We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piazza del Popolo / Spanish Steps”
Review of Babuino 181

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Babuino 181
Ranked #30 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Terrific find! Via del Babuino is a great location - near the Piazza del Popolo, the Spanish Steps, great shopping and restaurants. Evening drinks on the rooftop terrace were great! The staff was excellent - very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregory D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
There are newer reviews for Babuino 181
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Babuino 181, it's a quaint hotel in a fabulous location. The staff are very friendly and helpful, they gave us suggestions most nights for restaurants and we were never disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiee_stansfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Fantastic find - great location - you really wouldn't want to stay anywhere else once you have stayed here. It is on a lovely street that leads you down to the Spanish Steps and is very close to all the amazing shopping streets with lovely little cafes and restaurants on. The room was excellent, it had everything you needed, the staff were very friendly and helpful - they recommended a great restaurant close by and we ended up going there twice it was so good. So many nice touches to this hotel, the complimentary drinks on the roof terrace every evening were super and the constant clean towels that appeared in our room whenever we left it.

I love Rome and cannot wait to go back and I now don't want to try any place else to stay. It is like having your own apartment in Rome. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This stylish hotel is in a good location, with helpful and friendly staff (who spoke excellent English). The room (deluxe) was spacious and clean, with fresh pillowcases every night, which was a nice touch. Complimentary bottled water provided also. Didn't have breakfast, but the roof terrace looked very pretty. The only minor complaint is occasional street noise in the middle of the night (voices) - if you are a light sleeper, take earplugs - which will easily then block this out. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pebble082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The location is nice, near Spanish steps, and the staff were the highlight......very good.

But we booked two deluxe king rooms which they tried to get 460 euros each for directly, but through a discount site we got for 280 euros, and it wasn't high season. For the rooms we got , which were very disappointing .....this is too much.
Also the noise was terrible from the street, even though it had double glazing. It made no difference, so expect a broken nights sleep.

For a reasonably new establishment well recommended, the rooms were shabby and needed a paint, and the showers had grout off everywhere.
Go elsewhere for this price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tooraktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assemh, Owner at Babuino 181, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Mr Toorak,

I wanted to thank you for writing a review on our boutique hotel Babuino 181.

I was very glad to see that you enjoyed our Spanish Steps location and that you thought our staff was very helpful.

I want to point out that the higher rate you found on our web site was for a deluxe suite while your booking was for a double room. We don't use discount sites and we operate on a "rate parity" basis on all e-channels.

I apologize that your room was not in a perfect form. The problem you experienced came from an unfortunate leak in the shower which has now been repaired.

If you plan to come back to Rome please contact me directly and I will make sure that you will experience Babuino 181 at its best!

Alberto Moncada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I go to Rome once a year and it is an endless hotel hunt for me. This was a real surprise. It's a great location- central to everything but far enough away from the crowds of the Spanish Steps which feels claustrophobic to me. The front desk staff is helpful and efficient. Our room was great- it had a living room eating area, large bedroom, large bathroom, a powder room and a covered balcony. It is a little loud at night because of the outdoor restaurant next to the hotel but it didn't keep me up at night. They have an espresso machine in the room that I didn't know I would enjoy so much. Before dinner, you can go to the rooftop and they put drinks out and you can serve yourself. Everything was clean and for Rome, it was a really good sized room. It's a very laid back hotel so it's perfect if you know what you are doing in Rome. I really enjoyed my stay at Babuino 181.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel is in a wonderful location, the rooms are modern and very clean. The breakfast could be better; can you imagine a Hotel in Italy with no fresh bread in the breakfast? The staff was not helpful . I had a problem in the bathroom, it was impossible to have a shower without flooding the room. I've asked the staff to solve my problem (not once, but three times!!) and they did absolutely nothing, this is unacceptable in a hotel like this...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assemh, Proprietario at Babuino 181, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Claudia,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Babuino 181. We were very disappointed to hear that you experienced a problem during your stay at our hotel and I want to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. As you know, there was a small leak at the base of your shower and we could not get it properly repaired during your stay. Because we were fully booked, we were unable to move you to another room, but I have spoken to the staff about what could have been done to alleviate your concern. We pride ourselves in the responsiveness of our staff so I am very sorry to hear they did not properly communicate to you about the timing of this repair. I am glad you enjoyed our contemporary rooms and location in the center of Rome. Please accept my apologies and feel free to contact me directly if you are traveling to Rome again so that I may personally take care of you on your next stay.

Alberto Moncada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#23 of 1,267 in Rome
514 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,267 in Rome
212 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,267 in Rome
2,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babuino 181? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babuino 181

Address: Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rome
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $243 - $850 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Babuino 181 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome’s most exclusive boutique hotel, on Rome’s most exclusive street. Babuino 181 is located in the best location in Rome, in the heart of the upscale Spanish Steps quarter. And every bit of it is as chic as its neighboring boutiques. Step between Rome’s top fashion designers, disappear through discreet glass doors… and enter another dimension of Italian boutique luxury. After a day of inspiration touring Rome’s sites, come back to your home in Rome. Sip a cocktail on the brand-new, rooftop terrace overlooking Rome’s beautiful streets. Soak in a spacious marble bath. Slide between Frette sheets. Rest in comfort—and with the confidence that, no matter what you need or what personalized service you require, Babuino 181’s professional staff can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Babuino 181 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babuino 181 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing