We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Domus Elisa B&B
Nearby Hotels
$191
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$380
$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
$264
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$265
$185
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$315
$245
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$233
$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
$130
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$224
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
$319
$258
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$508
$462
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
15
28
15
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
28
15
4
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 63 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is a great hostel for couples or adults okay with sharing a bed. The rooms are cleaned each day and the washroom facilities are great. The free breakfast is typical and a nice inclusion to the cost. We found the room very noisy as it faces a busy street but it's safe and secure. The walls are thin so I recommend earplugs but we had an enjoyable stay. I appreciate the other reviews on how to find this place but we had no trouble thanks to everyone who commented on this entrance.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdnburlesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Great location - 5 minute walk to train station and just down the road is the colosseum and forum! We stayed in the room with ensuite with a little balcony. Didn't have any problems with noise. Breakfast was yummy with lots of choice - croissants, cereals, yoghurt, fruit and juice.

They have a little kitchen but nothing seemed to work in it! So no cooking in.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingKiwiDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed here for 10 days and loved the cosy b&b! We walked everywhere which is very do-able if you're up early and have comfy shoes. The rooms aren't over the top but reasonable value for money. We were told we had a private bathroom and a tv but had neither - we didn't mind, as the lady who looked after us was so kind! Can't remember her name but she was lovely!

I found the mattress on the bed painful - sticking out springs and it got rather hot in the room.
If you're just exploring the city; saving pennies on the accommodation and spending more on sight-seeing and shopping, domus elisa is an excellent option.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asshhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Domus Elisa is situated on a busy road which is near the train station ,metro station and is in walking distance of the Colosseum.It is a good budget option when visiting Rome. Our room was clean and Sylvia was very friendly and did all she could to make our visit comfortable.There is no air conditioning but Silvia provided us with fans and gave us tips to keep our room cool.We had a private bathroom with hairdryer and our room was equipped with a small fridge.
Our room size was similar to other European budget hotels we have stayed in that is to say it was not big but we only slept in our room as we were out all day sightseeing.Our room was not on the main road so was not noisy but we cannot say if any of the ones on the main road were.
A continental breakfast was served in a large communal area and There was coffee making facilities in the small kitchen off this room.
As stated in previous reviews it is easy to walk past the entrance as it is a small bed and breakfast on the fifth floor of a residential block. The entrance way has marble steps and there is a tiny lift. We felt we were living like real Romans (modern day)
The neighborhood felt safe and there were lots of great places to eat nearby (Our favourite was Aquila Nera ) and the geletaria across the street was always busy as the ice cream was delicious.
i would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the main road as this will be quieter
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taxidevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Domus Elisa was really an unexpected find in the heart of Rome. We arrived in Rome on the 27 December, 4 hours earlier than our stated arrival time but was still able to check in promptly with the help of the owner. However, we actually walked right past the entrance to the B&B due to the lack of signage and had to turn back later. Do remember to look out for the unit numbers (number 124) on the doors as Domus Elisa is situated behind a small wooden door.

The Location: Domus Elisa was perfect in its location. Situated right on the main road, it is only a 10 minute walk from Roma Termini Station. Dragging your luggage down the straight road (via Cavour) should not be a problem. Situated in between two metro stations (Termini station and Cavour station), Domus Elisa is also only a 5 minutes walk from the Colloseum. A direct train from Termini station is available to St. Peters Sq and the journey is only about 15-20 minutes. It is also right next to two Chinese restaurants, across the road from a Pizzeria amongst other cheap restaurants, there is plenty of choices for food within 5 minute of walking distance.

The B&B: Domus Elisa was very small, but cozy. The owner was very very friendly and helpful and even provided us with a free map of Rome along with her suggestions of good places to visit. However, the lift up to the fifth floor (where Domus Elisa is) is extremely small and can only take up to 2 people + 1 luggage at each time, so be prepared to be making multiple trips up the elevator if you are traveling heavy.

The Room: Clean, comfortable and no-frills, the room really exceed our expectations for such a cheap stay. (we paid 108euros for 3 nights). The small balcony also offers a great view of Rome. Only thing was that there although we paid for a private double room, our room did not come with an ensuite toilet as all the rooms with adjorning toilets were occupied already. Instead we had to use the toilet outside of the room which was slightly inconvenient.Also, walls were extremely thin, might need some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

Other comments: Free Internet was provided 24/7 in the apartment and a simple but good breakfast was also provided every morning.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheryltoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews