We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern restaurant, good food”
Review of Il Viaggio

Il Viaggio
Reserve with
Il Viaggio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #605 of 12,448 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $58
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Near Villa Borghese and Piazza Fiume il Viaggio is gluten free and lactose intolerance restaurant Rome. Venue informed about gluten free menu by AIC (Italian gluten free association. Every dish of our menu can be prepared for celiac customers too.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Modern restaurant, good food”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Pleasant restaurant, swordfish of my daughter was excellent, my meat was ok, great desserts. Only tensely polite waitress was a bit annoying, other staff were very nice.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ondina_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    253
    69
    38
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Priors Marston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Heaven!!!”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Searched Google for a gluten free restaurant and Il Viaggio came up just 1.3km away from Hotel Eden where we were staying. Went there for our silver wedding anniversary celebration and the food and service were fantastic. My wife is Gluten and Wheat intolerant and the staff were very attentive to the issue and made sure everything we chose was suitable. Homemade gluten free bread still warm and then starter and main course to die for!!!! with starter, main, wine it was only 65 Euros for two which is very good value for Rome and with the outstanding service and pleasant atmosphere it was one of the best meals of out stay in Rome. Many thanks and well done indeed!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent food & service and very good value”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This was our best eating experience on a short break in Rome. Recommended by our hotel which resulted in a discount from Il Viaggio. Did not book but went early evening (7.30). When we left the restaurant was quite full, mainly with locals, which is a good sign.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catterick
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Gluten Free food, but outstanding for all”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

My wife and one son are celiac sufferers (intollerance to gluten - wheat, barley etc) and we have been to this restaurant three times now as a family and with friends. The food has always been outstanding and it is great that all dishes on the menu are gluten free. Good service, clean lavatories too.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tweedsider09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Tradition and creativity”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

+Pasta alla amatriciana in two versions
+Entrecote

Dinner was offered, can't judge on value/price ratio

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank 471A_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Viaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing