We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful family run restaurant with delicious food & very economical! A short walk to the Tiber & entertainment in Trastevere”
Review of Hostaria Luce

Hostaria Luce
Reserve with
Hostaria Luce is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #264 of 12,247 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Trastevere
Description: The restaurant at home. A stone's throw from the center, in Trastevere and precisely in Via della Luce 44, you can enjoy Mediterranean cuisine, creative and Roman tradition, fresh meat and fish arriving daily, pasta and delicious homemade desserts. Hostaria Light is a warm and cozy restaurant, where the love of cooking meets the spirit of hospitality.   The restaurant is decorated in a simple but elegant at the same time. It can accommodate up to 80 guests, is the perfect place to spend an evening in a pleasant and relaxed in the company of close friends.
Hot Springs, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful family run restaurant with delicious food & very economical! A short walk to the Tiber & entertainment in Trastevere”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a lovely evening in Hostia Luce without spending a fortune. Delicious food & very good service. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone who would like authentic Italian home cooking!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudyMagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    141
    29
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Eat Pray Love of Italy”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

When I watched Eat, Pray, Love, I wondered where in Rome I could eat that would evoke the same romantic, food loving feel. Our group happened upon Hostaria Luce quite randomly and they were able to quickly accommodate our party of 5 (including two children under the age of 2). There is a beautiful court yard where diners can enjoy the cool breeze of the early evening being serenaded by a wonderful guitar player and singer. The food was so good that we reordered two dishes, even though we were full. We just couldn't get enough. It is an absolute must for travellers to Rome.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I read a few blogs by Rome residents before I visited and came across this restaurant in one of the highly recommended neighborhoods Trastevere. We arrived pretty early as we were caught in the rain, and so were the only ones there. The service was excellent. The food was quite good, and has quite a local feel to it which I really like. No too fancy dish or too catered to tourists' taste. Just good Italian food. The owners were incredibly nice. At the end, they insisted that we try their wine and dessert (both of which were free of charge as they loved our story about how we found their restaurant). The food was not the best I had in Rome, though being pretty high up on the list. But really, the extraordinary service won us over.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank confused20s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
154 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch - motto bene!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We found this by accident whilst wandering and needed a place to rest. The buffet was delicious and varied, the service friendly and we spoke pigeon Italian and got by! 92 euros for 4 with wine and water.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank satisfied005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must place to eat”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Came across this restaurant whilst strolling and was pleasantly surprised. The owner was always buzzing around and made sure all was being taken care of. The goof was exceptional and he recommended wines that were spot on. It's a must for dinner when in Rome

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hostaria Luce also viewed

 

Been to Hostaria Luce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing