We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Stay”
Review of A View of Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A View of Rome
Ranked #20 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kings Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Again Tripadvisor did not let us down - we could not have been happier with our stay at 'A View of Rome'.
We booked the triple room for 5 nights in January as my husband and I were travelling with our daughter and prefer to be together. The bedding is a little tight but it works.
When I first booked we were unable to secure the triple room at 'A view of Rome' and instead booked for another of their apartments. I asked Simona if we could be on standby in case of a cancellation and luckily for us that came about. As the name suggests the view is well worth it.
The room is spotlessly clean with excellent daily service and second daily towel replacement.
Breakfast is more than adequate and very fresh with adequate choices, the best part was chatting with either Daniele or Fillipo over breakfast each morning and all the fantastic advise they were able to provide.
The B&B position is great close to tourist buses and the Metro and walking distance to some major sites as well (including the Vatican City/Sistine Chapel/St. Peter's Basilica).
There are plenty of amazing close bye restaurants as well as shopping and a launderette (we used the Launderette once and our clothes were well washed & dried at a reasonable price).
Daniele and Filippo were simply amazing providing us with all the advise and direction you could ever want as well as bookings if required (especially helpful when you don't speak adequate Italian).
Don't forget to give them at least 2 weeks notice if you want an audience with the Pope (we were unable to manage same as we were not in Rome on a Wednesday!) the other recommended pre booking we were thankful for was the Borghese Gallery (which we thoroughly enjoyed - on our arrival to the gallery we were able to book a guided tour and found this very worth while!).
Free WiFi is adequate and very helpful as a tourist.
On a side note we were travelling with masses of luggage (as our daughter was on her way home from a gap year in London) so for our departure Daniele negotiated and booked a private van to the airport for only 60 euro; Also as our departure flight was 2030 Daniele kindly offered to hold our luggage for the day so we were able to get about easily until our departure.
Honestly the staff are all fantastic and what really make this choice of accommodation stand out from any other (regardless of stars or rating).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SVP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    56
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
206
456
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Daniele gave us extremely clear and concise directions from Termini to get to the apartment. We were met at the front door and shown to our apartment, #1. We were very pleased with it. As other reviewers have said, it is across the road from the Vatican walls, in a beautiful, solid old building. The furnishings of the room were simple, clean and elegant.

We were delighted with the soundproofing - you would have no idea you were in the middle of the hustle & bustle of Rome! It was fantastic!

We took Filipo's recommendation for dinner the first night and he also told us the whereabouts of a laundromat - where you can drop off you laundry & have it washed & dried for a very reasonable amount. We did this on our 2nd day.

I can highly recommended A Touch of Rome.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had a great time,we were there with our two sons..ages 19 and 14.
We had the family suite..2 rooms connected to each other..a rare find in Italy.
Awesome personal service,better than a five star hotal.
Would stay there any time !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnHouston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The location is superb. We were treated like family. Danielle and Livio were extremely helpful with recommendations regarding transportation throughout the city. The owners are genuine and make you feel welcome as soon as you arrive. They go out of their way to accomodate guests. We stayed at A View of Rome from December 27 through January 4. The Metro stop is just a few blocks away. This made traversing the city very easy. I recommend availing yourself of the transport service from and to the ariport, offered by the establishment.

Room Tip: Request rooms facing the Vatican for a spectacular view from your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I booked the bunk room online and was pleasantly surprised by both the room and the excellent services. Livio was extremely helpful, he provided maps, suggestions about places to visit and an excellent tip about the SitBusShuttle to the airport. The room was clean, quiet, nice bed linens, and there was plenty of storage. I did not opt for the breakfast so I can't comment. The location is fabulous, right across the street from Vatican City, easy access to transit, and many restaurants, stores and markets all right outside your door. If you are looking for good value this is a great choice. I would stay here again. Thanks Livio!

Room Tip: The bunk bed room may not be suitable for all travellers, there are other rooms to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Ten days before checkin while in Prague we got an email from A View of Rome asking at what time we expected to arrive in Rome. We replied by stating the Frecciargento Venice-Rome railroad schedule. On arrival by taxi from Roma Termini my wife and I were greeted on the street by someone who called us by name. Quite a surprise since we knew no one in Rome, but Filippo supervised the taxi driver so we were not asked to overpay, took our luggage and escorted us to the B&B on the 6th floor. The elevator, a 60 year old oldtimer with a split wooden door was the quietest elevator I remember (later I found out it was serviced several times a week).

Once inside Filippo showed us our room and the amenities, he also gave us the keys to the street door, to the B&B and to our room and a map with places to visit and provided helpful tips about where to have dinner. Since on this day Italy experienced a general strike -and no one knew what was going to happen the next day- Filippo advised us to avoid the city center the following morning, suggesting instead a visit to Trastevere.

We were stunned by the sight from our window (St. Peter's dome could almost be touched) even before unpacking and getting some rest assured by a very silent A/C. Later on, we strolled to Piazza San Pietro which, after all, was our main reason for being in Rome.

On the following days the owners Daniele and Livio, as well as Simona, Filippo and Lourdes made us feel as if we were visiting old friends in Rome. The breakfast they served was like at home although some days we skipped it in order to have a walk before breakfast.

They helped us in planning our visits and Simona volunteered to arrange for admissions for the General Audience with Pope Francis, they helped us with anything we told them about our plans. Since due to arthrosis I walk with a cane they even figured this in.

I cannot think of anything better than A View of Rome. In other cities we had stayed at hotels with more stars and a concierge who always had a "you-better-do-as-I-tell-you-because-I-know-much-more-than-you" attitude, but during our week here we could freely discuss our needs and instead of being prompted to hire the most exclusive and expensive service Daniele, Livio, Simona and Filippo provided solutions to make us feel like locals.

One day I forgot the room key in the room. Daniele and Livio had given us their cell phone numbers as well as their private email, but my phone was not set up for roaming. We told the building janitor who managed to get us smiling Filippo in no time at all..

For Catholics the location is the very best, for others, well, just downstairs is a taxi stop, and crossing the street there are bus stops which take you almost anywhere. If you are on a budget and need to go to the other end of Rome, the metro station Ottaviano is just four blocks away.

A day before checkout Daniele volunteered to hire airport transportation for us instead of just hailing a taxi, for a fixed fee of 50 Euros we got an air conditioned Mercedes which drove us to Leonardo da Vinci (Fiumicino) airport. Daniele took our luggage to the car, and as we said goodbye we felt like saying goodbye to an old friend.

We both would very certainly recommend A View of Rome to anyone who asks us. If some day we come back to Rome we most certainly will be staying here but we would book directly instead (not through an OTA, an online traveling agency) thus avoiding the rather steep commission Daniele and Livio would need to pay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rolando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

What an amazing place! After 24 hours of travelling to get to Rome, we were welcomed by the friendly and genuine staff at this B&B, and served a typical Italian breakfast - just what we needed. The staff were super friendly, and provided us with some excellent dinner recommendations which made our stay in Rome even more enjoyable. This B&B also went above and beyond to accommodate one of our friends who was a last minute addition to our booking. We expected a view, but this completely outdid our expectations- we couldn't stop looking out the window whenever we were in our room!! The rooms were clean and well maintained, and the location of the B&B was only minutes away from the Vatican, very close to the metro and the bus stop. We could also walk anywhere we needed. Would definitely recommend. Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WooandHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#35 of 1,256 in Rome
719 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,256 in Rome
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanella3
#8 of 3,643 in Rome
369 reviews
Prati
La Cupola del Vaticano
La Cupola del Vaticano
#34 of 3,643 in Rome
293 reviews
Prati
QuodLibet
QuodLibet
#4 of 3,643 in Rome
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A View of Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A View of Rome

Property: A View of Rome
Address: Piazza del Risorgimento 14 | Scala A Floor 6, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — A View of Rome 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the sixth floor of a splendid 18th century palace,located very close to St. Peters Basilica, the Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel The B&B A View Of Rome is also within easy walking distance to Castel Sant' Angelo, Piazza Navona, Piazza di Spagna and the Pantheon. Perfect for people who want to enjoy the beauties of the Eternal City from a central Rome location. From the enviable position of the B&B A View Of Rome you can admire the unforgettable views over one of the most evocative cities in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your A View of Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a View Of Rome Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing