We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis among busy Roman streets!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relais Casa della Fornarina
Ranked #862 of 3,752 Rome B&B and Inns
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An oasis among busy Roman streets!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We feel very safe walking around the neighborhood.The room was real comfortable and clean. Especially the bed!! We felt totally rested in the morning!! Sonia, the owner, was very helpful on providing useful information. Breakfast coupons were provided. We had our breakfast in a cafe' nearby so we get to see how Italians start their day! There are restaurants and bars right at the corner. Young people love to gather in the area at night to relax themselves. Also, there are a couple of stores, where sell fresh produce daily. It's rare to see markets around once get to to the center of Rome. I will recommand to anybody this little cosy inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liehhung C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    21
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
45
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

my sister found this small friendly hotel on the net what a find good location clean room lovely continental breakfast delivered to our room every morning small fridge in room and lovely owner who helped us plan our stay even helped us use the lap top avilable in the rec area and booked our limo back to the airport as the taxi driver on arrival ripped us off

Room Tip: we only had four days to explore the city so we read up quite a bit on the attractions so we had pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueflintshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This four room miracle is located in an old building right in the heart of crowded Trastevere. Rooms a spacious, elegant and well maintained, Sonia takes care of the customers, gives valuable hints - and takes the business seriously. In our case this meant welcoming us in the middle of the night, kindly advising in the use of web & printer, etc. We really enjoyed our stay there.

It's surprising to open the window in the morning and realize you are in the center of Trastevere. Amazing! - The only improvement would be the breakfast that now is served in a cafeteria couple of hundreds meters away. The breakfast is quite OK, but would be more comfortable in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PekeandPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My wife and I have visited Rome on a few previous occasions, but this time we wanted to stay in Trastevere. This quaint neighborhood on the west bank of the Tiber River was a perfect place to see some of the not-so-popular sights of Rome. We have done all the major ones, but now we wanted to see some smaller, lesser known churches and Roman ruins.

Our room was ready upon arrival. Even though the check-in times are short, you can just call Sonia and she will be more than happy to make arrangements for you. She is usually on site from 8a-2p everyday and is close by if you need help. With access to a free computer and printer downstairs, she was great. Her English is passable, but with the help of a google translator, anything is possible.

The rooms are ALL white, which is nice, but be prepared. The beds were comfortable and even though you are located by a few restaurants and cafes, it was quiet in the evening. Keep in mind this is not a hotel, more like an apartment or or pansion. So don't come here with expectations of a hotel. You will be very disappointed.

Place comes with free WiFi and is air conditioned. Had a big TV (who cares), and a little table to sit at. Mini-bar has reasonable prices too.

Lastly, the breakfast issue. Apparently, Sonia has changed breakfast. I do not know if this is temporary or permanent. However, instead of eating on site, you eat at Cafe Friends, just a 5 minute walk down the road. I did not mind it, as the people were great. You breakfast includes orange juice, coffee, and a croissant. If you want an American breakfast, it is a few Euros more. We never got this, but they did bring us a free crepe on our last day because we befriended the middle-aged waiter. My wife got tired of this, but I did not mind. I know there was another couple who asked Sonia, but she said it was not possible to eat there. Not sure why and I did not ask. Just an FYI.

All and all, I would stay here again. However, I think for the price of staying in Rome (as it is expensive in the summer), I may just rent an apartment. However, if this sounds like your place - go for it! It was well worth it and I would recommend it to all of my friends.

Food advice - Dar Poeta for pizza. Get the sausage pizza with no tomato sauce. Also Da Lucia, get there early or get a reservation. Both are within 5 minutes walking.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The perfect location, right in the heart of Trastevere, all the sights within walking distance. Although we were in a busy street the windows are double glazed and with the air conditioning we couldnt hear any noise from outside. The bed was extremely comfortable and the manageress, Sonia, is the kindest most helpful lady that we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Would definitely give this reasonably priced B&B the thumbs up and look forward to staying there again in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boomjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in Relais Casa Della Fornaria! The hotel is in the city centre of the cosy area Trastevere, it takes simply walking out of the door to be in the mid of bars and restaurants. The centrum of Rome is on walking distance as well. The rooms are cosy and spotlessly clean. Sonia is working hard to make sure your stay feels like holiday. She booked a personal driver for our arrival and departure from and to the airport and she helped us getting away in Rome. Every day breakfast in bed, if that does not feel like holiday? ;-)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanjaAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

sonia, who runs this delightful hotel couldn't have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble for her. The rooms are spotlessly clean, with a fridge and coffee maker.The hotel is in the heart of the Trastevere region, very handy for the numerous bars and restaurants. The quaint cobble streets have some lovely little craft shops and of course the numerous churches! I would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassieManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Tree Charme
Tree Charme
#564 of 3,752 in Rome
69 reviews
Trastevere
Palazzo Velli Suites
Palazzo Velli Suites
#134 of 1,087 in Rome
41 reviews
Trastevere
BDB Luxury Rooms Trastevere Torre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Domus Corsini
Domus Corsini
#792 of 3,752 in Rome
13 reviews
Trastevere
B&B Ventisei Scalini a Trastevere
Trastevere
Casa Mia in Trastevere
Casa Mia in Trastevere
#285 of 3,752 in Rome
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Casa della Fornarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Casa della Fornarina

Property: Relais Casa della Fornarina
Address: Via di Porta Settimiana 7, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #862 of 3,752 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Casa della Fornarina 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Casa della Fornarina is located in the picturesque Trastevere district in the heart of ancient Rome in the middle of night life surrounded by restaurants wine bars and trendy clubs.The Relais offers a high-quality service immersed in a relaxed modern and bright habitat with quiet rooms totally redesigned and very well furnished equipped with bathroom and all the amenities which make your holiday in the Eternal City a unique and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Relais Casa della Fornarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Casa Della Fornarina Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing