We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique hotel, location, staff, and service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #43 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2010

A block from the Colosseum, surrounded by lots of restaurants this is a fantastic hotel. We stayed with our children 8 &11 in a 3rd floor 2 bedroom suite for 4 nights with unparalled views of the Colosseum from every room including the bathroom! Rooms were beautifully appointed, service spectacular and location second to none. I think there are only something like 15 rooms in the whole place so the staff know you whenever they see you and can't do enough to make your stay perfect.

It ain't cheap, but it is first class. Lots of restaurants in the neighborhood give you choice of great and different places to eat every meal. We only ate breakfast on the terrace ovelooking the colosseum one morning but did room service several times. Food was great.

Stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScipioAfricanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 459 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2010

We had booked a room at a nearby 'luxury' 5 star boutique hotel at the forum but were told (after checking in and our credit card had been swiped) that our room was no longer available and we were to go to a nearby 4 star sister hotel situated in the streets around the statzione. We were not best pleased as this it seemed to us that this was not a reasonable alternative. A 5 star luxury hotel in the pretty safe streets of the forum area were not, it seemed to us, not entirely similar to a 4 star 'contemporary' hotel in the rather more - how would one put it - 'lively' avenues around the station.
Eventually, after much gnashing of teeth I found (that is I found it - not the hotel you note) the Gladiatori Hotel on the internet and after a struggle with the manager of the forum hotel over 'issues with the pricing' and the stars and the groups it belonged to we were eventually packed off there.
We arrived highly annoyed.
Immediately however the excellent staff at the Gladiatori moved to sooth our nerves. We were told we had been upgraded because of what had happened to us and then, after a complimentary glass of bubbles, taken by wonderful old lift to a beautiful room with views directly onto the Colosseum. It had a fabulous bathroom of marble and original plumbing, bvlgari toilettries, and an expresso machine amoungst the more usual 5 star luxuries. The roof top restaurant, where breakfast was served was fantastic with impressive service. We were only sorry we did not have time to sample to gourmet lunches and dinners. The drinks on the roof were expensive but impeccably served with little nibbles made in what was clearly an excellent restaurant. My superb Bloody Mary was exactly as spicy as I like it and helped further in claming me and forgetting the treatment we had at the previous place.
This is a class act. It is boutique. It is small. But it is perfectly located and has staff and clearly an ethos of which they should be proud. This now means that the hotel near the forum, and it's sister hotels, will never need trouble itself again with finding us a room.
The Gladiatori hotel is the hotel of choice for us when we are next in Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

This little boutique hotel has a very nice location next to the Colloseum and the Gladiator School. The rooms and lobby as well as other spaces are tastefully decorated and well equipped. The hotel has recently added a restaurant on the roof-top with a Michelin quality chef and an international menu degustation. Consequently there are ambitions to this hotel and the costs equal to these ambitions. Even though the rooms and breakfast are really good and the staff try their best, the comfortable feeling is never really there. On arrival they put us on the roof terrrace for a drink and gave us menus since the room is not ready, with the obvious intention to direct you to the hotel restaurant (which probably is not so well frequented). Such manners are not appropriate at five star hotels and certainly not at this price level. Neither the food nor the prices are what you are looking for when going to Italy and absolutely not the genuine Italian food we were looking for.

After a walk on the town when we returned to finally get our room the male receptionist asked if we wanted a room for one night or "for a cople of hours". That kind of impolite questions does not get you returning guests, especially att a room rate of more than 400 Euros a night.

All in all a decent hotel with quality location which could be a good choice if they happen to have one of their better days.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Scaniahelsingb0rg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

My husband, son and I booked into the Serpenti Penthouse associated with this hotel.
I Would recommend this hotel for its super staff and helpfulness over the difficulties as followed.( Iceland and it's Volcano!!!!)
On arriving we were greeted by a glass of champagne and told that our penthouse was not available. We were quickly re directed into a junior suite ( very small ) but probably big for Rome. ( at no extra cost ) Exhausted we quickly accepted and asked for a bed to be made up for our 11 year old. We had a wait a couple of hours for this to happen, but were apologised to profusely for the inconvenience caused and a bottle of champagne and beautiful fruit was left in our room.
The bed was very comfortable but you are next to a very, very noisy street with no real way of opening windows due to noise and moped petrol smells. We had a warm night as the A/con didn't seem to work. Beautiful bath with view over Colliseum. Pity the bath plug didn't work either!
Next morning we asked to speak to the manager and they instantly offered us the Marco Aurelia suite nearby in a side street. We quickly agreed as it was more room for us with our son. Everything taken care of and we were taken to a lovely apartment with two rooms/ hideaway kitchen and shower/toilet. Perfect. Very clean, crisp and modern. This apartment has a tiny lift too!
It is worth remembering that you are in the middle of a residential property and you should expect some noise from people above and next to you. But to be honest the side street was so much quieter than the main road from the previous night we didn't notice much and I am a very light sleeper. We were just delighted and able to cope with the odd bit of foot noise form upstairs and next door.
( Maybe take ear plugs if you are an especially light sleeper!) Enjoyed 6 super nights in the suite. Park, supermarkets and taxis nearby. Plenty of local places to eat. Good location away from the hectic buzz .
Night 7, volcano disruption causes us to have to stay another 5 nights. Hotel maintained rate for apartment and allowed us to keep re-booking on a daily basis. They couldn't have been more helpful if they tried! We hadn't used the wifi until the volcano erupted. Be sure to ask the reception for the alice network pass word. It occasionally goes down but the apartment care taker goes into the cupboard and re boots the router. Just ask!
Used Shuttle service to and from hotel..... a bit more expensive than taxi but makes it feel a bit more special too.
Holiday didn't quite go to plan but thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Marco Aurelia apartments and would most definitely consider going back again!!! But maybe not this week!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScotlandCrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2009

The Hotel Gladiatori was great! The view from our room was AMAZING and the modern decor was beautiful. Also, the front desk staff was very helpful and had great recommendations. The only complaint we had was the AC wasn't turned on in the building since it was winter and it was quite warm a few nights. Also, our room was next to the kitchen so the noise in the morning was a bit loud--but if you are an early riser this shouldn't be a problem. All in all it was a great stay in Rome! Thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErinandJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

Just spent 4 days in Rome with my wife in this small but very charming Hotel.

Great location, excellent service, medium sized rooms, clean and comfortable.

Breakfast is a bit poor for the price level.

We agreed it has the basics, but shouldn't it be above average too?

It certainly needs to improve. This was the only criticism we could find.

Everything else was excellent.

We certainly recommend the Gladiatori.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Blue_Zee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2006

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Gladiatori Hotel to celebrate our honeymoon & can highly recommend it. This elegant hotel was an oasis of calm amid the heat & bustle of Rome, & the comfortable air conditioned room was a godsend! We had been expecting good things about our room after reading other reviews on Tripadvisor's site, & were definately not disappointed..the view over the Colosseum was wonderful. Our only negative would be the very high prices of drinks in the roof garden bar (22 euros for 2 small glasses of lager!) so enjoy the amazing views while having the inclusive breakfast. The staff were all very helpful; special thanks go to Manager Bruno for providing plasters for blistered feet!
We very much look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Foreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,267 in Rome
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#52 of 1,267 in Rome
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux

Address: Via Labicana 125, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#30 Family Hotel in Rome
#38 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#63 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $352 - $941 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Palazzo Manfredi is a magnificent historic villa that today serves as five-star hotel offering the tradition and warm hospitality of the Counts Manfredi. Every detail is a family jewel, from the spectacular view of the Colosseum, to the courtesy of our staff, the classic and contemporary elegance of the decor, and our sophisticated restaurant on one of Rome's most romantic terraces. History is on our doorstep, but true luxury is being part of a great family's history." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Manfredi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing