We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern, trendy hotel in Rome.”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #22 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
175 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great modern, trendy hotel in Rome.”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed here for six nights in March. The price was approximately £125 a night for the room, which wasn't cheap, but compared fairly with similar hotels we looked at, Rome being quite an expensive place to stay generally.

The hotel is very modern, with a stylish lobby, with bright red chairs, very Italian. The staff were all friendly and efficient. The location was just to the west of the railway station, which proved to be handy for all sights, the colosseum, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain all within a 15 minute walk. The Vatican is just within walking distance, around 45 minutes away, which is not a hardship as you see more of Rome that way.

The rooms are smart, reasonably sized, though not large. The bathrooms are good, with a powerful shower and nice toiletries.

The buffet breakfast was lovely, at 10 euros, with lots of choices, from various fresh meats and cheese, fruit, cereals, cooked breakfast, a toaster, juices, coffee, iced water, and a lovely selection of pastries and cakes - ideal to fill up on for a tiring day walking around Rome. There are also reasonably priced vending machines, with snacks and wine, Champagne, coffee, with a fridge in each room to store food or drink. There is a nice, spacious, rooftop terrace, with lots of chairs & sofas, available for guests to eat, drink and relax in.

I'd recommend Strega, a traditional, reasonably cheap Italian restaurant, a couple of minutes walk away, where we ate twice. If seafood is your thing, then F.I.S.H. on Via Serpenti, is a ten minute walk away, with gorgeous food.

I would highly recommend this if you want a fairly priced, centrally located, modern hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerraIncognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,914
    1,050
    103
    19
    9
See reviews for
992
2,135
117
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I booked this hotel because it was ranked 2nd at the time of all the hotels in Rome and graded 4 star but can say it was definately not . Whilst the location was good, the rooms clean and quiet, the ambience of the hotel reminded me of a high quality hostel. With its vending machines, artificial grass on the roof terrace and lack of any extra services.
The roof terrace was the only outside space and not all that wonderful to say the least. No food available except for breakfast, no room service and only vending machines which were extremely expensive compared to the supermarket just round the corner to the hotel. Who wants to use vending machines in a 4 star hotel! 2 corkscrews on chains by the machines for opening wine bottles! Paper cups to drink out of even in the rooms.
The room windows looked out over a courtyard and were not big enough to let in enough daylight to enable one to turn the light off in the room even on a sunny day.
Most of the staff were helpful apart from one (male) who had a patronising attitude. The so called lounge was situated in reception and consisted of a few sofas mainly used for guests waiting to depart and to pay their bills. Definately not conducive for relaxation or a long stay.
A definate disappointment!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tripbugUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment in our Hotel. We understand that you have chosen us through the reviews read and for the stars category. What occurred to us is that probably you were not informed about our concept which is clearly state on our Website and Facebook page, and of course all our selling distributors. iQ is a modern concept Hotel, it has the quality of a 4 stars, however it also offers the traveler the choice of what he wants to included in his stay. No extra expensive inclusions which will higher the rate without the Guest really needing them. For example, the breakfast is not obligatory included in the room rate, but the Guest may chose to take it or not depending on his morning habits. If someone is used to sleeping until late he would miss breakfast time, so why should we make him pay it if he does not consume it? Furthermore many Guests tend to not use the private bar since too expensive; therefore we have decided to leave it empty for the Guest to use at leisure. As for our ranking, we fulfill all the Italian regulations’ standard to have the 4 stars. Not only we have a terrace, a large breakfast room, but also a gym and sauna, which you would not find in lower categories hotels and sometimes not even in other four stars. Not only we sell at a very competitive rate for the area, but we give also other benefits apart from the basic ones of a Hotel.

Regarding the vending machines, these as well are all part of our concept. We might not give a full private bar in the room, but we understand that many Guests might need some extra things, either forgotten at home, or simply would like a snack in the middle of the night. Nobody is saying that you are obliged to buy from our vending machines, they are there if Guests want to use them, otherwise, as we ourselves suggest, Guests may find more convenient the Supermarkets round the corner or on the main street. As for the prices, we are sorry to see that you have found them quite high; however we always keep them in the same range of those of the shops around us, if not less.

As for the location of the room, please note that as many building in town have, we also have an inner courtyard. Not being located outside Rome in the country side, it is possible, especially in November when there isn’t much light, that some internal rooms might seem darker. However, our reception team might have helped you in this matter if they had known of your discomfort, maybe suggesting a room move to a higher floor, or on the external part of the building. Furthermore, we always suggest our Guests to send us their particular requests prior to their arrival so to take a note of them and assign the best available room in that category upon availability at the moment of check in.

As last point, we are sorry to hear that you have found one of our Receptionists to be “patronizing”. As a Hotel we always choose our Staff with the outmost care. Not only for their technical skill, but also, and especially, for their attentiveness to the Guests and their good manners. However we cannot understand exactly from your comment how our staff member has acted to give you this impression but we do understand that this has increased your distress during your stay and we apologize for this.

As always we remain at our Guests complete disposal for any concern or question they might have about iQ and his concept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed in this hotel the weekend of the Rome marathon, securing a good rate online. Five minutes walk from the Termini, it is easy to find and the hotel staff are welcoming and helpful. Rooms are clean and nicely furnished, with all the usual amenities. The unique feature about this hotel are the "self-serive" elements, but don't let that put you off; the vending machines (supplying drinks, snacks and any forgotten toiletries) are well stocked and fairly priced, so you won't be ripped off. There is a Spar about 2 mins walk from the hotel and like other guests, we stocked up on some Prosecco and snacks and sat on the hotel's lovely roof terrace, perfect for an after-dinner/pre-dinner drink.
Don't be put off by the location; it is deceptively close to the Via Nazionale, and you are no more than 10 minutes walk to the Trevi fountain, 15/20 mins to the Forum/Colosseum. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed in the iQ hotel for the Italy v Scotland rugby. Have been coming to Rome since 2000 and usually stay in the Metropole just round the corner from the iQ. Glad we tried somewhere different.
Great rooms with plenty of space for the larger rugby player ! Buffet breakfast was excellent and good value for money. Roof terrace is the ideal place to chill out and great prices at the alcohol vending machine
Location is ideal for getting about with most of the main attractions within reasonable walking distance, and the Termini and bus station just round the corner.
Staff were friendly and helpful and were great for booking 6 seater taxis for our group.
Would happily recommend the iQ and will go back again when next in Rome.

Room Tip: We had 2 triple rooms which have plenty space for 3 adults, and a balcony overlooking the Opera Hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Belmores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. This was convenient location to get around the city and go sightseeing. The vending machines were a plus! The rooftop deck was a nice place to hangout at night or when it was a rainy day. The smoking decks on each floor was a nice feature if you are traveling with someone who smokes. Rooms were very nice and clean. Only con was that the bed was hard. I have recommended this place to several people. If we make it back to Rome we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveLoveLife84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Rizal, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The service is excellent, everyone in the hotel is very friendly and polite, the breakfast buffet is really good, the rooms look very modern and clean, the price is reasonable and the location is very strategic. All of these factors contributed to making our stay in Rome a very positive experience!

Being honeymooners, we were also given a 1 night free upgrade to a bigger & better room on our last night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Just spent three nights at this hotel for our wedding anniversary. The hotel is very clean and is furnished with modern decor.
One feature is that the rooms all back on to an internal courtyard so you are guaranteed a quiet night's rest. However natural light is sacrificed and you can feel somewhat claustrophobic.
Staff were generally courteous but on the day we arrived we found the person(male) at reception quite curt when detailing the terms of our stay. I thought I had booked breakfast and he let me know I hadn't and that I had no option now but to stay put!
Another very good feature was the roof top terracer-a nice place to relax after a busy day in Rome.
The location is close to the bus station and buses run close by to the tourist hot spots.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alivealiveo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,619 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,256 in Rome
1,271 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,256 in Rome
2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,256 in Rome
2,864 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#71 of 1,256 in Rome
2,597 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Property: iQ Hotel Roma
Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing