We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definite must”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #20 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Short walk from Termini station and Piazza della Repubblica metro. We arrived at 10pm and walked from the hotel to the "Typewriter" that evening, lovely walk. Hotel is fab, great location, spotlessly clean and lovely staff. Rooms were very spacious, we were asked if we would mind changing rooms mid break, the staff did this for us and also gave us an upgrade. Lovely sauna and small but good gym and not busy. Roof terrace was great and there are machines where you can buy drinks, wine, ice, coffee, snacks etc. Great location and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a little balcony overlooking the piazza and opera house. 1st floor has gym and sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,031 - 2,037 of 4,335 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a 5 night stay. I'm pretty sure I only booked the cheapest double room but upon request was given a balcony room and one that could accommodate a baby cot (provided by the hotel). During housekeeping time I saw one of the smaller rooms, so I must have been upgraded. Thanks!

Clean and modern. Having a fridge was useful for keeping baby food.

If you like to eat breakfast, don't waste your time looking elsewhere! We didn't make it up in time the first few days and really regretted it! For the same ten euro cost we ended up with practically no food. Snacks and coffee from the machine were also fairly priced.

Our flight was an early one and when we showed up at the hotel at 10:30am they were quickly able to accommodate us!!! Life savours.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beautifultree12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Although we liked the cleanliness and decor of the room, and that the staff was generally friendly we had a very bad stay at your hotel. We did not have one night where we could sleep well. Our room was extremely noisy (ground floor RM 400). I don't mind the noise of cars passing by, but we could hear people talking and yelling on the streets, and doors closing from the street and in our hallway. The loudest noise was when people walked on the metal staircase, and this seemed to happen a lot. Also, someone would vacuum the hallway around 9-10pm each night. On our third and last night when we had to get up early for our flight, the person came to vacuum at 10:26pm. Not only was the vacuuming loud but also when the person closes and opens the door into that area.

The management reached out and indicated that if he had known of the problem he would have fixed it. I would have expected there wouldn't even be a need to complain about a staffer vacuuming at 9pm. Based on the other reviews, it seems like the noise may be an issue only with the ground floor rooms. With so many hotels in that area- for that price, I would highly recommend that you do your research first before booking here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank llpooppob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Sirs,

We are sorry to hear that your experience in our Hotel was not up to your standards. iQ offers many type of different rooms all clearly described on our selling websites. The one you had booked was a Ground Floor Double Room. As the name states, these rooms are located on level zero of our building.

Most external noises cannot be directly controlled by the hotel, such as “people talking and yelling” on the street. Unfortunately we cannot control people’s misbehavior; it should be a civil manner not to talk loudly in the street late at night. As for the metal noise you heard it was not actually a stair case but people walking on a floor grid. These are placed on the pavement due to the presence of a parking lot just below the ground level. Unfortunately these grids are necessary by law due to safety reasons. What probably has happened here is that having been stepped on many times, the grids’ screws have loosened up a bit and move slightly more than usual. In this case we may only communicated this issued to the office in charge have hopefully they will fix them as quickly as possible.
Coming to the banging of the door on your hallway, please note that there is only another room on the floor where you were staying so we can only think that the noise was due to your neighbours coming back to their room.

We fully understand that people are sensible to noise in different ways therefore we have tried to cater for most people needs by equipping all rooms with double glazed windows and thick doors in order to prevent most noises to filter in.

As for the vacuum cleaner we apologize for the issue. It has already been brought to the manager’s attention and we are now making sure that the floors are never vacuumed so late at night any more.

What mostly surprises us is that you did not come forward with these issues the first night of your stay. As the Resident Manger has already explained to you, we are always ready to assist our Guests if they have any issue with their rooms in order to sort the situation out immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a lovely convenient hotel. clean and with quite helpful staff. After an initial mixup with our room not being availible we were shifted into our booked family room the next day.This room was big enough for the 3 of us although was still not huge. Very very clean ,excellent bathroom and we actually liked the beds. Rooms are stuffy though. Breakfast is excellent value . Pay washing machine and drier. Vending machines for drinks and nibbles and on the 6th floor was the wine and beer vending machine with which my husband had a 5 day affair. Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank old44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We wanted a clean, modern hotel in the center of Rome, IQ was exactly the same! Especially want to note the friendly and welcoming staff at the reception and perfect purity in the rooms. The location is perfect, the breakfasts are excellent! Across the street - Opera theatre and a beautiful area with palm trees in front of him. In 200m- Via Nacionale street with many shops and restaurants))). We are glad that chose IQ, will come back!)))

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Just hot back after a short stay. Yes I was impressed with the hotel. It's modern and clean, and although the rooms are slightly on the small side it had everything you need. Our room even had a balcony. Staff were exceptional and nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was good with lots of fresh fruit, meats and much more.
On the top floor was a roof terrace with an alcoholic vending machine. This was excellent value for money as rome itself was quite expensive. Its was good to get back to at the end of the night and have a quiet drink. A bottle of wine was around 6 €.
I would definitely recommend here and stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I chose this hotel due to its modern furnishings and amenities, although found myself after a 4 night stay desiring a more authentic Italian hotel. The hotel staff was exceptionally courteous and honored my request for a high floor room, although placed us next to the vending machines and near the kid play area, thus after a long day touring we would be awoken by children running down the hallway. Throughout the stay we were never able to reduce the stifling temperature of the room even though we did not have the heat on and left the window open. The bed was of average comfort and since we were often quite tired from walking we managed fine. The size of the room also seemed small and I was disappointed with the disparity from the professional pictures they have available online.

We found the breakfast to be a good deal and with a nice array of options, thus enjoyed it each morning before the day. The gym was small, although appreciated as it was cold on my morning runs and I appreciate a place to stretch.

Overall, I felt the hotel wasn't as comfortable and nice as previous reviews suggested as it lacked the culture and the character of the great city...and really wasn't an average price for the room itself. I will not stay at this hotel on my next trip to Rome in the Fall.

Room Tip: Do not ask for room 504 as it is next to the vending machines (2) and the child play area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank megancorazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Sirs,

We are sorry to hear that while staying with us you encountered some issue.

We understood that after few days at iQ, you did not feel attuned with the modern concept that the hotel features. We would only like to underline the fact that this is well depicted and described on our selling website and that it is fairly clear that iQ is not a traditional hotel as you were expecting.

Furthermore it offers many different types of accommodation in order to satisfy our Guests needs and preferences. In your case, you had booked a Double Room. As described on our selling websites, this type of room as a width of 15 square meters and features a king bed (180 x195 cm). When you requested to be placed on a higher floor, your request was immediately fulfilled by giving you even a room with a small step out balcony, which is very rare to have for a double room. As for the location on the 5th floor close by the entrance to the terrace, please note that the children playground is actually quite far away from the room you were assigned. Probably the children noises you heard were due to kids going or coming from the playground. We are sorry to learn that they disturbed your stay, unfortunately this is not something that we may control and it should really be up to the civil manners of the Guests to be as quite as possible when passing by a common area, especially during night time. Of course, in case of a prolonged noise and if informed by other Guests, it would be our care to intervene and request the disturbers to lower their voices or decrease the noise.
As for the room temperature, as explained previously, we have an eco-friendly system called “chilled beam”. The system should regulate automatically the temperature depending on the external one. Furthermore, and in order to comply with the European law, all public buildings cannot have the heater/cooler system to be higher or lower by 10°C compared to the external climate. Guests may vary the room temperature with a thermostat which will allow them to regulate it in the range of few degrees. While staying with us in February, no particular warm day occurred. However we do understand that Guests may have different needs and preference, therefore we are always ready to find a solution.

As for the pictures you find on our websites, all are in fact realistic and depict the actual features of the rooms described. One of our main policies is to give our Guests exactly what they seen. Any doubt a Guest might have on the rooms’ features or best accommodation for the stay can be cleared by our Receptionist available to answer all questions 24h/7. Same goes for the gym. The pictures on our website clearly show the type of machines available and the width of the sauna. When deciding to provide iQ with a gym, we thought about giving our Guests a small plus to enjoy during the stay considering that the reason they are coming to Rome is not to exercise.

Finally, we are sorry to read that you found that most reviews on TripAdvisor have deceived you. We cannot speak for other hotels, however we can assure you that the comments we have received depict the experience that our Guests had and are not at all fake reviews. We understand that all Guests have different tastes and we respect that, however we would like to once more underline the fact that all that is seen on our website is truly iQ and that we have in no way ever described ourselves as a traditional hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,270 in Rome
6,965 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#39 of 1,270 in Rome
1,401 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,270 in Rome
3,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,270 in Rome
2,293 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $115 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing