We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Fantastic! Staff were nice...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Babuino 181

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Babuino 181 to your Saves list
Babuino 181
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Al Manamah, Bahrain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Location Fantastic! Staff were nice...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The hotel is small, lobby very tiny, but typical in Europe. Room size was ok, bathroom was nice and amenities were very good….View was very nice, overlooking via del babuino! Location the best! We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you like shopping, this hotel is the best right next to all the best designers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Majed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babuino181, Direttore at Babuino 181, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

You are correct, the shops around Babuino 181 are spectacular - whether you are buying or just looking, the beautiful Italian styles are such a nice addition to the Rome experience. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

Kind regards,
Alberto Moncada, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
san carlos,
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were welcomed by Teodora who absolutely went out of her way to make our stay perfect!! She made dinner reservations and found restaurants that were wonderful and had air conditioning (a must since it was so hot). Each guest is given a terrific book written by the owner about his secret tips for Rome - good ideas. There is a wonderful deck/dining area on the 4th floor - drinks and snacks in the evening and breakfast in the morning - relaxing and a fun place to hang out and have your complimentary drink/cocktail. Our room was modern and had everything we needed - spacious bathroom and super comfortable bed. Location is right next to Piazza di Popolo and the restaurants in the area are superb. We stayed two nights and really wish we could have been there longer. Everyone on the staff was terrific, but I have to really applaud Teodora!!!!

Room Tip: I only saw the first floor, but loved that we had a sitting room with snacks for our floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindadrew13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babuino181, Direttore at Babuino 181, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

My thanks for recognizing the wonderful service that Teodora provides. Our staff works hard to make sure our guests fall in love with Rome as we have. She will be so pleased to see your comments. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Alberto Moncada, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights ( room 103). The hotel was clean and modern. The staff were very friendly, helpful and always available. The check-in and check-out was quick and with no problem. The staff provided room service twice a day and great help in recommending places to shop, eat and visit. The location of the hotel was brilliant. It was literarily a walking distance to the designer ( Burberry, Gucci, Prada, Moncler, ... ) and high street ( H&M, Zara, Mango, ...) shops. It was also in the centre of tourist attractions. To be honest, I can write and highlight so many more positives about the hotel, it's location, it's staff etc but I will summarise all in one word - EXCELLENT
I would stay at the same hotel if I travel to Rome again and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mahshid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babuino181, Direttore at Babuino 181, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so grateful for your "Excellent" rating of your experience at Babino 181. It sounds like our staff, and our location exceeded your expectations which is what we strive to accomplish.

We hope you do come back to Rome soon.

Kind regards,
Alberto Moncada, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I was very keen to stay here and I wasn't disappointed. Beautiful big room and bathroom. Excellent facilities with all the mod cons and great detail. We were across the road in 306 which felt quite exclusive although it was an internal room and it felt a little isolated and dark. We weren't sure if it was great because it was a quiet haven from the busyness outside or if we felt left out as we had no 'Rome vibe'.
Breakfast was nice. Good range of choice. (I don't understand what more people would want) Unfortunately the weather was quite wet when we were there and we didn't get the sunny roof terrace we were hoping for in the morning or night.
The location is great with everything within walking distance. It is a little difficult to find as it is a single door and tiny sign so make sure you know the number when trying to find it.
We managed to find a good advance purchase deal on their website.
Staff were pleasant but I didn't find them effusive or particularly interested in us so in general the experience lacked connection.
We ate at Dilla that was recommended in their local guide which was contemporary,casual dining and was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzfamilyAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I stayed one night on a business trip.

Great central location, a very nice room. A convenient lounge with coffee and biscuits on the first floor. I also liked the complimentary drink in the evening!

I could hear voices from the corridor at one point during the day, though not too loud; and the night was quiet.

I appreciated Teodora from the front desk, who was nice and helpful from the beginning to the end.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthMole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Amazing - from the moment Ameen confirmed the extra bed within a minute I knew it would be good - but it was better than good. We have stayed 5 star all over the world and the rooms were on a par if not better. The location was fantastic with all the best shops on your doorstep. The bed was huge - 6 foot - so even though we ordered an extra bed we didn't need it as I slept in it with my two daughters! Linen luxurious - bathroom fantastic. But for me the best thing start to finish was the staff- they were absolutely amazing - nothing was too much trouble.
Thank you to all 3 of you Theodora and your two colleagues.
We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieC02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babuino181, Direttore at Babuino 181, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

What a lovely review of our hotel – I'm humbled you would give us an 11 out of 10. Thank you for acknowledging the work of Assem, Teododora and the rest of our staff who made your stay so memorable.

We hope you all return soon.

Kind regards,

Alberto Moncada
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

A couple of positives, first.

The location is great. Really good part of Rome to be based.

The rooms are nice - but make sure you stay in the main hotel - not the annexe which is off site.

We booked 3 months ago for 2 rooms and on arrival last week, there wasn't both rooms available in the main hotel - where you have breakfast, where the terrace is - with the only inital option being that one of our group had to move offsite to the annexe.

Not being acceptable, and after a lot of 'holding our ground' and 'juggling' they eventually found rooms for us together in the hotel proper.

Also, try not to stay in rooms 101 and 102 (and maybe 201 and 202), as the side street beside the hotel has bars and restaurants that go on very late into the night - and we had a couple of nights when the music was just too loud to sleep.

A sour note was that we asked Theodora, one of the reception / concierge staff, 2 months ago to book a special restaurant for us (Aroma - overlooking the Colosseum), for our last night as an anniversary event for one of our group.

We emailed and got confirmation that the restaurant had been booked 2 months in advance and then on arrival we double checked with Theodora and she said, yes she had booked it.

We triple checked again, by asking Theodora the day before the event dinner, to telephone and re-confirm and Theodora said she would.

You can probably guess where this is going. Unfortunately when we got to the restaurant, dressed in our best, there was no booking. The restaurant then told us that Bambuino had book the table for 2 days later. Seriously.

This ruined our last night in Rome and the special event we had planned.

The worse part is that the next day, when we told them what had happened, they weren't overly concerned and were dismissive.

So, if you are expecting quality service forget it. Especially at the price they charge.

For the amount that you need to pay here you could go somewhere else and get a similar room - but with the service that you need when you are traveling.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babuino181, Direttore at Babuino 181, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Mr. Paul W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. While I'm glad you enjoyed our central location and the quality of our rooms, I was very upset to hear about the mix-up with your dinner reservation. We are known and respected for our high level of service so I want to personally apologize for any distress this caused you and your family. I spoke with our front desk staff and determined that your reservation was booked and confirmed, but unfortunately the wrong date had been entered and no one caught the error. I also contacted the restaurant and was very relieved to hear that you did get a table that evening and enjoyed your meal.

While no one in your party stayed in our newly renovated wing across the street, some of these rooms provide a little more buffering to the normal hustle and bustle of Rome, and in fact have some of our most sought after suites. Should you travel back to Rome, I would love to meet you in person and oversee your stay.

Best regards,

Alberto Moncada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Artemide Hotel
Artemide Hotel
#5 of 1,271 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 5,054 reviews
Colonna
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,271 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 2,884 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#10 of 1,271 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#3 of 1,271 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babuino 181? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babuino 181

Address: Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rome
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Babuino 181 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome’s most exclusive boutique hotel, on Rome’s most exclusive street. Babuino 181 is located in the best location in Rome, in the heart of the upscale Spanish Steps quarter. And every bit of it is as chic as its neighboring boutiques. Step between Rome’s top fashion designers, disappear through discreet glass doors… and enter another dimension of Italian boutique luxury. After a day of inspiration touring Rome’s sites, come back to your home in Rome. Sip a cocktail on the brand-new, rooftop terrace overlooking Rome’s beautiful streets. Soak in a spacious marble bath. Slide between Frette sheets. Rest in comfort—and with the confidence that, no matter what you need or what personalized service you require, Babuino 181’s professional staff can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Babuino 181 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babuino 181 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#