We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable but not inexpensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristochicco

Ristochicco
Ranked #243 of 12,043 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Description: Restaurant, meat and fish, pizza, wood.fired oven, delicatessen, wine shop, olive oil shop, sommelier school, sandwich. Only Italian products. We have vegetarian food also.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable but not inexpensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Ristochicco does not pretend to be a simple trattoria and its chef is celebrated in the menu. It was nice to see them celebrating a skilled chef who clearly wants to provide food he cares about rather than push out the usual. The waiter was happy to give advice about the menu and wine which was helpful.
So the antipasti was large and various, saltimbocco very good, and lemon ravioli with prawns was delicious- although rather messy to eat since the generous portion of large prawns need to be shelled but had already been covered in sauce.( You end up trying eat with hands covered in fishy sticky sauce unless you hurry for the servicio, and the food gets cold while you are washing your hands, Perhaps the locals manage it better than I did. )
We only went once in the evening, and it was not over busy. However, it was considerably more expensive than others we had visited, almost twice the price in fact for two courses and wine.
So, very happy to recommend it and the food is lovely and wine good but you will pay more for it, in comparison with others in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moatpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    566
    240
    66
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Opelousas, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Little Restaurant near the Vatican!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We walked to this restaurant after our Vatican tour and had a wonderful meal. The restaurant was small and busy (all Italians - we were the only tourists and surrounded by priests) and the service was very good although our waitress did not speak English. I will say it was a bit quirky as the menu contains "rules". For example, they will not allow you to put parmesan cheese on the fish dishes (my daughter tried). They warmed up to us and we were forgiven. Everything was excellent! There was a dessert they had in the glass case when we arrived and I ordered it after the meal (photo attached). The waitress said it did not have a name (something the cook whipped up) but it was one of the best desserts I've ever had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't believe the hype! Bad cooking.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We ate here on our last night in Rome and we were really, really disappointed. We had bruschetta to start with which was really good and the waiter seemed attentive and knowledgeable. But when the main courses arrived it sadly went rapidly downhill. One of my sons had ravioli - undercooked (forget al dente - it was rock-hard at the edges). My other two sons had spaghetti with different sauces, as did I - all three were so salty as to be inedible. We are not just talking a little salty - the food seemed to have a ton of it - really nasty. My husband had a steak which itself was fine but again it was smothered in an highly oversalted sauce. He is normally one for extra salt but even he was wincing.

Now we are not moaners when it comes to restaurant food but we are foodies, and we do eat out alot (and have been to Rome three times and eaten in many wonderful places) so we think we have an idea of what is right and wrong with seasoning. The chef at this place either doesn't taste his food or has an extremely poor palate.

The waiter made very poor excuses telling us that the pecorino cheese was responsible (?) the capers were responsible (?) and that this was 'Roman taste'. We were left feeling that we were in the wrong and ignorant. Their excuses were nonsense. It was bad cooking and to serve it up and charge the high prices they do was unacceptable. They made another sauce for my children which they ate a little of but we still kissed goodbye to 150 euros when we left (nothing deducted from the bill).

Be warned.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
382 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great for lunch after the Vatican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

There are many restaurants in this area that cater to tourists. This seems to be an authentic choice with excellent pastas and friendly service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best meal all Week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This place is a gem. The food was wonderful. The host was friendly and helpful. The room cozy and warm. Make sure you have a reservation and enjoy a wonderful meal. The anitpasti plate per due was enough to feed 4 and everything on it was delicious. The Cacio e Pepe was the best I had all week.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MOakesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ristochicco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing