We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Rip-Off”
Review of Royal Art Cafe

Royal Art Cafe
Ranked #3,342 of 12,362 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $34 - $136
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Monti
Description: Royal Art Cafe, situated in a marvelous setting right in front of the Coliseum, represents the perfect place for lunches and dinners, business meetings, corporate events, or just for a fun night out with your friends. The cuisine proposes meat or fish menus (a la carte or fixed-price menu), paying particular attention to the traditional Roman dishes. A long list of great desserts and Italian wines is available. The venue, situated in an historic building in the hearth of Rome, features a large roof terrace overlooking the Anfiteatro Flavio. The roof garden represents, during the summer months, the best place to enjoy a unique view of the Eternal city. Royal Art Cafe is a modern multipurpose facility that offers great entertainment. The aim is to create great guest experiences, combing a great atmosphere and traditional Italian food. During the weekends there is always something going on at Royal Art Cafe: piano bar, cabaret, DJ set etc..Open every day for lunch and dinner.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Total Rip-Off”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We recently visited Rome and 4 of us had lunch in the Royal Art Cafe beside the Coliseum. This restaurant was recommended to us by a friend. This particular day there were very heavy showers and we had got soaked wet even with umbrellas. We were greeted by a man who seemed to be the main man. He spoke very good English. He was all over us taking our coats getting menus for us taking drinks orders - super efficient. When we were trying to make our minds up on sharing 2 starters - he suggested he would look after that and get us a small selection for starters. He came out with, melon and parma ham, cheese boards with a selection of salami, toasted bouchette both cheese and tomato and god knows what else. We had ordered very basic main courses pasta Cannelloni etc. we had a bottle of white wine and 2 large beers. No coffees no deserts. When the bill came were in shock - the starter was €60 euro - The total bill was €195 for 4 people for lunch. The food was excellent the main courses were very nice and the price was ok because we saw it on the menu. But the way the starter was loaded on us was to smart and to professional as if it was a regular occurrence. They don't rely on repeat business (fortunately for them) because they are so close to the Coliseum so the get away with this on a regular basis I would think. We did complain after we had the bill paid but at that stage he did not want to know us and was in search of his next victims.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Royal Art Cafe, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you for your review.
We are very sorry to read of your disappointment: customer care is very important to us. All prices are listed on the menu, however we sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    353
    183
    135
    181
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“2ND Good View!!! BAD FOOD”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We visited this restaurant on September 25, 2013 for lunch and to enjoy the view of the Coliseum on the restaurant terrace. This is by far the worst restaurant that we experienced in our three week trip to Italy. We had the opportunity to enjoy many, many restaurants during this trip and never had such bad food. These owners should be ashamed of servicing their clientele with such poor quality food. They have an amazing location with views of the Coliseum across the street. Don't be fooled by their upscale appearance and waste your money when there are so many other restaurants right next door that I'm sure would offer better quality of food. We advise the staff of our opinion but they didn't respond. Not only was the food bad but the servers reaction was just as bad.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank patricia234-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Royal Art Cafe, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you for your review.
Our dishes are based on traditional recipes and we always use fresh and genuine ingredients. We are sorry to know that you were not satisfied with your experience at “Royal Art Cafe”.
We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good view, bad food”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This place should be gone to solely for some wine and the view. The food was less than decent. The risotto was way under cooked and some rice was still crunchy. The vegetables were mushy. The steak was too fat and not cooked to order. Dessert not only does not match the pictures of the items, but was not tasty at all. The banana split was all chocolate and whip cream with old bananas, nothing like the picture of 3 scopes of ice cream of different flavors (1 strawberry, 1 vanilla, 1 chocolate). The Strawberry mousse with a lemon whip on the side with strawberries turned out to be something closer to jello pudding with a lime green gel across the top that bled into the strawberry mousse. The "lemon whip" was in three blobs around the strawberry mousse that was like a runny egg. However, the service was good and it has a great view of the Colosseum.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Landon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Royal Art Cafe, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you for your review.
Italian cuisine is characterized by its simplicity, our kitchen proposes traditional recipes using fresh and genuine ingredients. We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the food.
We hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Restaurant for tourists in breathtaking location.”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

With my family I decided to visit the Coliseum and then to have a quick lunch nearby, although I generally dislike the restaurants in the vicinity of tourist attractions. This restaurant has a terrace upstairs where it is possible to dine facing the Coliseum and this is indeed a good reason to fork out few extra Euros for the food, which is mediocre and overpriced. But the atmosphere is breathtaking and can make you forget that you should have chosen a better local restaurant somewhere else in Rome farer from the Coliseum or other places full of tourists, and compensate someway the loss inside the wallet and in quality of the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Royal Art Cafe, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, your feedback is very important to us.
We are happy to read that you liked the atmosphere and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
“royal Art Cafe expenience”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Best restraunt we found in Rome, ate in many places but this Restaurant was by far the best for food and service. All waiters were great and they might even give you a special Italian Liquer for a night cap.

Thanks guys we ended up eating there 3 nights out of our 5 nights stay Awesome

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Royal Art Cafe, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so happy to hear that you liked our restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Grazie mille!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Art Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Royal Art Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing