We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like going to a friends home!”
Review of A View of Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A View of Rome
Ranked #18 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

A View Of Rome is truly a great place to stay. All of the personal touches, the fantastic room, and a great view make this a truly amazing place. The proximity to all of the attractions is great. You are 5mins away from the Vatican, shopping is right down the street, and great restaurants are everywhere.

Arrival: I recommend utilizing the transfer service they offer you especially if you are not a seasoned traveler. We took a Taxi there which was fine for us due to the fact we booked this 2 days before we arrived. We were in touch with Daniele, Livio, and Simona for a month before we came but due to my work schedule I had to book last minute. That being said flight crews: they will work with you on accommodation. They understood that we fly standby! Of course this was due to the slow season of the year and you cannot always book like this but it worked great for us! This is not like a hotel!! You can ask them many questions or concerns by email before you come! They also send you information on how to obtain tickets to different attractions and tours.
Filipo greeted us when we arrived (great guy!) gave us something to drink and sat down and mapped out our day. He also gave us recommendations to a restaurant to try our first night (Da Vito e Dina) which was awesome so awesome that we went there again on our last night! The house wine is great! Not anything like the house wine we get in the states!

Room: Our room was spacious and clean!!! Loved how clean it was!! I stay in hotels all the time and really appreciate a place that you feel comfortable in. Loved the wood flooring and the view was amazing! I could lie in bed at night and look at the top of the Vatican. The rooms do have Sky T.V so you can watch something in English! I like to watch T.V before bed so this was a plus for me. My bed was made every day when we came back from sightseeing which is truly a personal touch. There is a safe in your room and plenty of electrical outlets. Don’t forget to make sure your electronics are compatible with their high voltage electricity! The rooms are a great size and we had plenty of room for everything we brought and then some.

Breakfast: I loved the croissants (traditional Roman breakfast). So much different than the ones we get in the states. I mean, these are truly delicious! If you want they can make you eggs and toast which my husband and I both enjoyed very much. The coffee or espresso whichever you prefer is great! My husband and I both enjoy our conversations in the morning learning about Roman life and planning our day.

Location: The B&B is close to the Vatican and major shopping. A lot of places we went to were cash only. There is a bank about a block away so you can use your ATM card there. Using the ATM is the best way to get the exact exchange rate. Do not be fooled by going to Travelex or an ATM across from the Vatican wall. They charge a huge fee! Only go to a bank!
We walked everywhere but the bus and metro are close. The metro is a few blocks but the city is making a stop right outside the B&B. The bus is right across the street and seemed very easy to use. But if you walk you see so much more! We stopped into small shops and had wine along the way. You couldn’t do this on a bus. Go off to the side streets that look like alleys but cars do go on them. This is where you can get a cheap lunch. Almost everyday on our strolls we would go to one of these places and get a piece of pizza for 2euro each and it was always fantastic! I would suggest taking them to go that way you can eat cheaply for lunch and splurge on dinner!
I felt extremely safe in Rome. We walked home every night in the dark and never felt unsafe once.

Departure: We used the car service to get back to the airport (FCO) and he arrived on time if not early which is extremely important! Daniele and Livio met us for our departure at 7am even though they normally do not come in until 7:30am. They made sure we had a good breakfast and gave us some more of those amazing croissants to take on our 10hour flight back home.
This is the personalized service that a hotel would never do for you! You would never get constant attention, knowledge of places to go, or people that actually care about you and your stay! I would recommend A View of Rome over and over again. Please go and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank abankerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 889 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

A brilliant B and B. Central location,clean and quiet. The key to this B and B is the great advice offered by staff such as Filipo. This advice guided our touring,eating and transfers and proved to be valuable. No hesitation is recommending this establishment.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SWatshenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

When you book into "A Touch of Rome" you get a huge comfy bed, individual beds for the teenagers who don't want to share a double, a spotlessly clean, recently renovated room and a fantastic central location, but the best part of this terrific new addition to the B&B/Hotel options in the centre of Rome is the people, their service and the price. Daniele, Lourdes and Simona were terrific from the very first email (and the ten plus emails in between with questions they always answered happily and very quickly) to the last wave goodbye as we drove off in the cab they arranged to ensure we got to the airport without any stress.

We were given great advice about what to see and do with our 3 nights/4 days in Rome, provided with maps and the best way to get around, advice about where the locals go for lovely pastries or a cheap delicious lunch, a beer and many great tips about which tourist "must sees" to include in each day out.

We were two families (both with 2 teenagers aged 13 and 16), Rome was our final stop in a busy 4 week trip from Australia, we felt incredibly welcome and well looked after with this dynamic young team. Whenever we needed them the staff were there and ready to help, the apartments are staffed from early each morning until mid afternoon, they are on call 24/7 and always available by email or phone and respond immediately to any queries.

Rome was exciting, colourful and offered so much more than we expected, it was all incredibly accessible from our apartment. The neighbourhood felt completely safe at all hours, we were often out walking at night.

Only downside - the breakfast cafe just across the road where guests of "A Touch of Rome" are offered a deal for breakfast was not good. Miserable, rude waitress and equally miserable food. When we told Daniele that it had been disappointing he was surprised and intended to look into it and then told us where we could find some delicious pastries in a tiny local patisserie around the corner which was incredibly cheap and the pastries delicious.

As I look back on our holiday I can't imagine how much less enjoyable it would have been if we'd booked impersonal hotel rooms, we really discovered the best of travel thanks to the people we were lucky enough to stay with in almost every town or city we visited, including "A Touch of Rome". Sharing a city with young locals who are passionate about their tourism business is a real joy and a great experience for our teenage kids.

We spent hours wondering if travelling to Italy in winter was a bad idea, it was magical and we'd do it again. It was cold but not unpleasant or uncomfortable, everywhere we went the streets were lined with Christmas lights and trees, there were never any crowds or queues, we had many days with clear blue skies, the kids skated at an outdoor rink in Rome and we bought lots of great scarves. The tourism providers were genuinely pleased we were there. We still can't believe we stumbled across "A Touch of Rome", we'd recommend it without any hesitation (even in the middle of winter) for families or anyone wanting a super clean, comfortable, centrally located and friendly home in Rome at a terrific price.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are both big enough for a family of four (as long as you don't plan to spend all d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wheretonextyear10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Fantastic location, a wonderful view of St Peter's Basilica, 5 minutes walk to St Peter's and the Vatican Museum. Was incredibly hot when we were there, but great air conditioning, and excellent sound-proofing from street noise. Our hosts spoke excellent English, were most obliging with additional information, maps, recommendations, bookings etc. Breakfast was great to set us up for the day, and excellent recommendations for nearby local restaurants. For seeing the sights, we mostly walked but when travelling further afield, we caught the bus with one of the main hubs just across the street. We booked "View of Rome" based on Trip Advisor's Excellent Reviews, so our expectations were pretty high, and we were not disappointed at all. A great way to start our trip in Italy. Thank you Daniele and Livio, we look forward to seeing you in New Zealand some time soon! When we return to Rome, we will definitely pay you another visit!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrederickDagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We liked everything about the hotel: the views, the location, the breakfast but above everything, what we really appreciate is the friendliness, helpfulness and hospitalitly of Daniele.
I really recommend it for couples, families, friends. We were a couple with two big kids and they loved it. Daniele, they want to go come every year to your hotel!!!
Thanks for everything
Bea & Agustin

Room Tip: I highly recommend the room with San Pedro's dome view. It has one double bed and one single bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beix28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Unlike our usual "planned to death" trips, this trip to Rome was very hardly planned - I think the only thing we researched about was our accommodation and I'm glad we picked A View of Rome as our base. We had 7 days in the capital over the Christmas holidays and I was nervous that we wouldn't be able to maximize the experience. But our hosts were so knowledgeable and helpful, I think we managed to fully maximize the experience.

First of all - the location. I was alittle nervous about being located next to the Vatican, given that everything else was clustered away from that section of the city. And as the cab from the train station wound through Rome, I was sure we made the wrong choice. But when we arrived, we found that the subway was just 200m away, and there were two main roads that linked the B&B directly to the Spanish Steps, the Trevi Fountains etc - all can be accomplished with a slow walk (which was great in the cool temperatures of winter) of an hour to get you all the way to the Colosseum (which we attempted on our first day to orientate ourselves). That is, if you don't get sidetracked by shops, food, and other attractions. The roads link the shopping districts and of course the designer lanes near the Spanish Steps - so, those have to be on a separate itinerary altogether.

Daniele was unable to meet us, but sent David, his brother to greet us instead. Our room was clean, functional, but huge (with the view, as promised). We were given a demonstration on how to work the TV to get the English channels (after 1 week of being deprived, it was godsend), and then wifi passwords etc. Its like a mini orientation around our new place to make sure we didn't need anything else. An easy to read map was whipped out and directions we were given tips on how to get to various places, where we should go and more importantly, some places to eat without getting caught in a tourist trap.

This was repeated every morning, during breakfast, which was immensely helpful, because without much planning, we could build a full itinerary as we went along. After the first day, Livio took care of us - preparing breakfast, coffee, frying eggs etc. We are usually quite reserved, but he was so engaging and sincerely interested in our plans, that we took our time with the meal to chat and find out more about the city. His food recommendations were also spot on - it was also amazing that there were so many restaurants around the area that were so good and not touristy. Prices were reasonable and service was great. Some of the two most memorable ones were Ragno D'oro (the golden spider) and Vito e Dina. We had reservations at Vito e Dina for Christmas eve made by the hosts so that we wouldn't be wandering starving in the streets or getting conned into "Christmas menus" - it was nice being in a family restaurant and shared the celebratory atmosphere with other local families having their dinner.

We also found that these morning "chats" were important as we went over Christmas and needed to know when attractions were closed and what else we could do during the holiday. We planned our days around the information, which were all up to date and accurate and didn't get disappointed in any way during the trip.

A tiny glitch was that something went wrong with the wifi router on our second day and had weak internet but we were given a solution very quickly once we informed Livio of the problem. By the next day - problem solved.

All we can say is that Rome would have been tough to navigate without Livio's help, and it was so nice and assuring to go back and know that you are taken care of after a long day out in the city battling the crowds and vendors. With a combination of location, great service and nice rooms, this B&B is an excellent choice for travellers. Bravo to this little B&B who has taken hospitality to a different level.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mosee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent 4 wonderful nights at this fantastic little place. Daniele and Livio provided us with a wealth of information to assist us in our travels around Rome. The room, as promised, had the most beautiful view of St Peter's and was very clean and comfortable. The location was particularly convenient for visiting The Vatican Museum and many attractions. The Metro was just a few blocks around the corner and there was an abundance of fine restaurants around. We used the very efficient pick up service from the airport and Daniele met us just near the B and B. He was courteous and helpful, providing us with vital tips. He also made a lovely breakfast for us each morning. We would highly recommend 'A View of Rome' and would happily return there, should we be lucky enough to come back to beautiful Rome!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McKinnon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#41 of 1,271 in Rome
767 reviews
Gianicolense
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
#1 of 3,734 in Rome
478 reviews
Testaccio
Althea Inn Roof Terrace
Althea Inn Roof Terrace
#9 of 3,734 in Rome
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast
Prati
A Peace of Rome
A Peace of Rome
#57 of 3,734 in Rome
680 reviews
Prati
Castel Sant'Angelo Inn
Castel Sant'Angelo Inn
#13 of 3,734 in Rome
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A View of Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A View of Rome

Address: Piazza del Risorgimento 14 | Scala A Floor 6, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $65 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — A View of Rome 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the sixth floor of a splendid 18th century palace,located very close to St. Peters Basilica, the Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel The B&B A View Of Rome is also within easy walking distance to Castel Sant' Angelo, Piazza Navona, Piazza di Spagna and the Pantheon. Perfect for people who want to enjoy the beauties of the Eternal City from a central Rome location. From the enviable position of the B&B A View Of Rome you can admire the unforgettable views over one of the most evocative cities in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your A View of Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a View Of Rome Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing