We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Apartments
Ranked #603 of 1,169 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Reviewed April 18, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Martha L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 93 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

Location: very good. Cleanliness: very good. However, I can't imagine that a small additional investment in the sleeping facilities (e.g. a proper sleeping mattrass for persons number 3, 4 and 5 in the appartment) would bring down the profitability for the rental company...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank NadineLucLint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Alejandro G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ciska L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

There are only few things to say:
-> the location is very near the colliseum and we really liked that
-> there are plenty of cafeterias, few pubs and a supermarket few minutes away by foot
-> taxis cost a little overpriced to go to the city centre (15-20 euros)
-> the service is superb

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Paulius Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Veryy good location, only 2 minutes to go to Metro, 15 minutes' work to Coloseo,. room is comparatively old, however it is clean. Kitchen is not functioning, we stay 3 nights theree, almost no use of kitchen during the stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Simplegoodness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Company: 'Old town apartments' seems to be the part of the company called 'Apartments apart' (there is a different Tripadvisor page for this company, I tried to post this same review there too -thought only fair for people who are trying to gather more information about the company, but Tripadvisor would not allow it....)
At first I thought 'Old town apartments' was just one building or flat in Rome, but no, they have many apartments in Rome, and 'Apartments apart' all around the world! (that is my understanding anyways, it's all too confusing.)
On arrival, you need to pay and check in at the office. The office is close to the main station (Termini) so should not be a big problem, but beware of their "late check-in fee" (after 9pm-25euros, after midnight-35euros).
Rome office was friendly and helpful, but not the most efficient. It took me 4-5 emails and phone calls to Prague and Poland offices (yes,) just to get their working e-mail address. They short changed me on the day I checked in. I had to go back to the office the next day, but nobody was there! I left a note on a piece of paper and I quickly got a delivery of my forgotten change. So I guess they do mean well, just not efficient....

Apartment: we stayed in Donatello2 (via Urbana 33). Donatello2 is conveniently located, close to Termini, Colosseum and other attractions. Having a metro station (Cavour) so near can also be a big advantage.
Via Urbana is a lovely street where you will find many small shops, cafes and restaurants.
Donatello2 was previously reviewed as "too small for 3 people", but we (3 adults) thought it was alright. (1 double bedroom and a double bed in the living room.) The apartment was kept clean and had a certain charm. Very good heating and hot water (late December).
The big negative is the fact that the apartment is surrounded by walls and do not get ANY views or natural light. It is so dark you will not know what time of the day.
The small kitchen has a nice gas cooker, minimum essentials (pots, pan, coffee maker, toaster etc...) enough to make simple dinner and breakfast. There are no seasonings, so maybe a good idea to bring some from home specially salt and pepper.
They provide towels, also there is a washing machine in the bathroom (washing powder not provided).
We had dinner in a nearby restaurant called 'Trattoria il Tettarello' which was really nice! (http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g187791-d1727978-r148516586-Trattoria_il_Tettarello-Rome_Lazio.html)

Small details: I booked the apartment with 'easytobook.com'. Booking with easytobook was straightforward and easy. They did not charge me at the time of booking, just took my card details and there was no problem. The apartment will also take your card details including the security code when you check in, I did not experience any problem there either.

Room Tip: Donatello2 might not be ideal for longer stay as it desperately lacks in natural light/views from wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#467 of 1,271 in Rome
299 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#6 of 1,271 in Rome
6,962 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#224 of 1,271 in Rome
665 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#349 of 1,271 in Rome
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Apartments

Address: Via Firenze 43, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #603 of 1,169 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Town Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Town Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Apartments Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing