We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre experience ”

Vinsanto Vino & Cucina
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 9/15
8:00 PM
Ranked #122 of 14,842 Restaurants in Rome
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 8, 2019 via mobile

Based upon the glowing reviews here, we came to the Vinosanto near Vatican. Unfortunately, we were rather disappointed.
The air conditioning seemed to be connected to the frier, so instead of nicely chilled, we were sitting in a continuous fat smell. At least the flies seemed to like it, they were numerous.
Service was friendly, but could only scarcely compensate for the kitchen:
Some dishes were not available (from a rather small menue), many others came in a -let's say- modified fashion: beef with rocket was without rocket and the Caesar Salad neither had the right salad nor any dressing resembling Caesar dressing. Pasta was OK, but nothing out of the ordinary either.
All in all it was not a complete desaster but given the expectations raised by the reviews here, it was our most disappointing dinner in Rome.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank JHHausmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 267 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

I stopped by around 2:30pm, near the break time to have a just glass of house wine to take the edge off the midday heat. Strangely enough, they turned me away, saying that I can get a table only if I'm eating lunch. Come on, it was almost the break time, and there were awful lot of many empty tables.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Ghjjgfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2019 via mobile

We made a reservation at 9:30 and it was a sweat welcome with wonderful service by Pietro. He was so charismatic and sweet, the food was amazing. We absolutely loved the formaggi and salumi board. My boyfriend and I have spent the last two weeks traveling all of Italy and haven't found a great salad.. but the ceasar salad here really did it! Thank you again for the great food and wonderful service ! Grazie!

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank 751cydneyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2019 via mobile

Went in for lunch with the family after a visit to the Vatican. Cosy environment and the staff was very friendly. The food was delicious. Also tried the tiramisu (it was very nice). After lunch they also offered us a limoncello liqueur. Very reasonable prices.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank 877daniap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2019 via mobile

Very good and delicious food, nice personnel. Enjoyed my time here, would definitely come back when I will be in Rome

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank 760anatolyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinsanto Vino & Cucina also viewed

 

Been to Vinsanto Vino & Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing