We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful”
Review of A View of Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A View of Rome
Ranked #20 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Thanks to Daniela, Livio and David for making us feel comfortable and giving great advice regarding times to visit the Vatican and other sites. The room was neat, well fitted with an amazing view. We felt comfortable leaving the bulk of our luggage there, going on an overnight trip to Venice. You guys deserve to be number one!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N_CB218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    56
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
209
458
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Rome can be a bewildering city in terms of choosing accommodation. Where to stay? near the Colosseum? near St Peter's? somewhere in the middle? This small B&B, located really close to St Peter's - so much so that you can see it from your window - and within almost spitting distance of the Vatican was just right for us location wise. Close to the metro Ottaviano stop, buses and trams available just outside your apartment door - how much better location can you get?
It is on the 6th floor of an apartment block (there is an old fashioned lift that works suprisingly well but is small so pack light!) situated on a very busy and noisy Piazza on the other side of which you could see the walls of Vatican City.
The B&B is very good value for money considering its excellent location. The owners we met (there are a few of them), Daniele and Livio worked hard to ensure we had a great experience at both the B&B and in Rome generally. They really genuinely seem to love the city and it shows. We saw most of Livio who was extremely helpful at all times, and very interesting to talk to. Breakfasts were more than adequate, and they will cook eggs for you if you like - or get you the type of croissants you prefer, or the fruit you are craving - they make a point of going out of their way for you.
The only reason I am not giving this B&B an excellent rating which I would love to because the owners were so great to us, but really because the facilities were not quite up to a 5 star rating in my humble opinion. The beds were not very comfortable, (we had twin beds for my daughter and I) and were too narrow - (and I'm relatively slim), so narrow in fact that I nearly fell out of bed one morning! The pillows were far too soft as well. The shower pressure when someone else was showering, which happened every morning but one, fell away to nothing so washing one's hair was a bit of an issue when that occurred. The room was also very noisy with the windows open because of the noise from the Piazza, one downside of staying here, and this was so even at 4 in the morning!! So we could not keep the windows open as I would have liked to get fresh air, and closing them made the room a bit stuffy and humid so we had to put the aircon on which from an environmental viewpoint I would have preferred not to have had to keep doing.
The owners do not reside on site, so there is noone there after around 11am or so, but they made it clear to us that are happy to take calls from you if you need to contact them as we did, and are about as helpful as they can be.
So, I must say to sum up that, all in all, this is a good place to stay, well located at a sensible price with excellent hosts who take a real interest in you and I would definitely recommend it.
As a small aside, just beware of using the local laundrette to wash clothes. We were badly ripped off there. And take restaurant recommedations from Daniele with a pinch of salt - we actually had the worst meal in Italy at a place he recommended (he was most apologetic afterwards tho when we told him, lovely chap that he is, and we all did laugh about it!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great new B&B across the street from the Vatican, close enough also to spend the day walking to all the other sights in Rome. Lots of very good restaurants nearby. The rooms are big and clean, they met us on arrival and made sure we were checked in properly and gave us lots of tips.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

In March last year we wrote to have a room at the B&B ''A View Of Rome''. When the owner wrote back to suggest a room in their new B&B opening that month we were not sure if it was a good idea to try something this new. The price was affordable for a place in the Vatican area.
We took the room and were not disappointed. We were met at the door by Filipo. We appreciated all the great tips to restaurants and touristic attractions that he gave us. He pin pointed everything on a map for us. We had a really nice room (no.3), clean, large with a view on the street but quiet.
All in all, the B&B is well situated with a metro right in front and the Vatican at the corner of the street. There are many good cafés to eat breakfast and they suggested good restaurants for supper. Thank you A Touch of Rome for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misslou_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our family of 5 , 2 adults and 3 kids plus my parents stayed in August. The main bedroom was clean, new and with views of the dome of St Peter's Basilica. The bathrooms were also clean , new and very stylish. The breakfasts were excellent. Daniele created delicious made to order omelettes for us and there was a selection of croissants, cereals, yogurt, juices and spreads.
The hotel is barely a stones throw from the Vatican. For other attractions, the bus is right across the street from the hotel. Good panini shop downstairs, too.
We felt very welcome from the moment we arrived and will be back next time in Rome. Thank you Daniele, we had a wonderful trip to Rome!

Room Tip: Room with view of St Peter's dome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellyflop60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at A Touch of Rome for 3 nights, Rome being the first stop in our 3.5 week itinerary. Fillipo met us on (very early) arrival and could not have been more helpful. Our room wasn’t ready but there was space to leave our bags and freshen up – he also gave us lots of tips straight away and took my mobile number to text/call the minute our room was ready (they got it ready for us much earlier than they said they would). Our room was spotless, spacious, comfortable and modern, perfect for what we needed. LCD TV, computer, wifi, fridge, quiet air-con etc. The rooms were very quiet, especially given the location. Loved the old style lift in the building too! Breakfast was a few doors down for 5 euros (voucher provided by the hotel) and was basic but good.

It is in a great location for the Vatican, and other sites are easily accessible – we walked most places but the metro and buses were also really close. We were lucky enough to have Daniele, Lourdes and Filipo helping us during our stay, all were warm, attentive and full of excellent information and tips. Lourdes even gave us some fantastic tips for Florence, our next stop! Because of our hosts, we were able to fit in everything we wanted to do, skip lines (especially the Vatican!) and get the most out of our trip. They were always welcoming and really happy to help, nothing was too much trouble.

Don’t eat at the restaurant next door, go with the recommendations from the B&B staff. We had some fantastic meals and coffee from places we wouldn’t have found if not recommended to us.

A special thanks to the staff at ‘A touch of Rome’ for making our stay in this amazing city even more enjoyable. We would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here in late October and booked because of the fantastic reviews. We were first struck by the amazing location on a lively square, where you can get buses, taxis, trams and there's a subway station close by which makes getting anywhere in the city very easy. Were met by Daniele who was extremely friendly and showed us our room which, as with all the rooms, had a fantastic view of St Peters Basilica. He advised us to get a bottle of Santa Christina and wedge of Pecorino at the Billa Supermarket and take the 15 minute walk to the Piaza Popolar and then recommended somewhere for dinner. We followed his instructions and had a magical evening enjoying the fantastic views and the meal was great. The following morning he cooked us breakfast and then sat with us and a map and planned our whole day with us. This not only made us feel well attended, but well informed and it helped make our holiday in Rome one we will never forget. Seriously, stay here, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: All have fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
La Cupola del Vaticano
La Cupola del Vaticano
#33 of 3,669 in Rome
306 reviews
Prati
Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast
Prati
A Peace of Rome
A Peace of Rome
#41 of 3,669 in Rome
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast
Vatican / Borgo
At Your Place
At Your Place
#25 of 3,669 in Rome
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A View of Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A View of Rome

Property: A View of Rome
Address: Piazza del Risorgimento 14 | Scala A Floor 6, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — A View of Rome 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the sixth floor of a splendid 18th century palace,located very close to St. Peters Basilica, the Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel The B&B A View Of Rome is also within easy walking distance to Castel Sant' Angelo, Piazza Navona, Piazza di Spagna and the Pantheon. Perfect for people who want to enjoy the beauties of the Eternal City from a central Rome location. From the enviable position of the B&B A View Of Rome you can admire the unforgettable views over one of the most evocative cities in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your A View of Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a View Of Rome Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing