We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly disappointing”
Review of Il Viaggio

Il Viaggio
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Il Viaggio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #597 of 12,268 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Near Villa Borghese and Piazza Fiume il Viaggio is gluten free and lactose intolerance restaurant Rome. Venue informed about gluten free menu by AIC (Italian gluten free association. Every dish of our menu can be prepared for celiac customers too.
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“Sadly disappointing”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We went with great expectations but were, unfortunately, disappointed. We informed our server that this meal would be our last in Italy, and a celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary. We were willing to pull out all the stops to have a truly memorable meal. Our server took no interest in making our meal special. We asked for suggestions and she merely referred us back to the menu. The food was sadly forgettable. On the positive side, we truly appreciated the ease with which we could order gluten-free dishes. But I would not wish to dine there again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lena b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    248
    68
    38
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great choice: super gluten free food and super helpful staff”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had a very enjoyable meal here a few weeks back during a family break to Rome.
We chose to book a meal here based on the very positive reviews and a need for one of our party to have a gluten fee meal. Right from our very enthusiastic and personal welcome through to our departure everything was just perfect. Traveling with a coeliac is often daunting but the staff put us at our ease from the start bringing out gluten free bread and bruschetta and ensuring that everything gluten free was easily identified on the plates. All of the food was very well prepared and everything that we had from the menu was delicious; the desserts were particularly so.
Overall, we could not fault II Vaiggio and we would soundly recommend a visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthYorkshireColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was a break from the usual Rome fare. We weren't sat outdoors, the decor was modern and different and the menu was surprising. My father in law had the fish (apologies I'm not sure which fish dish) and said it was the best he'd ever had!
The staff were polite and there were a number of locals in which speaks volumes. The portions weren't huge for Rome but it's a good idea to leave room for the tasty desserts!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good food and ambience”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Excellent, good value meal in a very pleasing modern ambience. It was full of Italians when I was there - always a good sign when the locals choose to eat in a restaurant as they want fantastic quality and a good price. Staff spoke good English and were helpful but not over-bearing. I will eat here again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oldbolter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Modern restaurant, good food”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Pleasant restaurant, swordfish of my daughter was excellent, my meat was ok, great desserts. Only tensely polite waitress was a bit annoying, other staff were very nice.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ondina_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Viaggio also viewed

 

Been to Il Viaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing