We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the location, the staff, our chic room, and the Nespresso”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Babuino 181

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Babuino 181
Ranked #37 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the location, the staff, our chic room, and the Nespresso”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

What a great little boutique hotel in the heart of the best shopping and dining and sight seeing in Rome. Our room was stylish but also really comfortable. Great bed with a velvet ledge around it...never seen such a bed before and we loved it. Also have to comment on the complimentary Nespresso Machine in our room...loved that touch...loved it. Drinks at sunset and breakfast at dawn included and on the enclosed roof terrace. For such a little hotel, very big concerige service. Jojo from Cuba and Vince from Italy were terrific: friendly, knew every guest in the hotel by name and sight, made great dining suggestions and always insisted on calling ahead to make sure we were well treated upon arrival. We really enjoyed eating at Edy's which was steps away and not expensive (try the warm octopus salad) and Peitros also very nearby, very delicious and a bit more expensive. When my husband wanted access to a gym, vince and jojo called over to the Hotel Russie just steps down the block and arranged for access (bring your Amex Plat for a reduced gym rate). The Hotel's owner checks on things everyday and you can tell. The hotel can also arrange for tours and special touches. I would absolutely stay here again and send my friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spencegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    182
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
178
557
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Terrific find! Via del Babuino is a great location - near the Piazza del Popolo, the Spanish Steps, great shopping and restaurants. Evening drinks on the rooftop terrace were great! The staff was excellent - very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Babuino 181, it's a quaint hotel in a fabulous location. The staff are very friendly and helpful, they gave us suggestions most nights for restaurants and we were never disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiee_stansfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Fantastic find - great location - you really wouldn't want to stay anywhere else once you have stayed here. It is on a lovely street that leads you down to the Spanish Steps and is very close to all the amazing shopping streets with lovely little cafes and restaurants on. The room was excellent, it had everything you needed, the staff were very friendly and helpful - they recommended a great restaurant close by and we ended up going there twice it was so good. So many nice touches to this hotel, the complimentary drinks on the roof terrace every evening were super and the constant clean towels that appeared in our room whenever we left it.

I love Rome and cannot wait to go back and I now don't want to try any place else to stay. It is like having your own apartment in Rome. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This stylish hotel is in a good location, with helpful and friendly staff (who spoke excellent English). The room (deluxe) was spacious and clean, with fresh pillowcases every night, which was a nice touch. Complimentary bottled water provided also. Didn't have breakfast, but the roof terrace looked very pretty. The only minor complaint is occasional street noise in the middle of the night (voices) - if you are a light sleeper, take earplugs - which will easily then block this out. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pebble082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

The location is nice, near Spanish steps, and the staff were the highlight......very good.

But we booked two deluxe king rooms which they tried to get 460 euros each for directly, but through a discount site we got for 280 euros, and it wasn't high season. For the rooms we got , which were very disappointing .....this is too much.
Also the noise was terrible from the street, even though it had double glazing. It made no difference, so expect a broken nights sleep.

For a reasonably new establishment well recommended, the rooms were shabby and needed a paint, and the showers had grout off everywhere.
Go elsewhere for this price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tooraktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assemh, Owner at Babuino 181, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Mr Toorak,

I wanted to thank you for writing a review on our boutique hotel Babuino 181.

I was very glad to see that you enjoyed our Spanish Steps location and that you thought our staff was very helpful.

I want to point out that the higher rate you found on our web site was for a deluxe suite while your booking was for a double room. We don't use discount sites and we operate on a "rate parity" basis on all e-channels.

I apologize that your room was not in a perfect form. The problem you experienced came from an unfortunate leak in the shower which has now been repaired.

If you plan to come back to Rome please contact me directly and I will make sure that you will experience Babuino 181 at its best!

Alberto Moncada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I go to Rome once a year and it is an endless hotel hunt for me. This was a real surprise. It's a great location- central to everything but far enough away from the crowds of the Spanish Steps which feels claustrophobic to me. The front desk staff is helpful and efficient. Our room was great- it had a living room eating area, large bedroom, large bathroom, a powder room and a covered balcony. It is a little loud at night because of the outdoor restaurant next to the hotel but it didn't keep me up at night. They have an espresso machine in the room that I didn't know I would enjoy so much. Before dinner, you can go to the rooftop and they put drinks out and you can serve yourself. Everything was clean and for Rome, it was a really good sized room. It's a very laid back hotel so it's perfect if you know what you are doing in Rome. I really enjoyed my stay at Babuino 181.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#24 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#16 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babuino 181? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babuino 181

Property: Babuino 181
Address: Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rome
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Babuino 181 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome’s most exclusive boutique hotel, on Rome’s most exclusive street. Babuino 181 is located in the best location in Rome, in the heart of the upscale Spanish Steps quarter. And every bit of it is as chic as its neighboring boutiques. Step between Rome’s top fashion designers, disappear through discreet glass doors… and enter another dimension of Italian boutique luxury. After a day of inspiration touring Rome’s sites, come back to your home in Rome. Sip a cocktail on the brand-new, rooftop terrace overlooking Rome’s beautiful streets. Soak in a spacious marble bath. Slide between Frette sheets. Rest in comfort—and with the confidence that, no matter what you need or what personalized service you require, Babuino 181’s professional staff can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Babuino 181 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babuino 181 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing