We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Innovative”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #21 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We travelled to Rome for 4 nights with our 11 year old son. The hotel is in a great location close to shops, bars, restaurants and really useful mini supermarket. Front desk staff were very helpful. Vending machines were cheap and easy to use. Lovely outdoor roof space. Good gym, laundry room, business centre. Triple room was very big, very clean, fridge for own use. Breakfast was an excellent buffet, as much as anyone could need. Easy walking distance to lots of major tourist attractions. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,135 - 2,141 of 4,276 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

One of the best hotels i have stayed in
Near of the Termini Station. Just in front of Rome´s Opera House. Very quiet neigborhood.
Clean rooms and nice terrace, including good vending machines.
Hotel is located in walking distance to Coliseum and many other main attractions.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atroveran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Located minutes from Roma Termini and Piazza Repubblica. Modern and clean with decently sized rooms. The front desk staff were courteous and efficient. If you have done your research about how to get from all the sights and also about restaurants this place is perfect.

I initially found it weird that they could not really point us to good restaurants or give us any tips but later figured that may be it is not possible to really do that in a big city like Rome. Not sure if other folks who stayed at this hotel had a different experience.

They also had a coin operated laundry costing 3 euro each for washing and drying which I found very convenient. They also had a vending machine which had water for 70 cents which is cheap compared to any other shops outside.

There was also a small bakery/restaurant close by (to the left if you are looking at the hotel facade) which had good cappuccino and baked stuff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jax_krish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Modern, stylish hotel located minutes away from Roma's termini station. This hotel goes out of the way to think about needs and necessities of modern day travelers. Rooms are thoughtfully furnished. Free wifi works great. The vending machines are very well stocked and prices are extremely reasonable. If you are looking for any ancient rome character, you wont find it in this hotel. This hotel's mantra seems to be clean, convenient, comfort and modern. Cons: It would have been nice if breakfast were included with the room charges. Also, the toileteries in the bathrooms included shampoo and bath soap but no lotion which was somewhat weird.

Room Tip: ask for the room facing the opera house in order to have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crabs_pdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The IQ was in a convenient location. It was clean and comfortable. As some others have mentioned, the wine vending machine and roof top terrace were fun. Although we liked the hotel, we appreciated the staff even more. They were helpful when we first arrived in getting us into our room early. Later, after we had some problems in Rome, they were again helpful in translating phone calls. We have no hesitation in highly recommending the IQ.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stib1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Initially we were given a very small room at this hotel. The receptionist assured me that this was a standard double, however what was provided appeared to be a 'small double' looking at descriptions on various websites....the receptionist did eventually upgrade us to what appeared to be an even larger room than expected which resulted in an enjoyable stay.

The reason why this is not a 4STAR hotel is that all the 4/5 STAR hotels I have stayed at, I have never been provided with plastic cups for the bathroom! There were also no tea or coffee making facilities. The breakfast was varied, however let down by limited hot items available and no fresh juice - just sugary juice drinks.

Overall it is a reasonably good hotel with clean rooms and good service but I have stayed in nicer 4STAR hotels.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have smaller double rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelbeach_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Guest Relations Manager at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a review on our property.
From what we can perceive from your review there seems to have been some misunderstandings that we would like to take the opportunity to clarify.
Here at iQ Hotel we offer our guests different room types from which to choose from, and these range from Small Double Rooms to Family Rooms. Being clear and give as much information as possible, so that our guests can make an informed decision, is very important to us. Therefore, we do our best to make sure that all sizes (in actual sq/m) and features are correctly depicted on our website and all sales channels we work with directly.
As far as we can understand from what you wrote on the section “Room tip”, you have booked what we call a Ground Floor Double Room. It is exactly the same size as the Classic Double Room (15 m²), but is located on the Groud Floor.
According to our policy, upgrades are only permitted for technical issues in the room assigned or if the guest, having booked a room type with which he is not satisfied with, is willing to pay the difference and be upgraded to a different category. Unfortunately, we couldn’t get into much detail as to what exactly happened in this case, but we assume you paid the difference to be upgraded to a larger room, probably on an upper floor.
iQ was created in 2010, from the desire to bring something new to the Roman hospitality scene. It is undeniable that, by every right and under the Italian classification, we are a 4 star hotel. Our facilities and services guarantee to that. However, we are different from all other 4 star hotels in Rome, in a way that we empower our guests with the ability to “design” their stay with us. We provide our guests with a clean, comfortable and central place to rest after a long day sightseeing, equipped with a wi-fi connection to stay in touch with their world, a modern gym and sauna and lovely common areas, such as the roof top terrace. We have vending machines with all necessary amenities and a laundry room at our guests’ disposal. We have not included perks and extras that guests normally regard as unnecessary, such as the free mini-bar or the tea and coffee facilities. These way, our guests can choose whichever services they consider important or essential for they stay, and add them as they go.
Finally we would just like to leave a quick note about our breakfast buffet. It features a vast assortment of bread, pastries and biscuits, as well as breakfast cereals, bacon and eggs, mushrooms and beans, fresh milk, yogurt and cheeses, cold cuts and hot meats. We serve hot drinks, such as tea, cappuccino or coffee, and cold drinks, such as juice from concentrate of 100% natural fruit. However, all our products are specifically chosen for their high quality and freshness.
Once again, we would like to thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you again to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at IQ hotel and at the end of our 6 week holiday in Italy. The hotel is located next to the Opera House and about a 10 minute walk to the station. It's fairly new and the rooms are large for European standards and very clean. Breakfast was ample and good. If you want a nice hotel in Rome, reasonably priced and close to the station, then choose IQ. You can easily get to all the sights by using the local transport, or 20-30 minute by foot depending on which sites you visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,859 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,269 in Rome
1,374 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,269 in Rome
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#41 of 1,269 in Rome
941 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,269 in Rome
2,993 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $139 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing