We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT tour with a Wonderful Guide”
Review of Roman Empire Tours

Roman Empire Tours
Ranked #172 of 778 Tours in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Roman Empire Tours we want to bring you on a journey of enlightenment through the millenia that have coincided with the existence of this remarkable place. Our guides will bring you on a cultural awakening as you discover the histories of Ancient Rome, Renaissance Rome and Papal Rome.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
112 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“GREAT tour with a Wonderful Guide”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I'm not sure how most people will choose a tour. As an independent traveler, I trust the recommendations from all of my Trip Advisor peers...and once again, we got it right with Roman Empire Tours.

Even in spite of the local Metro transit travel strike, all of us made it to the meeting place where we were met by Jimmy and his associate Julia who would be leading the tour. You can tell how passionate Jimmy is about his business by making sure everyone who had signed up for the tour was there and how we were all going to be taken care of. This is one of the wonderful things about finding independent tour groups.

Julia lead a remarkable tour. She was incredibly knowledgeable about all aspects of the history of the Vatican, the artists, the Roman history and most intriguing, the conflict between Michelangelo and Raphael. Julia's ability to teach us about many of the small nuisances and details involving the paintings, the building were excellent. Her interpretation was enough for me to find a book for further reading on it.

I know you will have many excellent choices when deciding which tour company to use...should you use Roman Empire, you will not be dissappointed!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Backstreets1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    13
    3
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Truly mesmorising experience. Loved the whole experience. Kids had a time of their lifes! Will visit again in summer. Hope we could have spent more time but we were there just for a stop over. Great.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Finley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Unbelievable tour of the Vatican!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Not sure why some of the reviews were allowed below as they were just comments about the Vatican, and they had not been on this tour! Anyway. We had Mia as our tour guide and she was really fantastic. Very energetic, enthusiastic, very knowledgeable, a wealth of information that she was able to pass along to us in a manageable way, as there really is just so much information about all that we saw. So many statues, pictures etc. I do feel strongly that if you take one tour in Rome, it should be of the Vatican, the Vatican museum and the sistine chapel. You need someone who is knowledgeable and can give you highlights. Mia really made the whole experience come to life. No lines to get in and she of course knew her way around.
The tour was at 2:00 which was perfect also. This tour is reasonably priced for a smaller tour. There were 8 of us total, max for the tour and consequently Mia was able to talk to us directly not needing to use those headphones which are required for larger groups. It is more personalized and encourages discussion/questions if desired! My college age daughter really was awed by the tour as well! I don't have one complaint! It was perfect! And Mia was a perfect guide to show us the way"

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank purple8293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely informative”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Valerie was our tour guide. Very friendly and knowledgable. Amazing history. Beautiful painting, tapestry, sculpture

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Take the tour - it's worth it”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We were a little sceptical of paying 120 euros for a family of four to tour the museum, visit the basilica and have the option of climbing up to the top of St. Peter's dome. However I must say this was the single most memorable thing we did in Rome. The tour guide was excellent, really knowledgeable, and we felt that we got full value for money. Trust me, I have two teenage boys with low attention spans, and even they concentrated and engaged with the tour guide throughput the 3 hour trip. We feel we have thoroughly "done" the Vatican experience now, and for anyone looking to be overwhelmed and overawed by art, you must do this.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roman Empire Tours also viewed

 

Been to Roman Empire Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing