We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, little noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Domus Elisa B&B

Domus Elisa B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domus Elisa B&B
Save
You added Domus Elisa B&B to your Saves list
Ranked #1,460 of 3,641 Rome B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great location, little noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is a great hostel for couples or adults okay with sharing a bed. The rooms are cleaned each day and the washroom facilities are great. The free breakfast is typical and a nice inclusion to the cost. We found the room very noisy as it faces a busy street but it's safe and secure. The walls are thin so I recommend earplugs but we had an enjoyable stay. I appreciate the other reviews on how to find this place but we had no trouble thanks to everyone who commented on this entrance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdnburlesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Great location - 5 minute walk to train station and just down the road is the colosseum and forum! We stayed in the room with ensuite with a little balcony. Didn't have any problems with noise. Breakfast was yummy with lots of choice - croissants, cereals, yoghurt, fruit and juice.

They have a little kitchen but nothing seemed to work in it! So no cooking in.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingKiwiDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed here for 10 days and loved the cosy b&b! We walked everywhere which is very do-able if you're up early and have comfy shoes. The rooms aren't over the top but reasonable value for money. We were told we had a private bathroom and a tv but had neither - we didn't mind, as the lady who looked after us was so kind! Can't remember her name but she was lovely!

I found the mattress on the bed painful - sticking out springs and it got rather hot in the room.
If you're just exploring the city; saving pennies on the accommodation and spending more on sight-seeing and shopping, domus elisa is an excellent option.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asshhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
1,009 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Domus Elisa is situated on a busy road which is near the train station ,metro station and is in walking distance of the Colosseum.It is a good budget option when visiting Rome. Our room was clean and Sylvia was very friendly and did all she could to make our visit comfortable.There is no air conditioning but Silvia provided us with fans and gave us tips to keep our room cool.We had a private bathroom with hairdryer and our room was equipped with a small fridge.
Our room size was similar to other European budget hotels we have stayed in that is to say it was not big but we only slept in our room as we were out all day sightseeing.Our room was not on the main road so was not noisy but we cannot say if any of the ones on the main road were.
A continental breakfast was served in a large communal area and There was coffee making facilities in the small kitchen off this room.
As stated in previous reviews it is easy to walk past the entrance as it is a small bed and breakfast on the fifth floor of a residential block. The entrance way has marble steps and there is a tiny lift. We felt we were living like real Romans (modern day)
The neighborhood felt safe and there were lots of great places to eat nearby (Our favourite was Aquila Nera ) and the geletaria across the street was always busy as the ice cream was delicious.
i would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the main road as this will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taxidevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Domus Elisa was really an unexpected find in the heart of Rome. We arrived in Rome on the 27 December, 4 hours earlier than our stated arrival time but was still able to check in promptly with the help of the owner. However, we actually walked right past the entrance to the B&B due to the lack of signage and had to turn back later. Do remember to look out for the unit numbers (number 124) on the doors as Domus Elisa is situated behind a small wooden door.

The Location: Domus Elisa was perfect in its location. Situated right on the main road, it is only a 10 minute walk from Roma Termini Station. Dragging your luggage down the straight road (via Cavour) should not be a problem. Situated in between two metro stations (Termini station and Cavour station), Domus Elisa is also only a 5 minutes walk from the Colloseum. A direct train from Termini station is available to St. Peters Sq and the journey is only about 15-20 minutes. It is also right next to two Chinese restaurants, across the road from a Pizzeria amongst other cheap restaurants, there is plenty of choices for food within 5 minute of walking distance.

The B&B: Domus Elisa was very small, but cozy. The owner was very very friendly and helpful and even provided us with a free map of Rome along with her suggestions of good places to visit. However, the lift up to the fifth floor (where Domus Elisa is) is extremely small and can only take up to 2 people + 1 luggage at each time, so be prepared to be making multiple trips up the elevator if you are traveling heavy.

The Room: Clean, comfortable and no-frills, the room really exceed our expectations for such a cheap stay. (we paid 108euros for 3 nights). The small balcony also offers a great view of Rome. Only thing was that there although we paid for a private double room, our room did not come with an ensuite toilet as all the rooms with adjorning toilets were occupied already. Instead we had to use the toilet outside of the room which was slightly inconvenient.Also, walls were extremely thin, might need some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

Other comments: Free Internet was provided 24/7 in the apartment and a simple but good breakfast was also provided every morning.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryltoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

We arrived in Rome on November 5th to discover our room was not at the Domus Elisa, but at another location nearby. Seems rooms were sold out and so we were sent to another apartment complex about 5 minutes away. This meant hauling our luggage up what seemed to me to be the Spanish Steps, and accross plenty winding cobblestone streets. Needless to say I was not pleased.

We were super early, so we were fortunate to be allowed to check in at 10am. The room was clean, but chilly. We had our own bathroom, but no hairdryer or iron. The plumbing took some getting used to as running the tap, shower or toilet meant everyone had to listen to what can only be described as the sound of a car engine backfiring.

Breakfast was at a nearby cafe. You had to get a breakfast ticket each morning and present at the counter to get your complimentary croissant and cappucino. It was ok, nothing to brag about.

All in all--If you're on a budget, stay here. It's right smack in the middle of everything. However, if you can afford to spend $50 more, splurge and stay at hotel. I would.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv_Europe39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed for five days and when we are in Rome and we shall stay here again. We highly recommend it. Domus Elisa is next door to a Chinese restaurant,so in finding it we walked past the large wooden front door thinking it was part of the restaurant. Only a bell label names the B&B among others.
The owners are lovely, kind , efficient people who did all they could for us. Our room with a large double bed was clean, clean towels and sheets, and the room plus new en suite complete with hair-dryer was cleaned everyday. The room overlooked the hubbub noise of via Cavour, but if you close the double glazed verandah doors, most of the noise is cut out. Use earplugs at night if you like complete silence. There is a ceiling fan in the room, adequate wardrobe, cupboards, table,chairs, sofa and fridge in room. There is a small communal room where you can make your own tea, coffee -no cooking facilities. There is the free use of computer and internet. There is also further separate dining room for breakfast. The B&B is near to so many cheap food shops, pizzas, sandwiches etc. you won't go hungry. There are also the usual café's and eateries all around you. We found the location good. It was 15minutes from Termini (McDonald's on the opposite side of the road if you get desperate for familiar food), 15 approx from Collesuem and Palatine. Rome is a compact city, but there is so much to see that you need a good pair of comfortable trainers, you will do a lot of walking- but it's worth it. Go into any church to sit and rest like many others do, but even the small churches have the most amazing ceilings, sculptures, paintings That it won't be long before you are on your feet again. Rome is a wonderful place. We took a lunchtime 2 hr Vatican Museum tour (Sistine chapel)offered on their website- it was very good, and not too busy at that time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lifebeginsat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#674 of 1,287 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms Trani
B&T Rooms Trani
#941 of 1,287 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,287 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 5,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Relais 6
#34 of 1,287 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,698 reviews
Camping Village Roma
#46 of 1,014 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 1,241 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#118 of 1,287 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Elisa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Elisa B&B

Property: Domus Elisa B&B
Address: Via Cavour 124, 000185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,460 of 3,641 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Domus Elisa Hotel Rome
Domus Elisa Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing