We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get ready to be ripped off. !!”
Review of Trattoria Cecio

Trattoria Cecio
Ranked #499 of 12,362 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Esquilino
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Get ready to be ripped off. !!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Get ready to be ripped off. !! The food is good - but it appears (because I asked other tables) that most of the customers are from their hotel making recommendations. The food was ok and if the prices were reasonable then it would rate high. But it is way overpriced and especially the wine. The "special" recommended wine at 30 euro we were charged only 18 the very next night is a restaurant very close. There are many restaurants to chose from near - all with better food, atmosphere and much better value - avoid unless you like being overcharged.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    468
    152
    48
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, but get ready to be ripped off”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place had very good pasta a la funghi, and the deserts - pana cotta, chocolate lava cake, and gelatoo were also delicious. However, the pricing ended up being different, so I would recommend this place because it's good, however, be aware of the price changes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming hideaway”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This restaurant offers a very pleasant dining experience at a fair price. We enjoyed the food, and the service was personal and attentive. Trattoria Cecio is located near the Termini Train Station, an area crammed with small hotels, B & B's, and eating establishments of all kinds - many rather tacky. Among all the clutter, this one is a gem.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EileenR777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“Outstanding”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A small gem in a big city. Food was outstanding and service was excellent. My family went there 3 years ago and loved it, so we returned again this year and the results were the same. Decided to return a second time for our last night in Rome before flying home. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant on the recommendation of our hotel receptionist and we were not disappointed. Staff were friendly and helpful and the food was gorgeous.

Helpful?
Thank 58jeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Trattoria Cecio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing