We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pretty good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristochicco

Ristochicco
Ranked #245 of 12,044 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Description: Restaurant, meat and fish, pizza, wood.fired oven, delicatessen, wine shop, olive oil shop, sommelier school, sandwich. Only Italian products. We have vegetarian food also.
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

ok- the sign saying what is not allowed is a bit off putting - but the food is great, and you will be happy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterSpeedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    566
    240
    66
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous find right down the street from the Vatican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stumbled across this delightful and authentic Italian restaurant last year while visiting Rome. Truly an amazing find! The atmosphere was charming with red and white checkered table clothes. The food was scrumptious. Everything is delicious. We ordered the bruschetta and loved it. I also had cheese ravioli and my husband ordered spaghetti carbonara. To take in the culture and spirit of Italy, you should really consider going to this restaurant!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KSawyer859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Me and my boyfriend have been here and I was pleased to read outside the restaurant some warnings like "no modifications possible, no pizza, no lasagne, no sandwich, no drinks, no house wine, no alfredo fettucine".
These negations might sound bad but actually I believe the objective of the chef is to provide good italian food considering the very high amout of real tourist traps the restaurants in the area are. this is not a tourist trap, they tell you from the outside, believe them.
The menus are funny, huge and full of indications, nice but maybe too big, but indeed funny.
I found the place nice and warm, the portions really abundant,the food was good apart the fact that pasta could be cooked a bit more (I'm Italian and I have noticed this in all the restaurants I have eaten in Rome, so not in particular in the place here), but in anycase very good. Therefore ask to cook pasta 3 minutes more (I'm sure the chef can and should make this little chagment) and the place will be perfect.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent pasta.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Came for a late lunch and the location is ideal near the Vatican. The pasta was delicious - fresh, hot and just the right flavours. Very small restaurant but that is the experience. Very enjoyable food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Antichfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A former favorite, turned uppity”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Ristochicco used to be a friendly neighborhood restaurant that served good pasta at a reasonable price. That changed several months ago, when they decided that they were no longer a "tourist restaurant" but a "real restaurant" - whatever that means. Now, the Ristochicco experience includes a harsh sign at the entrance to the restaurant, declaring to the world that they do not offer pizza, or lasagna, or spaghetti with meatballs, and that they don't offer a house wine, and that you may not share plates with other diners. The oversized menu also snootily educates the tourist about proper Italian dining etiquette, insisting that, among other things, Italians would never order a cappuccino after a meal, and therefore Ristochicco is unwilling to make one for you - Italian or not. All this is a marked change from the happy earlier days, when you could order a pizza if you wanted one, and the restaurant was quite happy to pour you a carafe of their house wine - all served without the attitude. The quality of the food hasn't really decreased: you'll still get a fine rigatoni alla norcina, but the experience of the restaurant as a whole has become off-putting. Elsewhere on the Borgo Pio, you'll find food that's just as good, served without the self-important airs that Ristochicco puts on.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank px1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristochicco also viewed

 

Been to Ristochicco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing