermore our staff is always available to answer any further question that our customers might have.

As for the Wi-Fi, we are sorry that you have experience this lack of service. Regrettably, even by checking our log-books, we could not find any reference to this malfunction occurred during the period of your stay nor any other complain from other guests or yourself. We can only imagine that might have been a temporary problem; nevertheless our staff is always ready to help and having know about your distress about this particular matter we would have checked immediately the system and adjust any possible issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,470 - 1,476 of 4,309 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed here over New Years 2013-2014. The room was very small (reminded us of a cruise ship), but the staff was very friendly & accommodating. The location is great - if you take a left out of the hotel. You really only want to go to the right if you are going to the train station, which is also close by - a good (if you need to take the train) and a bad (train stations don't necessarily attract the best of mankind.)

We easily walked from the Hotel to the Spanish Steps, the Colosseum, and the Borghese Gardens. If you are on a budget & don't really need much room, this is a great choice in Rome.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BizTrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Sir,

We are glad to learn that even after so many months from your stay; you still cherish fond memories of our staff friendliness and convenience of our location.

Unfortunately, we have not been able to pinpoint your reservation in our system; therefore we cannot really determine what kind of room you had booked or what you had paid. We can only stress the fact that all our selling websites offer a full description of our rooms with the different width and bed types, correlated with pictures. Regarding the rates, these vary daily depending on occupancy and especially season. Since January is normally low season in Rome, it is possible that you found a very convenient rate compared to what you might find during April or May.

As for your note on the closeness to the train station and the people who may be found there, unfortunately we cannot really do much about it since it is in fact something that the Major’s Office of Rome should take care about; furthermore, as regrettable as it might be, it is also a very common phenomenon for big cities. We can only confirm that no guest so far as reported any particular episode and in fact they all seem quite happy about our location and confirm that feel quite at ease even walking at night in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My family spent 5 nights at the iQ Hotel during our stay in Rome and we were thrilled with our experience there - the room, while a bit of a tight fight, was very comfortable, the bathroom was well supplied and spacious and the outdoor areas on the top floor were a great place to relax. While we had a bit of trouble getting reservations at restaurants in the area, the front desk was very accomodating and willing to help us out. The breakfasts were a fantastic feature as well - we were able to start our day in the hotel without much stress and at a reasonable price.
As for the location, we cannot say enough about where the iQ Hotel is - you're right near the Termini Station, the Subway and Via Nazionale, but just removed from all of the hustle and bustle of Rome (we had no sound problems at night at all). You can be at any of the major attractions of Rome within 20-30 minutes, and at the Forum within 10.
This is definitely a great hotel to use as a home base in Rome, but not a place to spend lots of your time. We got a great deal for staying 5 nights and couldn't believe the value we were getting. I definitely recommend iQ!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter_D515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We arrived in Italy after travelling through Spain. We had booked through Eur Destinations and were not sure about the hotel. When we first arrived we got the $20 upgrade question for a "balcony room" (which seems to be pretty common in Euro - something always to upgrade)... anyway we declined it. My initial take on the guy at the desk was he was an $$$. I had thought we were in for a rough stay. However, the room turned out to be pretty decent. Shower was great.... beds were "okay" .... pretty small since we were travelling as three ... and in Europe that typically means a sofa bed... The facilities were good and the breakfast was worth the additional cost... nothing exotic but a decent way to start the day. We smoke so they conveniently had smoking areas at each level. A VERY nice rooftop area to sit. We even sat through a thunderstorm up there and stayed dry while enjoying the weather. The vending machines were actually as cheap as going to the local store which is one of the things that they state... it was true.... the day following we purchased tickets for the vatican at the counter in the hotel which was nice... they have the hop on/off tickets also... and the gentleman that greeted us initially was very helpful with the whole adventure... so I guess I was wrong.... the location is within walking distance of most everything that you want to see... the vatican is about a 40 minute walk but we did it even during the heat... Trevi... 20 minutes... colseum 30 minutes.... there is ATM right next to the hotel... literally.... and a McDonalds (if you have kids without the Euro taste buds) ) about five minutes away.... overall a very good mid range place to stay, nice people, good location and I would not hesitate to stay there again...

Room Tip: I am not sure what the balcony rooms are but I didn't see anything that was worth upgrading for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jody J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate the time you took for such a detailed review full of positive review and insightful comments! We are sorry that you were a bit confused by the offer of an upgrade upon your arrival – should anything become available for a more comfortable room, we always offer this added comfort to guests who seem interested. We are sorry that this gesture took you a bit by surprise! Again, we thank you for your lovely comments on the enjoyable breakfast, the spacious and clean room, the quality of the shower, your pleasure on our central position and helpful conveniences nearby, and your appreciation of the smoking balconies on each floor. Also, the summer storm sounds like a memorable experience and we are happy that you were able to enjoy it from the dry comfort of our rooftop. We have had lots of positive feedback about the vending machines and we are glad that the prices were comparable if not better than nearby stores! We look forward to having you and your family back with us for your next time in Rome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I selected this hotel because of the good reviews and closeness to the Termini train station and I can say this was one of my favorite hotels of my Eurotrip. After arriving make sure you know how to get there, it is pretty close but with all the traffic, tourists and things going on, Rome can be very confusing. After a 10 minute walk, you will arrive at the hotel. Check in was very quick and we got the room that we booked online. Staff was very nice and friendly. The room size was good, with a freezer and a nice view of the Opera House in Rome. Everything looked new and well kept. The bathroom was bigger than expected which is a plus compared to some tiny bathrooms we saw in Europe. The bathtub height was kind of tall, not a problem for us but I can see somebody 60 or older having difficulties getting in or out. The fridge was not the best but kept thing cold. My only real complaint was the Air conditioning of the room. It never felt cold, and while people came in saying it was working properly, I never felt it did. That might not be a problem in May, but who knows in the hotter months of the year.
One of the things I most enjoyed in this hotel was the roof top patio. It was nice, calm and you have a vending machine with everything you might want to try, from Moet & Chandon, local wines, beers and water. Bottle opener and ice machine at the entrance made this a perfect place to relax after long days of sightseeing in Rome.

The Breakfast was very good too and at 10 Euro per person is not that bad of a price.You can eat all you want and the variety was great. Let me say that the few times I went and grab a fast food breakfast to save money, I regret it!

Another huge plus that also had a huge minus was the laundry room. Having the ability to wash your clothes in the middle of a long trip was great. The only problem is that there is only ONE washer and ONE dryer. This prove more than once to be a huge problem and the only time I had a chance to use it I had to wash my clothes very late in the day.

Overall, I love my stayed in this hotel. It was 4 blocks from the train stations, 3 blocks from the Metro station (Not that the metro in Rome is too useful, but still a plus)... I love every day at this hotel. IF they can make sure the A/C works better and get a few more laundry rooms, it would be perfect. I will definitely recommend my family and friends this hotel when visiting Rome.

Room Tip: Rooms looking at Teatro Dell' Opera Di Roma have a nice view but can be noisy at night. I had no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Juan Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for all the really positive details you have gone into while reviewing your time at iQ! I’m sure many people considering staying with us will find this very helpful! We are glad that you liked the location, enjoyed our staff, appreciated our cleanliness, the relaxing rooftop terrace area, the delicious breakfast, and that you were pleasantly surprised by the size of our rooms and facilities compared to other European hotels. The mini-fridge may not have been as powerful as others you may have accounted as they are of the Italian energy-maximizing variety, so do not get excessively cold. But we are sorry to hear that the air conditioning was not up to your standards! Again, but EU legislation there is a minimum temperature that we are able to achieve with the personal air conditioning units, but that should still have been cool enough. It sounds as though our maintenance determined your unit was functioning properly, so the only reason we can think of is that perhaps our lowest was not cold enough for you. We are sorry that this may have inconvenienced your stay! As for the laundry facilities, so far the one washer and dryer have not caused any problems. Though thank you for your experience as we will perhaps contemplate an addition to hasten our guests’ laundry routine along! We all thank you again from iQ and hope to have you here for a future visit very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Good things:
Good air conditioning
Comfortable beds
Quiet rooms
Spacious rooms
Modern and clean
Free wifi
Close to train station and hop on hop off bus

Not so good things:
Not particularly personal but staff were very friendly nevertheless.
Not really in the restaurant district but nice and close to shopping region
Would be good to have breakfast included although the coffee was atrocious at breakfast which is not great when you are in Italy.

Room Tip: Don't think it would matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liketotravel081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are happy that you appreciated most of your stay with us and have even made up a long list of your positives! Following the iQ concept, the hotel has staff that are ready to help, though there is no intensive concierge service per se. Sorry to hear that you thought they could have been a little more personal, but happy that their friendliness did not go unobserved! Our area does have quiet a lot of restaurants, though you have to weed out the less touristy ones for a wonderful meal! We have had quiet a lot of compliments on our cappuccino and morning coffee, and varying tastes and preferences always ensure that we offer a wider range of coffee choices, we apologize if none of these were to your liking! We hope that you will be back to visit us from Australia in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. We stayed in the quad room which was a king bed, a single and a double fold out bed. The hotel is close to Termini Train Station (walking distance) and close to all of the other major attractions of Rome. We walked to just about everything we wanted to see. There is lots of nice little restaurants and shops right near the hotel. The rooms were clean and made up daily. The air conditioning seemed to be set on really cold and we couldn't warm the room up, the hotel did provide extra blankets for the beds though when we asked. The shower was hot with good pressure, although like a lot of hotels the shower was in the bath and it didn't drain very well so after a few minutes you found yourself standing in a couple of inches of water, this didn't bother me too much but it really annoyed my husband. The staff were friendly and happy to help with questions, all of the staff spoke English really well. We ate breakfast one morning at the hotel which was E10 per person, the breakfast was OK but we ate out at local cafe's the other mornings which was nicer and about the same price. Overall I would recommend this hotel to others and I would stay there again if we are ever back in Rome.

Room Tip: We picked a quad room which was really good value for money for a family of 4. There aren't a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Keiranne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for all your positive comments about iQ’s location, attentive cleaning staff, and friendliness. It is unusual to hear that the air conditioning was too cold in summer! It is too bad that we couldn’t have sent up someone to turn it all the way off perhaps! The AC is not centrally controlled, so you should have been able to regulate the temperature to your liking. We are sorry to hear that your husband was put out by the water not draining fast enough in the shower. This could have been rectified by a quick visit by our maintenance staff. But thank you again and we would be glad to have any of your acquaintances here to stay with us and hope that we will have the pleasure of your company for a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,924 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,271 in Rome
1,391 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#45 of 1,271 in Rome
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#40 of 1,271 in Rome
954 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,271 in Rome
3,024 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $121 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Splitty, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing