We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect location in the heart of Trastevere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Relais Casa della Fornarina
Ranked #994 of 3,644 Rome B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The perfect location in the heart of Trastevere”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Relais Casa Della Fornarina is a small b&b ihat is perfectly located in the heart of Trastevere. Our room was quite large by Rome standards. I was able to practice my Yoga routine without difficulty or bumping into anything. Everything worked perfectly, though we did not turn on the television. The espresso machine was a total delight. It made a great cup of Joe in the morning, Casa Della Fornarina is on a noisy little square with lots of pedestrian traffic. Our room was on the second floor opposite a cafe. Yet, once the windows were closed, all noise was left outside. We enjoyed exceptional quiet. Overall, we found Casa Della Fornarina to be an excellent value. Our only tiny complaint is that internet access was spotty. For such a small b&b, it should be easy to improve. Other than that, everything was perfect!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roganddrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    21
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
45
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We loved this B&B right in the middle of all cafés and bars in Trastevere.
Our room was large and spacious and also had a coffee machine which came in handy.
The reception is not always manned so be sure to advise them of your arrival times so someone is there to greet you.
As there is no dining area we were given vouchers for breakfast to a cafe up the road which was more than ample for us - an American breakfast with fruit, omelettes and coffee.
It is also within easy walking distances to all major attractions.
Would definitely come back and stay here again in Rome as we love to be close to the local eating places and attractions.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Relais Casa Della Fornarina is a small hotel with only 4 bedrooms. Located in and old building - supposedly the home of Rafael´s mistress La Fornarina - it is newly refurbished to a high standard. Our room was large and comfortable, and the bathroom was modern and well equipped. In spite of temporary problems one afternoon, the WIFI was very good and reasonably fast.
The reception is only open from around 9 a.m. until around 4 p.m., but there is a phone number which you can call if you need help outside office hours, and the staff were generally very helpful.
The hotel does not serve breakfast, but has an arrangement with 2 local bars where you can have breakfast, and we particularly recommend breakfast at Friends about a 5 minute walk from the hotel - nice coffee and fresh orange juice.
Relais Casa della Fornarina is well located in Trastevere only 5 minutes from Piazza Santa Maria, and the area is full of bars and very good restaurants. Campo di Fiori is only 5 minutes away across the river. All in all an excellent area with a lot of atmohsphere and picturesque buildings.
The only minor drawback is regular traffick outside the building which doesn't make it attractive to open the windows even in beautiful warm weather.
The price is very reasonable and competitive considering the area.
In conclusion, we warmly recommend a stay at Relais Casa della Fornarina.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fellini250693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Ok. If you want 5 star amenities, you're not going to get it here. But if you want a really nice room in the lovely Trastevere neighborhood that is still reasonably within walking distance of several major tourist attractions, then you will love this place. I loved walking this neighborhood every day and checking out the mom and pop shops and restaurants. And prices were seriously more reasonable than the tourist traps on the other side of the River where the main attractions are. Breakfast is included by way of a ticket you take to a local restaurant. Although there is no front desk, there is a small area where an attendant is available most of the day to address your needs. But most of the time you are on your own, with a key to an outside door, pass the area with a computer where the attendant may or may not be present, and up a narrow marble staircase to one of 3 available rooms above a restaurant. The computer is available for guests to use so I was able to print my boarding passes for departure. Although very independent, I always knew sweet Nicoletta would be there every morning if I needed anything. And she always inquired about my satisfaction with the room and breakfast. In the very comfortable room was a small refrigerator with drinks and snacks, and a little cup in the door for your honor system payment for what you take. And what a blessing to not be ripped off for these items. 1 euro for water, and 2 for a soft drink. Plus a cappuccino maker. It felt like I was staying at a relatives home while they worked instead of a hotel, but I loved every minute.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 766SusanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
287 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at the Relais Casa della Fornarina for three nights during the beginning of May. The room and the location was perfect. When we arrived the fridge didn't work but that was fixed immediately. We did know about breakfast (cofee, juice, croissant) were to be eaten at one of two bars nearby. The latteria was the most Italian experience. Friends were not so friendly ...
The room was cleaned perfectly every day.
The only thing I think was a bit "funny" thinking of the standard and the price was that there was a plant on the table in the room who definitively had seen its best days. It should have been replaced or removed during our stay.
Otherwise - perfect. And nice to be on your own.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karinmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel as we wanted to stay in Trastevere & this scored very highly on the booking engine we used.
I wasn't disappointed - big room and some very effective double glazing kept out the traffic noise.
Breakfast is provided courtesy of 2 nearby bars for which the hotel gives its guests little vouchers. Quite a good system.
The welcome was warm and the hotel generally is clean and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

So I booked last December for a one night stay in November 2012, I know it was almost a year early but I like to be organised and I got a email saying it was all confirmed. We arrived at 11am to be advised by the cleaner that we needed to come back at 2pm (but he let us keep our bags there which was good). We came back at 2:30pm (after being held in a cue at the Vatican), when we pressed the bell no one answered. We then phoned and was asked to come back between 4-4:30pm... we returned at 4pm on the dot and waited... the lady who runs it turned up at 4:30pm and let us in to the sitting area, to cut a long story short we waited for another half an hour as the lady attended to other guests and asked twice what our booking name was and how many nights. About 5pm we eventually get told she doesn't have our reservation and has no rooms left.
The only somewhat helpful part was that she phoned around to make enquiries to get us another hotel... by the time we got another reservation it was 5:30pm - given we only had one day in Rome and it was our last day of our honeymoon we were very disappointed (particularly that it took so long to be told they lost the booking and that it was so hard to check in).

I will never book a small hotel or B&B in a big city again, much more practical to go with a big hotel when you can check-in easily and get proper service. By all means to location of this accommodation seems very good and what we saw it was nice and clean (the sitting room...) but we would not recommend.

As a further note - we can't help but wonder if our 1 night booking was given up for someone with a longer booking (like to people who arrived while we were waiting to find another hotel)...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myboyfriendsanerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Trastevere
Domus Corsini
Domus Corsini
#771 of 3,644 in Rome
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
BDB Luxury Rooms Trastevere Torre
Trastevere
Casa Mia in Trastevere
Casa Mia in Trastevere
#307 of 3,644 in Rome
95 reviews
Trastevere
Tree Charme
Tree Charme
#474 of 3,644 in Rome
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Casa della Fornarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Casa della Fornarina

Property: Relais Casa della Fornarina
Address: Via di Porta Settimiana 7, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #994 of 3,644 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Casa della Fornarina 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Casa della Fornarina is located in the picturesque Trastevere district in the heart of ancient Rome in the middle of night life surrounded by restaurants wine bars and trendy clubs.The Relais offers a high-quality service immersed in a relaxed modern and bright habitat with quiet rooms totally redesigned and very well furnished equipped with bathroom and all the amenities which make your holiday in the Eternal City a unique and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Relais Casa della Fornarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Casa Della Fornarina Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing