We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay food in Trastevere”
Review of Da Augusto

Da Augusto
Ranked #3,591 of 12,362 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $16 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch
Neighborhood: Trastevere
Berea, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Okay food in Trastevere”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We dined at Da Augusto for dinner while in Rome and was disappointed with our food. The menu is limited which I actually prefer when it comes to restaurants but with a limited menu everything must be superb. Unfortunately it was not. The sauces on our pasta were watery and the pasta extremely al dente. The Secondi were better than the pastas. We had the rabbit and lamb and enjoyed them both. Another that turned us off was that street vendors were walkign around selling junk to the diners. I don't want to be bothered while dining inside a restaurant with tacky light up items.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klabens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    450
    271
    159
    218
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Seriously over rated”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I came here with friends upon recommendation in several guide books and was extremely disappointed. Rigatoni was undercooked as in almost crunchy, food choices not explained (no menu) so we were rushed to make our food decisions, tomatoes in our Caprese salad not very ripe, and the house wine was poor, which was a first for me in Italy. I'm sure this place was great at one point, but they have lost there sense of providing the quality rustic dishes they became known for. They need to seriously pull up their socks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank franca32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just loved it! Truly italian, meaning loud, bad service and delicious al dente pasta! For those who expect service and overcooked pasta, please just stick to touristic restaurants or maybe just visit Olive Garden...

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaiaJacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I love this place”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Glancing at some of the other reviews, I see that some folks were disappointed with Da Augusto. It all depends on what you're looking for. Yes, the food is plain (but delicious!), the service is nothing special (although I've always found it efficient and friendly), and the pasta, while far from uncooked, IS al dente, so if you like your pasta soft, you may want to go somewhere else. Da Augusto is also very far from elegant, and if you're looking for a 21st-century bathroom, keep looking. But in my book--if you love Roman food, if you're in the mood for a leisurely lunch to be lingered over, especially outdoors on a warm spring or autumn afternoon, this is a great option. (I've never been here in the evening, so it might be completely different then.)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not worth the hype”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Came to the place following multiple recommendations, the place itself is very nice with a good vibe about it, but the food was very plain (we had ravioli, beef rolls, a soup and tiramisu).
The bottom line for us was that it's worth the money but not the line and the hype.

Helpful?
1 Thank scaram
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Da Augusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing