We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is it worth the price of a “luxury” hotel? Dunno.”
Review of Babuino 181

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Babuino 181
Ranked #26 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Storrs, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Is it worth the price of a “luxury” hotel? Dunno.”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Babuino 181 is a curious place. We stayed in room 103 for five nights. The hotel is on a busy commercial street very near the lovely Piazza del Popolo. Our room was very quiet, not on the street side, facing other apartments and a ramshackle inner courtyard that did not belong to the hotel. If you want a view, this might not be the right hotel. But this is a good room if you want peace and quiet. The room was spacious by city standards and very clean. The bathroom and shower were superb. The AC was quiet. Breakfasts are now served on the top floor rooftop bar/lounge and were rather repetitive – standard fare, yogurt, cereal, croissants, fruit, cold cuts – same thing every morning. The Babuino 181 aims to be hip and I think it succeeds with the glass elevator and minimalist art and furniture. But for a “luxury” hotel the Babuino is in other ways oddly no-frills. The place isn’t big on little details. For instance, there was a deficit of written material in the room for the traveler – info about hotel services etc. There was a price list for the mini-bar but the items on the list were not actually in the mini-bar. Just a quibble, but the same Bruce Hornsby CD played all five mornings during breakfast and seemingly non-stop all day in the rooftop bar/lounge. While it does not affect ones comfort level, the paint and plaster job in our room was downright sloppy, pencil marks used to position fixtures on the wall were still visible and baseboard molding looked to be raw wood. I can’t imagine why. On a more serious note, while the room was ample for a big city, it did not have much of anywhere to unpack two peoples’ clothes or stow gear (and we travel light) and no place to sit other than a desk chair and the bed. The concierge/desk varied in regard to helpfulness – multilingual Jessica, from Mexico, was fabulous. The rooftop bar/lounge was perplexing. We expected a bartender. But there was no bartender on duty when we visited – just self-serve wine and glasses. Not sure if it is really a bar or not. The hotel is in a number of ways, vague, for lack of a better word. So is Babuino 181 a unique hotel? Yes. Is it worth the price of a “luxury” hotel? Dunno.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanielML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assemh, Manager at Babuino 181, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you so much for your thorough review of your stay at Babuino 181. We are so pleased you enjoyed your spacious room and the fabulous location between Piazza di Popolo and the Spanish Steps. You noted that our Rooftop terrace does not offer a complete bar service. You are correct that at this time, our beautiful terrace is open for breakfast in the mornings and as a place to relax and enjoy some sun or quiet reading during the day. For those clients wanting to relax with a drink before or after dinner, we have arranged for a no host bar service where we provide wine, champagne, water and juice at no charge to our guests. We appreciate all of the feedback you provided and hope you will return on your next trip to Rome.

Sincerely,
Alberto Moncada
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    184
    34
    8
    2
See reviews for
184
573
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in one of there deluxe rooms and couldn't have been happier. The hotels location is perfect just a couple blocks from the Spanish Steps and in the center of all the fabulous high end boutique stores and restaurants. The rooms are great...ultra modern, stylish, clean with a beautiful bathroom and with all the little extras that make you feel like you're truly on vacation. The hotel staff was the best! We were having some trouble accessing our credit card pin# and they went out of there way to help us so it didn't ruin our trip. We decided we wanted to stay in rome a few extra days and there place was completely booked so they moved us down the street their sister hotel around the corner and gave us this private suite that was amazing...and best of all they moved us while we were out for the day! I will return time to this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed for three nights. Good location, friendly staff, very clean and a comfy bed.
Coffee machine in the room and free bottled water in the fridge were a nice touch.
Stayed on the 1st floor facing to the side street which had a couple of restaurants, so it was quite noisy till very late - thank god I brought good quality earplugs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yuki707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great choice for a hotel in Rome. Excellent location, great service, beautiful rooms, luxury decor, comfortable beds and great service. Expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelSpy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed there for a week end. We didn't stop crossing Roma on a Vespa.
The hotel is nice, very friendly staff. The room we had (1st floor) was beautiful and we loved the bathroom. We didn't have breakfast there and I don't think they offer this...
The location is the best although it's in a shopping street so it's very crowded.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K-Miro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I spent a very long time researching hotels in Rome. Nothing stood out (other than Portrait Suites, but that was much too expensive). I finally settled on 8 nights at the Babuino. I was a little nervous about trying another boutique hotel, but I've been lucky with choices I've made through TripAdvisor, so I went for it.

The location is great. You can walk everywhere in Rome, and you're close to the Metro and shopping on the Corso.

We had one of the lower category rooms. Size-wise, it was fine. I take issue with their bed choice, though - you'd gain a good 2 ft of extra living space if they got rid of the ridiculous corduroy frame. Bed was a bit on the hard side, but ok. Linens seemed a bit damp at times - not sure if it was because of the heat and humidity outside. I'd also nix the canopy - since the windows are higher, it makes the room a little claustrophobic. Bathroom is generously sized and has separate shower. I would recommend that the hotel upgrade their amenities though - everything was made in PRC and very gelatinous. Had plenty of towels, which was nice!

Still and sparkling water from the minibar was complementary. Awesome!

I had a heck of a time getting the TV to work properly. Not sure if it was the remote or what, but I never did figure out the right way to turn it on and change the channels.

Breakfast is served in a lovely roof-top room. Standard continental choices, and was included in our room rate.

We had a small language barrier with one of the front desk staff. We'd asked if he could book us a driver to meet us at a church and then drive us to the catacombs. Something got lost in translation, and we ended up with a private guided tour (on foot) of the church. I tried to explain to the tour guide the mistake, but that too got lost in translation. He was able, though, to take us to St. Clemente, which was great. I did end up enjoying the tour (after I had a mini-meltdown at the thought of missing the catacombs) but it was expensive (230 Euros with tax for about 2 hours). Since they don't have a formal concierge desk, I am a little more forgiving about this, since he was very nice to help us out.

Overall, we had an enjoyable stay at Babuino, and it was a great base for our first foray into Rome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My boyfriend and stayed in Babuino a few months ago and loved everything about this boutique hotel. We were greeted by a girl named Jess, who speaks 5 languages, helped us with so much, and always greeted us with our name when we left/entered the hotel. The room was contemporary and chic. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had an amazing shower and jacuzzi tub. The staff makes you feel so at home, paired with the fabulous location (2 minute walk from Piazza del Popolo), and clean, contemporary decor, Babuino is the best hotel I have ever stayed at in Rome!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#23 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,830 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#14 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babuino 181? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babuino 181

Property: Babuino 181
Address: Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rome
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Babuino 181 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome’s most exclusive boutique hotel, on Rome’s most exclusive street. Babuino 181 is located in the best location in Rome, in the heart of the upscale Spanish Steps quarter. And every bit of it is as chic as its neighboring boutiques. Step between Rome’s top fashion designers, disappear through discreet glass doors… and enter another dimension of Italian boutique luxury. After a day of inspiration touring Rome’s sites, come back to your home in Rome. Sip a cocktail on the brand-new, rooftop terrace overlooking Rome’s beautiful streets. Soak in a spacious marble bath. Slide between Frette sheets. Rest in comfort—and with the confidence that, no matter what you need or what personalized service you require, Babuino 181’s professional staff can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Babuino 181 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babuino 181 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing