We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, nice roof terrace”
Review of Babuino 181

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Babuino 181
Ranked #30 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here recently. It's in a nice part of town away from the busiest tourist areas but walking distance of everything. About twenty - thirty minutes walk to The Vatican.
A boutique hotel of around 12 rooms or suites. Our room overlooked the street which can be noisy during the day but the double glazing is superb. Air-conditioning, Nespresso coffee machine, mini-bar and a laptop sized safe in the room. All very modern, clean and relaxing.
We particularly liked the roof top terrace for breakfast. Not great views but a very relaxed atmosphere.
Beware of the bar prices here in the evening though. Paid 45 euros for a very average bottle of white wine.
We were told on arrival that the mini-bar was complementary but like most hotels, they charged for everything apart from water.
All-in-all though a very pleasant place to stay in Rome and would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 341,666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
There are newer reviews for Babuino 181
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

All the great reviews are accurate! Babuino 181 is a unique and wonderful boutique hotel, perfectly situated, with amazingly friendly and helpful staff. I always stay in the Piazza del Popolo area in Rome, so the neighborhood was a no brainer for me, but I've stayed at other hotels in the area, and none were as great an experience as the Babuino. My deluxe room was on the large side for Rome, very nicely decorated, with a spacious bathroom with shower and tub. Modern, clean, lovely. Double glazed windows were great, though the one slight negative is even the windows and heavy shutters didn’t drown out the late night bar/restaurant on Via della Fontanella right below. I got used to it; it’s Rome and all, so to be expected, but would request a room not facing that street in the future. The rooftop bar/breakfast area is lovely, and Dragos, the bartender was extremely friendly and welcoming (and makes excellent cocktails!). Assem and Jojo at the front desk were also so helpful and lovely, as were all of the staff. I just didn’t get all of the names. Next time I’m in Rome, if I can spring for it (it’s pricey, but worth every euro), I will definitely stay at the Babuino.

Room Tip: If you require quiet, request a room that doesn't face Via della Fontanella.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamFan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

SUPERB!! The location is nigh on unbeatable and the rooms are really nice, but what really made our stay was the helpfulness and attention to detail of the staff. These people really care, and it shows.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnanMacM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated near the Spanish Steps. While that area is quite busy, the side road where the hotel is located is quiet. The hotel has modern decor and was very comfortable. The room was small but that is expected in the heart of Rome. The hotel was clean and professionally run. My flight was early in the morning so I wouldn't be able to partake in the breakfast. The manager insisted that they would open breakfast 15 minutes early to accomodate my schedule. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cmpizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Got in very early from a 11 hour flight. Hotel entrance is a little hard to find at first and being on the main street, unloading luggage needs to be done fast. We were given a room straight away which was great.

Room was not large but very clean, confortable and modern. Nice nespresso machine in the room also.

Staff were very friendly and attentive to our needs, always smiling and greeting us when ever we walk pass.

Location of the hotel was good, within a walking distance to all the sites and good shopping and restaurants in the area.

Not a cheap place but given what we experienced we will definitely return

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mhom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Excellent hotel in a great location - highly recommended! Superb clean, modern rooms with a friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable team on reception who were happy to recommend and book restaurants for us. Upstairs on the stylish rooftop terrace bar Dragos kept us entertained with his anecdotes - not to be missed for a pre-dinner drink(s)....!

Room Tip: Room 401 (Patrizi Suite) has a private terrace - perfect for relaxing after tramping the streets of...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

What an amazing place to come back to after seeing the sights of Rome! Excellent staff who took great care to attending to all our requests. Clean, comfy and modern rooms. Bathrooms are large and have every amenity. Roof top terrace is lovely for breakfast and a late day apertivo
We would definitely stay here again....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#23 of 1,267 in Rome
514 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,267 in Rome
210 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,267 in Rome
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babuino 181? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babuino 181

Address: Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rome
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $244 - $836 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Babuino 181 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome’s most exclusive boutique hotel, on Rome’s most exclusive street. Babuino 181 is located in the best location in Rome, in the heart of the upscale Spanish Steps quarter. And every bit of it is as chic as its neighboring boutiques. Step between Rome’s top fashion designers, disappear through discreet glass doors… and enter another dimension of Italian boutique luxury. After a day of inspiration touring Rome’s sites, come back to your home in Rome. Sip a cocktail on the brand-new, rooftop terrace overlooking Rome’s beautiful streets. Soak in a spacious marble bath. Slide between Frette sheets. Rest in comfort—and with the confidence that, no matter what you need or what personalized service you require, Babuino 181’s professional staff can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Babuino 181 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babuino 181 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing