We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great roof-top terrace”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #21 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great roof-top terrace”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We selected this hotel after reading about it in the travel section of our local newspaper. The hotel is conveniently located near the main train station in a very quiet and calm street, not far from Via Nazionale. Within walking distance you have access to public transports that go to all the main spots in Rome. The hotel has a new and modern design, it has laundry facilities (helpful on long trips) and a superb terrace on the 5th floor where you can eat, drink, relax or simply rest after a long day visiting all the great sites Rome has to offer.

Rooms are big enough but lack space to store your belongings. On the other hand I was amazed at the size of the bathroom. It was big,

We did not take the breakfast option so no comments on that.

In summary, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Narnian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,962
    1,052
    103
    19
    9
See reviews for
1,016
2,156
117
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our Roman adventure was made all the more secure and exciting because of the comfort, security and convenience of iQ and the staff. One of my favorite features is the electrical outlet in the bathroom that offers 220 or 120 at the flip of the switch. And the "all you can eat" breakfast for 10 euros was the best!
We found iQ in the 2013 Rick Steve's Rome Guidebook and we got a discount on the room rate when I showed it at check in.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave32843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Modern, very clean & very comfortable. it's a modern hotel and the whole place was in excellent condition. I enjoyed going to the rooftop each morning for my breakfast and there were some great bars & restaurants nearby (ask the concierge for some recommendations). Not far from the main train station which was good for us. Being our first visit to Rome this hotel worked very well for us and we had an excellent stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at iq hotel Roma for 3 nights. The hotel is perfectly situated within walking distance of termini station and also to most of the famous sights Rome has to offer. Our room was on the 4 th floor. It had a balcony which you could sit out but unfortunately there were no chairs as such to use. If I could make one suggestion it would be great if some chairs were provided so balcony could be used. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful with advice and suggestions of where to eat. The breakfasts provided were delicious and there was a great array of food to eat. It certainly gave us plenty of energy for all the sight seeing we did. The hotel had clothes washing facilitiy which came in very useful. The drinks and snack machine also was very well priced. Our room was large and very clean. The bathroom was a decent size and provided bath with shower and also separate shower. All up an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Royston22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We would count the iQ Roma as a good find for a trip to Rome. Some reviews have mentioned the small rooms, so we booked a family room as we had 2 teenagers each staying for part of our visit and this worked out much better than 2 separate rooms. There was plenty of space and the cool clean hotel was a nice retreat after walking the hot streets of Rome. As others have mentioned,this is very convenient as a tourist location, though it may be best not to wander around too much at night. Though breakfast was not included, it was definitely worth the cost as there was a wide range of hot and cold food--something for everyone and enough to keep us going until lunchtime. The laundry was very useful to wash clothes before moving on, and others have noted the helpful vending machines. It seems that someone in this hotel actually though about what travellers need. This hotel is not fancy but very welcome and we thought offers quite good value.

Room Tip: consider the family rooms if you want more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Fantastic hotel. It is in the centre of all the major Rome attractions. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The hotel is very new and clean, with vending machines on each floor which have everything you need at a reasonable price, including wine and umbrellas. The laundromat on the second floor is an added bonus. The hotel is very close to Termini station which is great if you intend to travel to any other cities in Italy. The Metro and buses are a short walk from the front door and there is a bank with a secure 24 hour ATM next door to the hotel. If you are new to Rome, this is an excellent hotel as it has everything you need. Free Wifi is excellent and works well at all hours of the day and night. The hotel has a secure luggage storage area which we used at no cost while we toured Italy. Would definitely recommend this hotel as it provided value for money.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor which was great for us as it meant we were on the floor with the laundr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darwincouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumst, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We visited Rome last week and stayed here 7 nights. Staff was very helpful, rooms were clean. breakfast was excellent (for italian standards). Rooms aren 't very big and closet space could be better. The fresh approach with the vending machines is great.
Comparing this hotel to other hotels I visited in Europe, I must say I had better for the price. But as Rome is expensive and compared to other hotels in this area this was definitely a good choice.
When visiting Rome in the future I would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collierke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,258 in Rome
6,677 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#35 of 1,258 in Rome
1,297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,258 in Rome
2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,258 in Rome
2,886 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#74 of 1,258 in Rome
2,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Property: iQ Hotel Roma
Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing