We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #21 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had five nights at this hotel. It has a good location, easily walkable to and from the Termini Railway station where the Leonardo Express to and from Fiumicino airport arrives and departs.
The hotel is clean, tidy, the staff are helpful and quick to respond to any requests. The main memory of the hotel room is it was hot. We spoke to reception about this but were told the heating wasn't on, it made sleeping very difficult. Other than that, no complaints about the hotel.
Top tips -
There is a really nice restaurant called La Matriciana very nearby, which is really good (see the separate review).
The Rome Metro can be a challenge, make sure you have change for the ticket machines.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dondeb_essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,774
    1,028
    101
    19
    9
See reviews for
952
2,042
115
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Short walk from Termini station and Piazza della Repubblica metro. We arrived at 10pm and walked from the hotel to the "Typewriter" that evening, lovely walk. Hotel is fab, great location, spotlessly clean and lovely staff. Rooms were very spacious, we were asked if we would mind changing rooms mid break, the staff did this for us and also gave us an upgrade. Lovely sauna and small but good gym and not busy. Roof terrace was great and there are machines where you can buy drinks, wine, ice, coffee, snacks etc. Great location and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a little balcony overlooking the piazza and opera house. 1st floor has gym and sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a 5 night stay. I'm pretty sure I only booked the cheapest double room but upon request was given a balcony room and one that could accommodate a baby cot (provided by the hotel). During housekeeping time I saw one of the smaller rooms, so I must have been upgraded. Thanks!

Clean and modern. Having a fridge was useful for keeping baby food.

If you like to eat breakfast, don't waste your time looking elsewhere! We didn't make it up in time the first few days and really regretted it! For the same ten euro cost we ended up with practically no food. Snacks and coffee from the machine were also fairly priced.

Our flight was an early one and when we showed up at the hotel at 10:30am they were quickly able to accommodate us!!! Life savours.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beautifultree12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Although we liked the cleanliness and decor of the room, and that the staff was generally friendly we had a very bad stay at your hotel. We did not have one night where we could sleep well. Our room was extremely noisy (ground floor RM 400). I don't mind the noise of cars passing by, but we could hear people talking and yelling on the streets, and doors closing from the street and in our hallway. The loudest noise was when people walked on the metal staircase, and this seemed to happen a lot. Also, someone would vacuum the hallway around 9-10pm each night. On our third and last night when we had to get up early for our flight, the person came to vacuum at 10:26pm. Not only was the vacuuming loud but also when the person closes and opens the door into that area.

The management reached out and indicated that if he had known of the problem he would have fixed it. I would have expected there wouldn't even be a need to complain about a staffer vacuuming at 9pm. Based on the other reviews, it seems like the noise may be an issue only with the ground floor rooms. With so many hotels in that area- for that price, I would highly recommend that you do your research first before booking here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank llpooppob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Sirs,

We are sorry to hear that your experience in our Hotel was not up to your standards. iQ offers many type of different rooms all clearly described on our selling websites. The one you had booked was a Ground Floor Double Room. As the name states, these rooms are located on level zero of our building.

Most external noises cannot be directly controlled by the hotel, such as “people talking and yelling” on the street. Unfortunately we cannot control people’s misbehavior; it should be a civil manner not to talk loudly in the street late at night. As for the metal noise you heard it was not actually a stair case but people walking on a floor grid. These are placed on the pavement due to the presence of a parking lot just below the ground level. Unfortunately these grids are necessary by law due to safety reasons. What probably has happened here is that having been stepped on many times, the grids’ screws have loosened up a bit and move slightly more than usual. In this case we may only communicated this issued to the office in charge have hopefully they will fix them as quickly as possible.
Coming to the banging of the door on your hallway, please note that there is only another room on the floor where you were staying so we can only think that the noise was due to your neighbours coming back to their room.

We fully understand that people are sensible to noise in different ways therefore we have tried to cater for most people needs by equipping all rooms with double glazed windows and thick doors in order to prevent most noises to filter in.

As for the vacuum cleaner we apologize for the issue. It has already been brought to the manager’s attention and we are now making sure that the floors are never vacuumed so late at night any more.

What mostly surprises us is that you did not come forward with these issues the first night of your stay. As the Resident Manger has already explained to you, we are always ready to assist our Guests if they have any issue with their rooms in order to sort the situation out immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a lovely convenient hotel. clean and with quite helpful staff. After an initial mixup with our room not being availible we were shifted into our booked family room the next day.This room was big enough for the 3 of us although was still not huge. Very very clean ,excellent bathroom and we actually liked the beds. Rooms are stuffy though. Breakfast is excellent value . Pay washing machine and drier. Vending machines for drinks and nibbles and on the 6th floor was the wine and beer vending machine with which my husband had a 5 day affair. Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank old44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We wanted a clean, modern hotel in the center of Rome, IQ was exactly the same! Especially want to note the friendly and welcoming staff at the reception and perfect purity in the rooms. The location is perfect, the breakfasts are excellent! Across the street - Opera theatre and a beautiful area with palm trees in front of him. In 200m- Via Nacionale street with many shops and restaurants))). We are glad that chose IQ, will come back!)))

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Just hot back after a short stay. Yes I was impressed with the hotel. It's modern and clean, and although the rooms are slightly on the small side it had everything you need. Our room even had a balcony. Staff were exceptional and nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was good with lots of fresh fruit, meats and much more.
On the top floor was a roof terrace with an alcoholic vending machine. This was excellent value for money as rome itself was quite expensive. Its was good to get back to at the end of the night and have a quiet drink. A bottle of wine was around 6 €.
I would definitely recommend here and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,356 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#26 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#79 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Property: iQ Hotel Roma
Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing