We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rome excursion for 2 couples”

DriverinRome Transportation & Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$104.60*
and up
Private Tour: Pompeii and Positano Day Trip from Rome
Ranked #4 of 221 Transportation in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Driverinrome will take care of any request and make sure you have a great time in Italy!
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rome excursion for 2 couples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

After researching the many options, we chose Driver in Rome for our 1 day in Rome off of our cruise ship. We were picked up on time and the 4 of us got in the very comfortable Mercedes touring van.

Many people will say you can't do Rome in a day and we agree, but if you only have 1 day, let "Sammy" from Driver in Rome do his best to show and teach you as much about Rome in the time allotted. We saw so much of the city and "Sammy" had a wealth of knowledge to share. We had a feverish pace, but never felt rushed. You dictate the pace when you have a private tour. There is so much to take in, your head will be spinning. We definitely felt like we got our money's worth!! We highly recommend Driver in Rome!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrdriverinrome, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at DriverinRome Transportation & Tours, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Terry,
thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We couldn't be happier you enjoyed our services.

We greatly value your trust in our company, and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again next time you plan a trip.

Kind regards,
Driverinrome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    891
    12
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Great Tours! Tino's wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We only had 2 days in Rome and we were really glad we spent them with Driver in Rome. Our first day Big Luca took us on their Splendor in Rome tour which streamlined our visits to the Colosseum and Vatican City and provided easy transportation to various other guided sites. Our guide at the Vatican was super, too.
The second day we took the Castle Gandolfo tour with Tino and absolutely loved his commentary! We were treated so compassionately, and with seven 60-80 year-old women that couldn't have been easy for him. He lifted, lugged, and patiently waited for our slow moving entourage, and he got us right to our boat after the tour. We left Rome with a wonderful feeling for Italy!
We also really appreciated the help the booking staff gave us while arranging our tours. They were prompt and courteous via emails. We felt comfortable that our Roman holiday would be exceptional!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrdriverinrome, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at DriverinRome Transportation & Tours, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Terry,
thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We couldn't be happier you enjoyed our services.

We greatly value your trust in our company, and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again next time you plan a trip.

Kind regards,
Driverinrome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
1 review
“Thank you Big Luca !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We visited Rome for few days in August 2013 -We had the best day with Big Luca! In one day with him we accomplished so much. Big Luca is an excellent guide- very knowledgeable and attentive . We highly recommend him and we will not hesitate to request for his services next time in Rome. It was the best decision to book with this company and well spent money.
Sylvia and Dan - Bellevue, WA USA

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Silvia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrdriverinrome, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at DriverinRome Transportation & Tours, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Sylvia and Dan,
thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We couldn't be happier you enjoyed our services.

We greatly value your trust in our company, and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again next time you plan a trip.

Kind regards,
Driverinrome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Trip of a lifetime made better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I August, my wife and I took a 12 day cruise of the Mediterranean cruise with our two college age daughters. Being as we have never been to Europe and wanting to maximize our experience, we decided to take tours of the important ports. We looked at the "shore excursions" offered by the cruise line and decided, for a few Euros more, to take private tours on our own and what a wise choice that turned out to be! After researching the different companies based on reviews (and value) in Tripadvisor, we decided on Driver in Rome. Our first tour was Florence/Pisa. The morning of our arrival I was waiting for the girls to get ready so I went out on our common balcony to see the activities below. I watched as our fellow cruisers were herded onto buses for their generic day of sight seeing. I got my binoculars out and spotted Gianmarie, our driver, waiting for us (with a sign)to come off the ship. I got his attention and conveyed to him that we would be down shortly. We were soon escorted to our private Mercedes van and off we went to Pisa, our first destination. When we got there we discovered that our travel agent had booked our accent of the tower for 8:30am. This presented a problem as our tour wasn't scheduled to begin until 9am (not including the 50 minute drive between port and Pisa. Did I say there was a problem? No problem, thanks to Gianmarie who used a contact and some of his overflowing charm to escort us to the head of the line. I must say that exploring The Tower of Pisa was a highlite and worth every Euro. Make sure you book your tickets online or you will never get in. Next, on to Florence where we started at an elevated area outside the city walls to plot our attack. John, as we called him, pointed out the important points we would visit and then took us down to the city. One of the things I remember most is the Galleria dell 'Accademia which houses the original statue of David. It is every bit as impressive as the one in Ceasars Palace in Las Vegas. Once again, John whisked us to the head of the line. After that he took us to a remarkable lunch in a locals place that we would never have found on our own and we had an amazing lunch at a very reasonable price. Next, he drove us around for some photo ops of some ancient attractions and then took us to our final destination of the day, a private wine tasting at San Michele a Torri estate. We had sprung on him early in the day that we were wine enthusiasts and would be interested in sampling some of the legendary Tuscan wines if time permitted. He must have made a phone call somewhere along the line because we were treated to a private tour and tasting of this magnificent estate. It is owned by a wealthy businessman who likes to be spoiled when he manages to break away for some time at his estate. In addition to the wines we tried Laudemio olive oil (look it up) with bread made from flour grown right there, Lardo and Prosiuitto (the best I've ever had. Period!) raised there,cheese and olives. We bought what we could get through Customs. We were safely back in port ahead of the unwashed masses. As a parting gift, John told us about a restaurant called Costantino in Positano and assured us that we would think of him while we were there. He was absolutely correct. But first, on to Rome. Seperate reviews to follow. TIP YOUR DRIVER!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrdriverinrome, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at DriverinRome Transportation & Tours, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Kevin,
thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We couldn't be happier you enjoyed our services.

We greatly value your trust in our company, and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again next time you plan a trip.

Kind regards,
Driverinrome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Thanks GianMarco - great day in Pompeii”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We just had the best day with our driver, GianMarco. He picked us up at the train station and drove us straight to Pompeii. What a relief when he handed us off to the Pompeii guide, Barbara. Another wonderful guide. Both of them know so much of the area. Their English is suberb. GianMarco had cold water for us and took us to a lovely cafe before the tour. This was the best decision we had when we booked with this company. Outstanding service. GianMarco rocks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrdriverinrome, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at DriverinRome Transportation & Tours, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Diane,
thank you for your kind words. We couldn't be happier you enjoyed our services.

We greatly value your trust in our company, and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again next time you plan a trip.

Best regards,
Oana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DriverinRome Transportation & Tours also viewed

 

Been to DriverinRome Transportation & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing