We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour, but long wait in line”
Review of Roman Empire Tours

Roman Empire Tours
Ranked #174 of 787 Tours in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Roman Empire Tours we want to bring you on a journey of enlightenment through the millenia that have coincided with the existence of this remarkable place. Our guides will bring you on a cultural awakening as you discover the histories of Ancient Rome, Renaissance Rome and Papal Rome.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Granite Bay, CA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great tour, but long wait in line”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had high expectations for this tour group and were not disappointed by our tour guides, Shane and Thomas, for our tours of the Vatican and the Roman Forum and Colosseum. They were wonderful, and we thoroughly enjoyed our visits to these fantastic venues. However, I do have to say we were disappointed in having to wait over an hour in line at the Vatican. We booked a tour in advance to avoid this sort of thing. Since the tour started at 2pm, we missed our opportunity to climb the dome, which we heard was a must-see. The tour was very well organized (other than the wait in line), and the tour guides were easy to find.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    13
    3
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“A great tour that made one of our days in Rome”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I went over for a weekend with a friend and we decided we needed some culture to go with the sport and drinking. Roman empire tours looked like a more fun tour than the avergae according to tripadvisor. We signed up and got what we expected - a fun tour that made the day much mroe complete.

Our tourguide was very knowledgeable and good fun.

Would recommend to anyone excpet someone who knows it all already!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank singdaljt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Walking tour of Vatican Museum recommended”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We went for a 5 hour tour of the Vatican Museum and St Peters Basilica. Our guide was brilliant, very informative. Lots of very interesting and unique artwork. Fascinating history. Well worth having a guide - otherwise I think it would be overwhelming. There's lots of it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abicam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I really enjoyed this tour...”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Although, we only got the tour for skipping the long lines, it was well worth the 27 Euros. It made it a pleasant visit. It was great seeing all the paintings, murals and tapestries showcasing the talents of artists from the bygone era. The attention to details was beyond belief.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Use the Skip The Line Company”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Was unable to get tickets much to a disappointed spouse!!! Went there just to look and there was a "Skip the Line" tour company. We virtually walked right in and our tour guide was great - it was about a 2.5 hour tour versus the four hour tour though (perfect for me). Don't order on-line...cheaper at the sight.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roman Empire Tours also viewed

 

Been to Roman Empire Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing