We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”
Review of Nana Vini e Cucina

Nana Vini e Cucina
Ranked #2,161 of 12,524 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Trevi
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Nana was just around the corner from our hotel and looked very pleasant and welcoming so when we wandered past one early afternoon it seemed like the perfect place to relax. We had delicious pizzas, clearly made freshly, with house wine and they were happy to provide plain penne and parmesan (our son's favourite meal). We sat out under a canopy and the arrangement of tables in a small square was a lovely relaxing setting to recover from sight seeing. We figured that we must have picked somewhere good as quite a few of those dining were Italian, both businessmen and a group of three older couples who all seemed to know the place well. The service was good, food delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LincolnshireLass2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    150
    53
    39
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quite disappointing”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I got the advise from a friend who has lived in Rome to go to Nanà's for dinner, as she said the food was excellent. However, we were quite disappointed when we came here and first couldn't get what we wanted: my brother wanted gnocchi, and the waiter informed us that it would take too long, and then the pasta we ordered was incredibly al dente... The service was ok, and the food as well, but not much more...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stumbled on this restaurant. The service was pretty bad, the waiter had an incredible attitude..but the food was good. We suffered then we were rewarded..what more could you want from a meal in Rome? The seafood pasta was delicious. The fish of the day was tender and tasty. The octopus was reasonable and tasted fresh. It's a good place for lunch because you can sit outside under a canopy and people watch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank artisanbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best food in Rome!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

After 4 days of lovely food all over Rome we stumbled across Nana Vini e Cucina on our last night and it was the perfect end to our holiday. the food was just incredible - the tomato, mozzarella and aubergine pasta was some of the best pasta I've ever eaten and the hot chocolate souffle was simply to die for. the great food was mirrored by excellent service - we had found generally the service to be a bit distant and not as attentive as at home but not here: when we arrived we were greeted with a geniune rather than a "we're poaching you" smile, there was not a free table outside so we were offered a complimentary glass of prosecco whilst we waited and at the table the waiters checked on us although it was obvious how much we were enjoying it! We also found it really well priced comparable to other places we had eaten and particularly considering the area (it was just up the road from the trevi fountain) although it must be said this was not a factor in us choosing to eat here it was just something we were pleasantly surprised about. I think the thing that drew us in was the lovely garden-esque area which surrounded the restaurant: it felt really private, it was lit by candlelight really romantic - we had high expectations and we certaintly were not disappointed - undoubtably the best food we ate in Rome! thank you :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alana-x007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal and service! Loved it!!!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We walked by last night on our way to see the Trevi fountain. The restaurant was busy, lively and the food looked good. On our way back from the fountain we dropped in and were welcomed warmly by the staff (not like some of the other pushy restaurants that just try to fill seats). As a table wasn't available at the time outside they had us wait inside at the bar and provided us with Prosecco while we waited. In about 5 minutes the table was ready and we sat down. We had a wonderful waitress who was sweet and friendly. I had the octopus salad to start and it was amazing! So fresh and tasty. The pizzas were wonderful as well. The rest of the staff are so friendly and nice it felt like you were eating at home (even as a tourist). We hope to go back again tonight for our last meal before we head home tomorrow. Loved it!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nana Vini e Cucina also viewed

 

Been to Nana Vini e Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing