We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best money spent in Rome”

DriverinRome Transportation & Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$130.41*
and up
Livorno Shore Excursion: Pisa and Florence in One Day Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$112.47*
and up
Civitavecchia Shore Excursion: Splendor of Rome Tour
More Info
$112.92*
and up
Private Tour: Pompeii and Positano Day Trip from Rome
Ranked #4 of 260 Transportation in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Driverinrome will take care of any request and make sure you have a great time in Italy!
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The answer to Rome in a day. Our group of 5 women ranged in age from 25-75, from first-time to fifth-time visitors. Monia was prompt and helpful in arranging a tour to meet our needs, and it surpassed our desires. Roberto, our guide, was outstanding. We were able to visit all of our "must-sees" and a few surprises for those of us who had been there before.
Roberto went above and beyond to accommodate us, from our airport pickup to drop off at Civitavecchia port. Personable, knowledgeable, humorous, with great English!
We rarely do tours or private guides, but this was money VERY well spent. Don't hesitate!

Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrdriverinrome, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at DriverinRome Transportation & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Sarah,
thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We couldn't be happier you enjoyed our services. That is our greatest reward!! I have forwarded your message to Roberto and he told me it was a real pleasure to spend the day with you.

We look forward to hearing from you next time you come to Italy.
Best wishes,
Oana
on behalf of driverinrome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (999)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 718 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We escorted a group of 19 people and used DiR for 3 tours during our cruise: Florence/Pisa with Stefania, Rome with Daniella and Naples (Pompeii, Sorrento & Positano) with Andrea. All of our guides were knowledgeable, personable and above all: FUN! DiR tailors the tour to fit your requests and they genuinely seem to love the cities in which they conduct the tours. They pass that enthusiasm on to their clients making for an enjoyable time for all ages.
I highly recommend Driver in Rome and will continue to use them, not only for personal trips but for my cruise clients in the Med.

Thank Sandi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrdriverinrome, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at DriverinRome Transportation & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Sandy,

thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We couldn't be happier you enjoyed our services and grateful for offering to recommend us to your clients.

Looking forward to hearing from you!
Best wishes,
Oana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

When our friends suggested using a tour guide instead of traveling on our own, I was doubtful. We had been to Rome before, but since we were on a cruise and the port was far away, we agreed. We were so happy we did. Roberto, our guide, was waiting for us at the port on our arrival. The minivan was tall and roomy. It was just us four, no one else. The van even had WiFi! Roberto, an ex-diplomat, was a pleasure...knowledgeable, educated, and very charming. He told us where he was going to take us in order to make the most of our day in Rome. He had tickets for us for the Coleseum so we didn't have to make the enormous line. He gave us historical information on what we were seeing as he drove us around. He suggested a fantastic pizza place for a quick bite so as to not waste time. Then Roberto had a guide for us waiting at the Vatican, again which saved us the wait of at least an hour. There were just so many visitors that we would never have gotten in. At the end of our day, the main office called to make sure we were satisfied. We were very pleased with the service and recommend it highly. Thank you, Roberto! Hope to see you again.

1  Thank mommytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrdriverinrome, Responsabile reception at DriverinRome Transportation & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We couldn't be happier you enjoyed our services. That is our greatest reward! I have forwarded your letter to Roberto and he is sending his best wishes and hopes to see you again next time you come to Italy.

Until next time.. Ciao,
Oana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

During our cruise in the Mediterranean we decided to take two land excursions which were booked through driverinrome rather than booking through the ship. One was the Amalfi coast and the other was Rome. we used driverinrome because it ws highly recommended by a good friend. Our guides were Stefania for the Amalfi Coast and Enrico for the Rome tour.

At both ports Stefania and Enrico were on time to pick us up and easy to find. They were both excellent guides and very informative. They satisfied our every need in the short time we had at each location. They dropped us off for walks and told us what time they would pick us up and were always on time. They also gave us great suggestions where to stop and have lunch. They took us to restaurants that were very reasonably priced.

I would highly recommend the use of driverinrome for any land excursions in Italy. In matter of fact two couples that are friends of mine are going to Italy and will be using this company, at my suggestion for their land tours.

Thank Osvaldo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrdriverinrome, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at DriverinRome Transportation & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Osvaldo,
thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We couldn't be happier you enjoyed our services and hope next the you come to Italy you will contact us again.
Best wishes,
Oana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was the 2nd time we have used DiR and this was even better than the 1st time! Four years ago we had DiR pick 16 of us up at the cruise port and give us the "Splendor in Rome" tour. We loved it so much we have referred friends and clients ever since.

This time we had them pick us up at the airport - ten of us arriving at various times. All of us found them to be very convenient, prompt, friendly, and professional. On the way from the airport to the hotel, we asked Remo to recommend a place for dinner. He offered to pick all of us up (two different hotels) and take us to his friend's restaurant "where the locals eat". I can't recall the name of the place but the food was terrific. We ordered family style; had several courses - antipasto, pasta (many types and sauces) the main course, and dessert. All along the wine was flowing. We all ate more than we should have. Then the bill came. 50 Euro a couple! we all expected and would have happily paid much more.

During and after dinner Remo regaled us with magic and his accordion/squeezebox! Then he gave us an impromptu tour of Rome on the way back to our hotels. We saw the Coliseum at night, several fountains, and more.

The following day we once again chose the "Splendor in Rome" tour as my wife and I were the only repeat customers. We again had Remo as our tour guide, host, and entertainer. He knew all of the shortcuts and ways to skip the line as we saw many, many of Rome's best sights. More info here: http://driverinrome.com/rome-private-guided-tour-in-limo-1.html

I cannot say enough how happy we were with Remo and DriverInRome.com. I can't imagine a better experience!

Thank BigDaddy34695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrdriverinrome, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at DriverinRome Transportation & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We couldn't be happier you enjoyed our services. That is our greatest reward! Remo has asked me to send you his best wishes and would love to have you over at his B&B next time you come to Italy.

Until next time.. Ciao,
Oana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DriverinRome Transportation & Tours also viewed

 

Been to DriverinRome Transportation & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing