We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”
Review of Babuino 181

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Babuino 181
Ranked #26 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We only stayed one night (wish it was longer!! Intend to return) but the location, staff and hotel itself was top notch, very happy.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmfeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,049)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

837 - 843 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2011

Beds and pillows fabulous- something overlooked by many European hotels. Bathroom very roomy and clean with real wall mounted shower head. Since hotel is new, everything immaculate.

Service was very prompt with breakfast delivered to room both days within five minutes.

Location next to De Russie and Piazza Popolo fantastic.

Highly recommend for no compromise room comfort.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SFownes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I'll agree with most reviewers, although last reviewer couldn't be more precise, so I'll just summarize our stay:

1.LOCATION: Superb, posh area, no need for public transportation during our stay, close to very nice restaurants,many only walk distance.
2.ROOM: Very spacious and modern, comfortable. Great bead and linen. Some rooms might face the main street so I guess it will depend on your noise tolerance. We are quite sensitive but it didn't bother us at all.You don't need to pay the big $$$ for places like Hotel di Russie and you get great location, service and comfort.
3.BATHROOM: Great, renovated. Again, I'll agree with last reviewer, it was a challenge to put make up on and also bath tub and sink are a bit impractical.
4.SERVICE: Staff is so attentive, extremely helpful, very professional except for the guy who was on duty late in the evening. They tried to make everything possible for us. Managed to book a Michelin star restaurant after they didn't answer my previous emails. Italian connection, I assume.
5.BREAKFAST: The setting is a bit odd, although you have the option to have it delivered at your room. In our stay the fruit selection was okay, but it did miss a few items that you normally get for breakfast in another top hotels.

Bottom line: We would definitely recommend this place and stay again if go to Rome again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsTravelbug76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Location: On the luxury strip, next to the Santa Maria del Popolo. Between 2 train stations with nice restaurants nearby. We managed to walk from the colloseum to the hotel, covering all the sights in between with a stroller for our 3 year old.

Reception: We were greeted by a beautiful young lady at the reception, professional yet friendly. She immediately offered a 3 day recommended itinery suited for children when she saw our 3 year old. A shocker was when she offered us a mini laptop to tap into the hotel's free wifi. That made our stay and we were happy to overlook any problems we encountered later on.

Room: You won't find frescos here. Newly refurbished, room 304 is modern, spacious, delightfully scented and comfortable. Select magazines and travel books are thoughtfully placed in the room. Cable tv is available on a wide flat screen and our 3 year old woke up to Dora the explorer each morning. Speaking Italian.

The lighting is probably the best I've encountered in a hotel. A control panel for the entire room is accessible at various spots. Someone has clearly put in some thought.

Linen is heavily advertised on their website as they use Frette bedlinen, bathrobes and towels. Did it make a difference? We loved how absorbent the towels were but we slept just as well in hotels that used ordinary bedlinen.

The bathroom is cheery but it is here that we feel the hotel has missed something. 1) It is nearly impossible to put on make up given the distance of the mirror and lighting.
2) The glass door between the toilet and bathroom required some muscle to move it, perhaps a bit too heavy or requires oil at the tracks.
3) The bathtub was dangerously slippery. Given how deep it is, the shape of the tub makes it hard to get out.
4) The toilet seat did not fit!

Breakfast: Like the previous reviewers, we found the choice average to poor for a hotel that claims to be a luxury hotel. Pastries, good cappucinos, freshly squeezed orange juice and some fruit. Ham is available if you request it, but not much else.

When you request for breakfast to be served, it arrives in 15 minutes which is great but the person answering the call could be less brusque. The quality of fruits is also questionable because we got served a rotten apple. I was completely happy with the breakfast because all I eat is a crossaint, but I imagine an american would freak out.

Service: Room service is irregular. Sometimes they didn't give us any face towels, sometimes they gave us 4. Sometimes they would provide extra toiletries before they were finished, sometimes they would not replenish any even if they WERE finished. Sometimes they were extravagant in replacing the toilet roll when it was only a quarter used. Luxury should not be synonymous with wastage!

We could not use the armchair at all as it was constantly opened up into an extra bed for our 3 year old. Would have been nice if they only made the bed during turn down service. We asked for a turn down service, which turned out to be the same as normal room service, i.e. ensuring the bed was made.

Would have thought it meant removing all the unneccesary cushions on the bed, drawing the curtains, folding down a side of the duvet, maybe even a small chocolate or the next day's weather forecast. (Examples taken from our stay in Palazzo Sant'Angelo and Palazzo Magnani Feroni)

An email thanking you for the stay is sent after checking out and a link to post a review on tripadvisor is included, which is a good sign, proving they are confident about the experience guests share.

Overall, a lovely boutique hotel set in the midst of luxury shops and good restaurants such as Babette and Edy. There are more hits than misses in our opinion.

We could well stay again should we return to Rome.

Room Tip: Room 304 oversees via Babuino but can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fucheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

My husband and I booked a deluxe room at Babuino 181 for 4 nights in April 2011. We were really relieved to see our room after a very exhausting flight from NY. It was modern, clean and surprisingly spacious. The bathroom was especially large with a soaking tub, separate shower, and separate toilet area.

Trust me -- after walking around Rome all day and night, it was like heaven to come back to this room. The hotel also happens to be in the best location as we found it easy to walk to Vatican City and the Ruins/Colosseum. We actually did not need to take a taxi or any public transportation during our stay. We were able to walk to everything! Don't get me wrong...it's not exactly a short walk to these main attractions, but the walks were totally doable and made for great exercise.

It probably helped that our room was on the third floor and the windows shut pretty tightly so it kept out most of the noise at night from passersby (we faced the main street). Also note that the hotel doesn't have a restaurant or provide room service but this wasn't a huge deal as there are so many cafes the minute you step outside. We had breakfast and after-dinner drinks at the cafes in the Piazza di Popolo which is literally a couple blocks away from the hotel. So have a negroni or two (or three) and stumble back to the room :)

The concierge was super helpful and friendly. They actually advised us on the best way to get to our next destination on our Italy adventure and they went out of their way to reserve a rental car for us.

Bottom line: Great boutique hotel and I would totally stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyninjitsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

the location and service in this hotel was great. Even when i had a problem to login the WiFi front desk gave me free of charge laptop to use during my stay. Even better there is a travel agent just nest to the hotel where you can reserve train tickets when you travel to other cities in Italy. In room breakfast gave the stay more convenience and romantice feeling. However, i must admit, the street noise coming from the street is quite loud specially during weekends.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faisal_AlAbdulKarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

The hotel location is great, just a few blocks away from the main attractions in the city center.
The restaurant recommendations we got from the reception desk for lunch and dinner were great and the staff was very, very friendly.

The only thing that I disliked about the room (they're very spacious and comfortable) is that the windows give to a side street that has a bar and on Saturday night it stays open until 2am and it gets very noisy. Ask for a room that doesn't have a window to this side street.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spdmatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#22 of 1,272 in Rome
533 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,272 in Rome
260 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#31 of 1,272 in Rome
851 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Degli Artisti
Hotel Degli Artisti
#27 of 1,272 in Rome
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babuino 181? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babuino 181

Address: Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $185 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Babuino 181 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome’s most exclusive boutique hotel, on Rome’s most exclusive street. Babuino 181 is located in the best location in Rome, in the heart of the upscale Spanish Steps quarter. And every bit of it is as chic as its neighboring boutiques. Step between Rome’s top fashion designers, disappear through discreet glass doors… and enter another dimension of Italian boutique luxury. After a day of inspiration touring Rome’s sites, come back to your home in Rome. Sip a cocktail on the brand-new, rooftop terrace overlooking Rome’s beautiful streets. Soak in a spacious marble bath. Slide between Frette sheets. Rest in comfort—and with the confidence that, no matter what you need or what personalized service you require, Babuino 181’s professional staff can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Babuino 181 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babuino 181 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing