We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine Tour with Sarah”

Antiqua Tours: Wine, Cultural and Culinary Experiences
Ranked #46 of 221 Food & Drink in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Promoting the wine, culinary and cultural traditions of Rome and the entire Lazio region through tourism and education services.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a great tour with Sarah in Rome, we took the 3 hour wine/cheese tour we went to two local Enoteca's and drank some fabulous Italian Wines. Sarah was so knowledgable and you can tell she loves what she does. I would recommend this for a small group or just two like we had.

Thank Jacquelyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
may_in_rome, Owner at Antiqua Tours: Wine, Cultural and Culinary Experiences, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback! I also enjoyed the evening, it was like we were old friends, especially when the dog photos start coming out! I hope you had a chance to eat some good Roman food when you were here and if not, you'll just have to come back!

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Antiqua Tours: Wine, Cultural and Culinary Experiences
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 145 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Despite being a long time Roman resident, I found so many new things to enjoy and learn about on this tour which took place in the countryside southeast of Rome. Ettore and Sarah bring a depth and breadth of knowledge regarding wine, history and culture, but do it in an accessible, compelling and humorous way. The tour left Rome on a comfortable pullman bus which took us into the countryside. While we were driving, Ettore provided commentary on the area and rather than just reciting names and dates, he had a great way of incorporating historical content by tying it into the various landscapes and landmarks we were passing which made the ride very interesting and much more engaging for me and the others on the bus. We visited the gorgeous Valvisciolo Abbey, the well-preserved Castle Caetani in the town of Sermoneta and ended our tour with a visit and delicious and generous lunch at the beautiful Carpineti vineyards with stunning views overlooking the Lazio countryside. All along the way, Ettore and Sarah were attentive, gracious, knowledgeable and excellent hosts. Highly recommended!

1  Thank LindaatTheBeehive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
may_in_rome, Owner at Antiqua Tours: Wine, Cultural and Culinary Experiences, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback! We appreciate it coming from someone who has been in the Rome community for so long and has a lot of experience travelling in Italy. We value the fact that you choose to join this excursion with us when there are so many options at this time. We hope to be able to organize more group tours like this in the future

Thank you!

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We originally had a tour into the Roman countryside scheduled with a large tour company. There were three of us traveling together and the original tour required six and we were the only ones signed up and therefore it was cancelled. We looked on Tripadvisor and came across Antiqua Tours. We called made arrangement to meet. Ettore picked us up in Rome and set off for the Roman countryside. If you have never experienced the traffic in Rome words cannot do it justice. Suffice to say it is not for the faint of heart. Ettore navigated our way out of Rome sprinkling his opinions/philosophy of Rome traffic/drivers as well as his geopolitical views of Italy's place in the world economy. Hearing his viewpoints were both eye opening and informative. Once into the hill country we visited the towns of Corsi and Sermoneta. In doing so we toured a medieval castle not with 20 other people but instead just the 3 of us and Ettore and that was far better than any large group tour we have ever been on. We then went to a winery where we sampled wine and olive oil produced there. We had a great lunch in the hills at a typical local café and were served large portions and walked it off with a stroll to the Temple of Hercules.The cost of the wine tour and lunch were included in the tour price. We finished the day eating tortes from a shop known for using wild strawberries grown in the region. We did that while looking down into the valley at the ruins of the Temple of Dianna.
We encourage all that go to Rome to go off the beaten path and see something that you can't get on large tours. In doing so you will how the everyday Italian lives while experiencing the food and sights of the countryside.

1  Thank PaSoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
may_in_rome, Owner at Antiqua Tours: Wine, Cultural and Culinary Experiences, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback here, we appreciate it! Ettore told me you all had a wonderful time and he enjoyed the cultural exchange as well. We aim to give our guests a local experience, and sometimes the discussion can veer into politics. We look forward to staying in touch with you and for your return to Rome.

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Did this tour with Sara almost a year ago and just getting around to writing a review. Sara was extremely knowledgable and fun to spend the evening with. We felt like the Rome in a Glass tour was the best tour we had done in Rome!

Thank AngieSipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
may_in_rome, Owner at Antiqua Tours: Wine, Cultural and Culinary Experiences, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you so much Angela! I appreciate you taking the time even after so much time has passed. It really means a lot that you are even thinking about the tour one year later. We look forward to your return in Rome.

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a WONDERFUL experience!! The culinary tour with Sarah was most definitely a highlight of our trip to Italy. Not only was is it delicious but Sarah educated us on the culinary treasures in Rome, history of Rome and introduced us to some wonderful wines. If you go to Rome, you must contact Antiqua Tours.

Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
may_in_rome, Owner at Antiqua Tours: Wine, Cultural and Culinary Experiences, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you so much for the feedback. It was so much funny having a fellow Californian on a tour. Your family is great, too. I am so glad you werre able to get a taste of Rome. Thank you again! Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antiqua Tours: Wine, Cultural and Culinary Experiences also viewed

 

Been to Antiqua Tours: Wine, Cultural and Culinary Experiences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing