We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
10 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$254
Fully refundable before Fri, Apr 26
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
$255
Fully refundable before Sat, Apr 27
Get rewarded with One Key
StayForLong
$224
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,376)
Filter reviews
5,376 results
Traveler rating
4,032
1,187
121
24
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,032
1,187
121
24
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vending machine opera house self service laundry modern hotel laundry room great hotel rooftop terrace train station via nazionale top floor within walking distance breakfast buffet minute walk trevi fountain mini fridge would definitely stay here again stayed here for nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,906 - 2,911 of 5,376 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the iQ in Rome in Oct. 2012 for 2 nights, then at Hotel Sonya in Rome for 2 nights:
Room size and amenities was about par, but Sonya offered complimentary breakfast and was half the price. The one plus for iQ was that it had laundry room - 1 small washer, 1 small dryer: each was 3 euro and not easy to operate, but the hotel did send the maintenance man each time to make it work, get extra coins when lost, etc. Both were clean and within a block of one another, close to transportation, good dining and interesting places to stroll around. There are many hotels in this area, so I would stay at Sonya next time or another like it, but not iQ Hotel.

Room tip: If you want to have a bit more room, like to be able to open suitcases, etc. find another location.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John-Kingwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RomeGR, Guest Relations Manager at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to writing a review on our property.

We read your comparative review with interest and we would like to comment on your views.
We will stick to the facts, as we cannot comment on Sonya Hotel’s features and services, but we believe that the fact that they are classified at the 114th place for hotels in Rome, in this very website, and that we hold the 15th place for guests’ preferences, sets us apart in a significant way.

For the past two years we have consolidated ourselves as an innovative alternative in the Roman hospitality scene, offering our guests the best value for money and providing them with modern and state-of-the-art facilities in a central location within Rome’s downtown.
The iQ Hotel offers its guests a free gym and sauna, free wireless internet, a lovely roof terrace overlooking the Opera House, coin-operated washing and drying machines, a well-equipped business centre, as well as vending machines where one can purchase the essentials from toiletries to wine, at affordable prices. There is also a rich and varied breakfast buffet that can be purchased separately, either on the moment of booking or while at the hotel, and this is an option that guests normally consider worth taking.
We will not try and build our case against Sonya Hotel, but being a 3-star structure as it is and not offering the services we offer we think that the price difference you mention is somehow justified. However, we respect entirely your opinions and sincerely welcome your feedback.

We would just like to take the opportunity to clarify the issue with the washing/ drying machines. As we mentioned before, these are coin-operated devices with clearly visible instructions that need to be followed to make sure they function without problems. Now, we are not sure what was the specific problem you encountered, but sometimes guests open the drying/ washing machines while these are still working to, say, add a garment, and then maintenance need to be called as the machine does not restart on its own. Our maintenance team is always happy to intervene and assist guests who find it hard to operate these machines, or for any other issues they might encounter.

Lastly, this is the first time that a guest mentions that there was no space to open a suitcase in the room. All our rooms are designed having in mind the comfort of our guests and were projected to make the best use of the available space. We guess it all depends on the size and number of suitcases our guests might have, but we can assure you we never had a guest complaining about not being able to open their luggage in the room.

Again, thank you for your feedback from all of us at iQ Hotel – Roma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in mid November. This hotel has everything you could possibly need. It has vending machines with not just beverages and sandwiches but also one with convenience items like moisturizer, nail cutter, ear buds etc. Water is a mere 70 cents ! Even cheaper than outside. They have a coffee machine, ice machine, microwave and even a laundry room where you can wash for 3 euros and dry for another 3. Very convenient ! The hotel is about a 7 minute walk from termini and close to bus stations. You could even walk to most of the attractions. The opera is right opposite the hotel ! The rooms are very well done and extremely spacious. Modern with all amenities. We got a room with a balcony - and was facing the opera. If we opened the balcony door in the evenings we could hear music from the opera which was very nice ! But no noise creeped in with the door shut. We walked around the area even at 10-11pm in the night and it was very safe. Its 2 mins from Via Natzionale street that is very good for shopping. My only complaint was that the staff doesn't really make any effort to converse. We arrived at 8am in the morning which was obviously too early for check in so we left our luggage with them and were told to come back by 1pm. We did and were asked to take a seat while they checked on the status. We weren't given any feedback for the next 30 mins or so while the staff engaged in conversation with other customers. Only upon asking again were we told that our room was ready. This wouldn't have bothered me otherwise but we were really exhausted from the 8 hour long flight and the 5 hour wait to get to a room - it would've been nice if the staff had realized that and made sure we were sent to the room as soon as it was ready instead of making us wait unnecessarily. Other than this small issue, everything else went smooth. Didnt really interact with the staff after that. All in all..great stay ! Dont hesitate to book !

Room tip: We had room 414 and it was pretty great ! Spacious and with a balcony.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 105tanvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The IQ hotel was conviently located a short 5 minute walk from the train/bus station (that is if you read maps better than my sister and I) and you can get a bus from the airport for 5 euros, (turn right as you exit the airport).

The hotel is then only a 5-10 minute stroll to the main attractions such as the Forum and Coloseum.

The rooms were surprisingly large and comfortable and very clean. Bigger towels are always on my wish list. You can chill out on your return on the terrace bar with an inexspensive bottle of wine from the vending machines. The thought of vending machines was a little unnerving at first, but I actually found it an easy, convenient and inexspensive alternative to the minibar. There was still a fridge in the room for you place your purchases in.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snobbybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very nice budget hotel, with touch of comfort. The room is very nice the bath room modern. The vending machine with snacks and water useful and cheap price. Infact cheaper then in the street vendor. The Staffs seem friendly.

Not far from Train station, and walk down to All sight seeing in Rome.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mayvind D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is an amazing hotel in every way, and as I am usually very picky this says a lot. Do not hesitate about booking this hotel!
We walked to all the major sites, the area was safe, close to the main station, amazing breakfast, very friendly staff, great rooms and fresh bathroom-
It made our stay in Rome so much better! :)

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nera2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews