We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a lovely place to finish our Italian holiday”
Review of Babuino 181

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Babuino 181
Ranked #30 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Such a lovely place to finish our Italian holiday”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

After travelling around Italy for a couple of weeks we finished our trip at the lovely Babuino 181. It was really handy, a short walk from the Metro, Piazza del Popolo and the Spanish Steps.
The room was lovely, with a fabulous shower, flat screen TV and of course the Nespresso machine.
The water in the minibar was free, along with the Nespresso, and each evening there were free drinks on the rooftop terrace. You could also have your breakfast here, but we didn't have it, so I can't comment on it.
Overall, a fabulous, modern hotel in a great location and a haven from the hustle and bustle of Rome. Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mancgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    187
    35
    8
    3
See reviews for
190
591
28
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our family of 5 (children: 16, 13, 10) spent 4 nights recently at Babuino, 181 and it worked so well for us. As recent reviews have stated - the location is great...a block from Piazza del Popolo with a taxi stand and cafes, few blocks from the Spanish Steps and really a do-able walk (even in almost 100 degree heat!) to many of the sights (Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Piazza Navona, etc) . It was HOT while sightseeing, but the hotel was our welcome relief between our jaunts out to meet our tour guide and exploring on our own - it was cool, comfortable, inviting and friendly...and the boutique-size of the hotel made it feel more like our own loft apartments than a hotel. We took 2 rooms - not adjoining, but our kids are old enough to be on their own in the room across from us. Clean, modern, furnishings, comfortable beds and bedding, nice bathrooms. Front desk (the 2 wonderful young women who were there most every day) were very friendly and helpful and fluent in English...for making reservations, checking to see if certain sights were open the day we wanted to visit, etc. They made us feel welcomed and at home. Breakfast each morning on the enclosed rooftop terrace was satisfying...a buffet selection of everything you'd want (yogurts, granola, fresh fruit, cereals, breads to toast, pastries, coffee to order, juices, tea, etc) and a nice waitress...newspapers out for guests to read. Quiet and relaxing with glimpses of other rooftops and the trees of Villa Borghese.

The only area of improvement (which I noted to management on their survey)for rooms located on the side of the hotel that faces the small alley way that has a couple of cafes below, is to provide a sound machine/white noise machine in the room as an option for the guests to use (I think BOSE makes a good one) to eliminate the noise that filters up to the rooms from the laughter and bottle clean-up/tumbling of bottles at the cafes sometimes as late as 2am...that was my only "complaint" and should be easily fixable.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who appreaciates good design, a smaller hotel experience in a fabulous location...it was wonderful.

Room Tip: Select a room that doesn't face the alley way for a quieter night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKA111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have stayed here many times - love the location near the Piazza de Popolo, the design of the rooms, the luxurious bathrooms, the personal service in a small, more intimate hotel. Breakfast on the rooftop is a lovely way to start the day and offers a nice respite from the city. My only worry is that this place is going to so popular it will be more difficult to book one of their wonderful rooms! And if that is the case, ask them about their sister property Margutta 54, which is just a block or two away and makes you feel like you are in the know with an apartment in Rome.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyminasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband, 2 children (ages 9 and 4) and I stayed at Babuino 181 for 3 nights in August 2012 and it was simply fantastic. We had just returned from a one week villa stay in Tuscany and Babuino 181 was a terrific way to end our family holiday.

Although the rooms weren't as large as the rooms at the Westin Excelsior Rome, we found the room more comfortable. The decor is modern and warm. There was a queen bed and a sofa bed which suited our family size. The bathroom was a decent size.

There was a lady at the front desk that was always gracious and helpful (with excellent English). The only minor disappointing incident was that there was a man at the front desk that gave us wrong information (telling us that a restaurant was open on Sunday and when we went there, it was not. We also overheard him telling another customer that nearly everything was open on Sunday when it clearly is not. He clearly had no knowledge of restaurant information). The location was also superb for city shopping as it was 3 mins away from the Spanish Steps. There is also a GREAT restaurant downstairs which we ate at 2 times during our stay. The morning breakfast at the lounge, although only a continental breakfast, was also completely satisfying. We recommend this hotel highly for families with 1-2 young children.

Room Tip: Request for a room on the first floor (which we had) as there is a comfortable lounge on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jencwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Babuini 181 for two nights during the hottest weekend in Rome. The staff was extremely helpful - we arrived 2 hrs before check in and we were told to grab a quick bite to eat and our room would be ready shortly. They kept their word and we were in our rooms super fast. The hotel room was nice, spacious enough for 2 people, and THANK GOD extremely air conditioned. The bathroom was HUGE with a great shower. My husband is 6'5'' and needs all the room he can get. The shower did leak water though but it's not a deal breaker by any means. My favorite part of the room....the Nespresso machine - awesome touch! The location of the hotel is perfect. We walked everywhere and only used a cab when we went to the Vatican b/c we had a tour guide.

We didn't have the breakfast plan which was good b/c we slept through breakfast both days. We did have dinner at Edy's on the first night. It was good, not great. We live in NYC so we have pretty high standards when it comes to Italian food. I highly recommend the beer garden right around the corner from the hotel. They were open really late and we sat outside drank cold beer and just hung out!

Overall it was a nice experience and I would most definitely stay there again on my next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCtravler921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Babuino 181 was just what we needed on arriving in Rome. A fabulous position just along from the Spanish Steps and just down from the Villa Borghese. All the major sights were in walking distance

The rooms were immaculate - complimentary water, really friendly and helpful people and the breakfast on the rooftop restaurant was a delight

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We just recently stayed at the Babuino 181. It is a great location - fantastic street with lots of shopping and restaurants. The hotel is very nice. Our room (and bathroom) were very clean and spacious, and quiet. We had room 103 which was not on the main street. It over looks a courtyard (of sorts) that is not part of the hotel. Too bad that is does not belong to the hotel as I am sure they would fix it up - it really is not a good view. But, the room had many nice appointments - nespresso machine, complimentary bottled water, safe.....The staff was extremely helpful. They went out of their way to assist us with our requests. We would have enjoyed a bar/lounge but were able to find plenty of places outside of the hotel. For European standards we felt that our room and experience was worth the price we paid, and we would stay at the Babuino again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#23 of 1,261 in Rome
508 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,261 in Rome
419 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,261 in Rome
2,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babuino 181? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babuino 181

Property: Babuino 181
Address: Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rome
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Babuino 181 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome’s most exclusive boutique hotel, on Rome’s most exclusive street. Babuino 181 is located in the best location in Rome, in the heart of the upscale Spanish Steps quarter. And every bit of it is as chic as its neighboring boutiques. Step between Rome’s top fashion designers, disappear through discreet glass doors… and enter another dimension of Italian boutique luxury. After a day of inspiration touring Rome’s sites, come back to your home in Rome. Sip a cocktail on the brand-new, rooftop terrace overlooking Rome’s beautiful streets. Soak in a spacious marble bath. Slide between Frette sheets. Rest in comfort—and with the confidence that, no matter what you need or what personalized service you require, Babuino 181’s professional staff can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Babuino 181 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babuino 181 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing