We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New and Clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #23 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New and Clean”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed in October 2011,2 nights for 3 people.

Spanking Brand New Hotel, with the modern contemporary design as their theme. Nice big,clean and modern rooms. Was a surprised to find a new modern design hotel smack in the middle of Rome (ie old and ancient historical buildings) and surrounded by other hotels.

Price wise, i think is slightly pricier as its a 4star hotel but if your looking for modern design i think thats the only few hotel with that price range(slightly higher than a 3star hotel) available.

The breakfast was so-so only, but because places in Rome are actually further and due to the lack of time we didn't waste time walking around to find for breakfast. However, didn't like the fact that there they do not provide boiler/mini kettle in the rooms. They have this vending machine kiosk at every interval floor pantry where you can pay to buy a small plastic cup of hot water.

I find the staff at the receptionist abit snobbish and wasnt really helpful. Wanted to seek their help to plan out our itinary as we have limited time. Needed help with the tourguide books because they were all in italian ( No more english version) which i can only make out the title and the price. I arrived at 9 am and was hoping to be able to start the morning tours ASAP. Anyway, manage to get it all sorted out in time and it was a great trip nevertheless.

Location- as we took tours for the 2 days straight, and travelled mostly by taxi to save time, there is nothing much to comment whether if its strategic or walking distance to many places.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheriYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
First of all we would like to thank the Guest for having left his considerations about our Property.

iQ opened in 2010 as brand new Concept here in Rome. A four stars’ quality hotel with a low average rate compared to the hotels in the same area and category. Our Rooms are always kept at the highest standards and so is our Staff, which is chosen very carefully for its professionalism.

In this regards, we are sorry to hear that the Guest found some of our receptionist not to be very friendly and attentive to his needs. What we understood might have happened, is that at the time the Guest needed some information for his tours, 9:00 am, the front office was overloaded with work and could not give the Guest all the desired attention. Said this, we deeply apologize for the sensation the Guest received from our Staff and it will be our care to further investigate the matter.

As for the small guidebooks provided, we are taking care of restocking the finished ones and having them always at disposal of our Guests. Being our majority of Guests from an English speaking country these are the first to finish.

Furthermore, we understand that the lack of a boiler in the room might have struck the Guest has a lack of service. However this clashes with the concept of iQ itself, which is to reduce extras which many do not use, such as the boiler and the full private bar in the rooms, in favour of a ratio quality/rate extremely fair for the area and the class of the Hotel.

Regarding the breakfast items in our buffet, we have not clearly understood the Guest’s comment. Our breakfast offers a variety of items both from the classic “Italian” breakfast, such as cappuccino, cereals and cornetti. to more “foreign” breakfast items, such as sausages, eggs, grilled vegetables and so on. Many of our Guests, both Italian and foreign have commented positively both on the cost, Euro 10.00 per person, and on the quality and variety.

As always we are interested in any suggestion which might bring new ideas to continue improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,807
    1,034
    102
    19
    9
See reviews for
962
2,067
115
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at iQ Hotel for a week between Christmas and New Year's. What a great hotel, it was exactly what we were looking for and so glad we found it. We arrived in Rome early in the morning around 7 am and made it to hotel well before check in. Fortunately they were able to get us in to a room around 9:30 am. We were so grateful after traveling 11+ hours to get a shower and a nap.

Our room was on the 5th floor which is the same floor as the breakfast area. We were a little concerned that the morning noise would wake us up but we never had a problem. There is music piped in to the hallway that may be a problem for some but the front desk can turn it off if you request it. The first few days I thought it was someone listening to the radio while cleaning but then it magically disappeared.

The vending machines are convenient but can be kind of pricey. There is a Carrefour Express around the corner and we stocked up on drinks and stored them in the mini fridge in our room. We also did a load of laundry while we were there. There is only one washer and one dryer so if anyone else is using them it might take a while. Also they take about 45 mins to wash and then at least an hour to dry. The dryer was not very effective so you might want to hang things dry in your room overnight instead.

Our room was huge and had a small balcony. Normally, I don't think you'd utilize a balcony in late December but our room was incredibly hot the first 5 days, even with the heat turned all the way down it was still boiling hot. We'd open the balcony doors and the room would cool down quickly. The bathroom was also huge and had a shower and separate bath tub, all very clean. The housekeeping really is really doing a good job here.

The television is pretty small but that's not really why you are in Rome right? A few English channels were nice to keep up on the news, etc.

The location of the hotel is pretty good, we walked to most attractions and found it safe.

For the value and cleanliness of this hotel I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley12LosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
19th hole
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

lovely modern hotel within walking distance of the train station, enjoyed the buffet breakfasts, was able to walk them off every day. took our time and managed to walk to all the attractions- except the vatican,- when we got a bus there and walked back. plenty of restaurants nearby to eat in, roof terrace a great idea, would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheughone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Marvellous hotel. Brilliantly situated close to main attractions and train terminus. The service was excellent - always friendly and helpful when needed. The room was very spacious and scrupulously clean - well done to all the cleaning staff. The hotel is very close to main attractions if you don't mind a stretch of the legs and there is the nearby metro at republican which takes you to main attractions if you would rather not walk. Perfect stay in Rome.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwalshKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Only 7 minutes away from Roma termini train station.
Hotel has got a free wifi.
The staff very friendly and helpful !
Especially I wouldl ike to thank Hitcham and Cezar ! They really know how the customer relations is supposed to be !

Room Tip: Just talk to Hitcham or Cezar at the reception and I believe they would give you the best :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Service was excellent. People at hotel were of amazing help. Our luggage was lost by TAP and people at the hotel were very helpful at all times. Room is really nice. At arrivel, we were served complimentary snacks because we were hungry. The only drawback is that hotel is not close to Colosseum and Trevi, but overall it is a great choice for it´s price, quality and service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daren l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at iQ Hotel for several days. The room was moderately-sized and the staff at the front desk was friendly and courteous. I enjoyed the roof access, and the hotel is very close to attractions like the Trevi Fountain, and the train station. However, there were some major flaws we found as well. First of all, the free wi-fi is very unreliable and cuts out often. Also, for some reason our bathroom smelled AWFUL. It smelled like a portable toilet. We couldn't even sit in our room without the bathroom door being closed with a towel shoved under the door, because of the smell. I would say this hotel is about average, but I was hoping for well above average because of the reviews it got. I would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
We are glad to hear that the Guests found the hotel to be in a comfortable location from which to enjoy the city and that the rooftop was something they found pleasant to enjoy when here.

However, we understood that they had some problems with their room and wi-fi connection.
Regarding the Wi-Fi’s unreliable connection, this might have been caused by the provider’ system which at the time might have had some problems. For any concern the Guests might have during their stay, our Front Office is at their complete disposal. In this case, for example, they might have suggested using our business centre so to be certain that the connection would be working without interruption.
As for the bathroom’ smell, we apologize for this inconvenience. However, if we had known at the time, it would have been our care to find a solution to this matter, even changing the room if the problem could not be solved immediately.

Here at iQ we always strive to make the Guests’ stay the most enjoyable and comfortable; we are at the Guests’ full disposal for any question they might have prior or during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
6,448 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#28 of 1,291 in Rome
1,211 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,291 in Rome
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,291 in Rome
2,797 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,291 in Rome
2,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Property: iQ Hotel Roma
Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing