We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view of the colosseum!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #36 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our favorite hotel in Rome! The colosseum is right across the street & you can view it while having a wonderful breakfast on the top floor. :) Everyone here is very friendly and they were always able to point us in the right direction as we went out to explore the city :). Our entire stay here felt like a five star experience-from the beautifully decorated rooms to the helpfulness of the staff :) They had great dinner recommendations too, so if you stay there...definitely ask for a suggestion if you are unsure-they are great at picking out perfect restaurants :) I loved everything about this hotel!!! The colosseum view and the friendly customer service both definitely make this hotel stand out among the others!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mlokkesmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoManfrediRoma, Direttore generale at Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for your wonderfull comment regarding your recent visit at Palazzo Manfredi-Relais & Chateaux.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with the Hotel service and that we were able to meet your needs.

It is give me a great pleasure to be able to pass along your positive comments and the importance of your satisfaction.

On behalf of everyone at Palazzo Manfredi Hotel, thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Palazzo Manfredi Hotel in the not too distant future.

With regards,

Bruno Papaleo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 484 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

The perfect location for exploring the eternal city. Originally booked the apartment as the hotel was full but on arrival we were upgraded to a double room free of charge. The reception staff were more than helpful with all our requests. The room was first class with a view of the park.
Lots of reasonably priced restaurants and bars nearby (try the luzzi).
Roof top restaurant amazing view watch the sun set over st peters with the colosseum in the forefront, food was out of this world.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank halpal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoManfrediRoma, Direttore generale at Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Palazzo Manfredi-Relais & Chateaux during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bruno Papaleo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

You can almost feel the “games” from this hotel, which is located about a block from the Colosseum, Piazza del Colosseo, and between the hotel and Colosseum is the site of where gladiators lived and trained. In fact, a carefully selected room will allow you look out over these training grounds which are between the hotel and the Colosseum. Originally a gaming site, the hotel had previously been the Hotel Gladiatori, which is fitting given the location. Across the street from the hotel are the ruins of Nero’s palace, and within walking distance is the Circus (where the chariot races where held), Ancient Ruins, which are must to visit, the Arch of Constantine, and the Hippodrome of Domitian and Stadium. From this hotel you could spend two or three days visiting sites and never need to get into a car or take public transportation. The hotel also has a restaurant on the top floor overlooking the Colosseum, which is excellent, with seating on an outside deck that is laced with herbs used in food preparation and which is overlooking the training ruins and Colosseum that provides a great night view of the lighted Colosseum. Within a couple of blocks of the hotel there are a number of local restaurants that are excellent. Rooms are very nice, but not up to what you would expect in five star hotels in that they tend to be smaller and are a little dated, as is the hotel lobby which is immediately to the right as you enter. Nevertheless, this is a fabulous place to stay and enjoy Rome. Not far from the hotel there are additional sites to see and on Sunday the main thoroughfare is closed for pedestrian traffic. Excellent place to stay and the staff is very accommodating making dinner and travel reservations. The picture accompanying this review was taken from our bedroom window.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side of the hotel (right side facing the hotel) overlook the Colosseum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwoFrequentDinners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoManfrediRoma, Direttore generale at Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Palazzo Manfredi-Relais & Chateaux during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bruno Papaleo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Palazzo Manfredi , each one was superb. We booked only 24hours ahead of travelling, but they still arranged a private transfer from the airport for us without any hassle. This certainly is worth doing and can cost just a small amount more than a Taxi, depending on which car you choose to have collect you.

The location of the hotel is perfect for the historical sites of Rome. We walked everywhere, except coming back from the Spanish Steps. The heat of Rome had got too much and it was thundering, so we grabbed a taxi from the rank. Taxis in Rome do not behave like London Taxis, so be warned, either negotiate the price before you get in, which is the less stressful option, or insist they turn on the meter and give you a receipt.

The check in was fast and efficient. As there was already someone checking in at the main desk, we were taken to a lounge and all the paperwork was brought over to us and completed in a very short time.

We had booked a junior suite overlooking the Colosseum and were very surprised and delighted to be upgraded to the Colosseum Suite. We were taken to our room by the hotel manager, shown around the room, shown how everything worked, then given a brief history of the hotel and the Gladiator training ground that is directly in front of the hotel. The Colosseum Suite is very stylish, with four large opening windows overlooking the Colosseum, two overlooking the park opposite and two at the back overlooking neighbouring properties.
To be able to see the Colosseum in so many different lights was wonderful. It is particularly striking at sunrise when it turns orange as the sun catches it.

Each time we left the hotel we were acknowledged and wished well for the day and each time we came back we were asked how we had enjoyed which ever site it was we had visited that day. This is so much nicer than a large corporate hotel that will greet you on arrival and departure, but will have no idea where you went that day.

Having the hotel get the tickets for the Colosseum and Vatican was wonderful and saved us a lot of queuing.

The breakfast choice was very good and the evening meals were a real treat. On the nights when we decided to have room service, we called to order from the room service menu in the room, but were pleasantly surprised to find the waiter came down with the full restaurant menu and we made our selections from that. The table in the suite was laid up with a table cloth ,orchid and full setting and the courses were brought down at 15 minute intervals. Nothing is too much trouble and all the service is given by people who appear to enjoy their work.

The AC in the room worked very well and was very quiet. The beds although feel hard when you press on them, were in fact very comfortable. They seem to be memory foam mattresses and we slept very well on all four nights.

There is some traffic noise, but no more than any other main road hotel and certainly a lot less than London. Rome does sleep. By 11pm the traffic was down to next to nothing and did not start getting really busy until 9am the following morning.

Housekeeping is their only weak point, but it is nothing major, just odd things that are not as you would expect, but once mentioned quickly rectified. For example, the suite has a Jacuzzi and three pots of different bath salts to add to it, but all three pots were empty when we went to use them, just the dried up remains in the bottoms. As this was not automatically rectified by housekeeping by the second night, when they came to do the turn down I asked them if they could refill them and two were refilled there and then. The third remained empty for the whole of our stay.

The check out was as easy as check in and the hotel arranged for a private transfer to the airport again.

Should we return to Rome, we would stay here again without a second thought. The view, the staff and the food make this a wonderful place to unwind.

Pros: Location, staff, food, quiet effective AC, free Wi-Fi, windows that open.
Cons: Housekeeping not at the same level of service that the rest of the team are.

Room Tip: Colosseum view is essential to get the best out of the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank MrsOgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoManfrediRoma, Direttore generale at Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for your wonderfull comment regarding your recent visit at Palazzo Manfredi-Relais & Chateaux.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with the Hotel service and that we were able to meet your needs.

It is give me a great pleasure to be able to pass along your positive comments and the importance of your satisfaction.

On the other side I would like to assured you that all precautions have been taken to ensure that such a situation with housekeeping will not occur again.

On behalf of everyone at Palazzo Manfredi Hotel, thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Palazzo Manfredi Hotel in the not too distant future.

With regards,

Bruno Papaleo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Wow! What immaculate service, wine, food and views. You pay for quality and quality you get. We celebrated a small wedding here. We booked a table for six and there were other guests in the restaurant but the staff made us feel like we were the only ones. So professional and kind. We will be back for our anniversary meal ever year I'm sure!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lungitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoManfrediRoma, Direttore at Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

What amazing words of compliments you have written, please accept my most sincere thanks on behalf of all my staff. I am so very proud that we have been able to assist in creating this lasting memory on such an important occasion.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again to the Eternal city.

Sincerely,

Bruno Papaleo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

WE stated at Palazzo Manfredi for a long weekend at the start of May 2013 for our wedding anniversary.

The hotel is in a brilliant location, right next to the Colloseum and we realised that most of ancient Rome was pretty much within walking distance.

Our room was really nice, the bathroom impressive and breakfast great.

We ate in the roof top restaurant on the Saturday night. Expensive but really, really, very good. The Maitre D was a very funny guy, and the local wine - both red and white - excellent. The food was as good as anywhere and the view unbeatable!

But the most impressive thing was the hotel staff. They were friendly, helpful and informative the whole time. Recommended and booked some very good restaurants, and sorted out our online check in for the flight home, even though we hadn't spotted the BA flight change and they weren't allowed to check in until two hours after we had said it needed to be done. They got us better seats than we got ourselves on the way out as well!

If you want to stay in a fantastic hotel, in a really amazing city, this is the place to go.

The recept

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0N3S_FAM1LY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoManfrediRoma, Direttore at Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for your wonderfull comment regarding your recent visit at Palazzo Manfredi-Relais & Chateaux.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with the Hotel service and that we were able to meet your needs.

It is give me a great pleasure to be able to pass along your positive comments and the importance of your satisfaction.

On behalf of everyone at Palazzo Manfredi, thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Palazzo Manfredi in the not too distant future.

With regards,

Bruno Papaleo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

If you are travelling to Rome, then this is the place to stay. Me and my fiancée stayed here as a surprise for my 30th birthday in May and we couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. Waking up and having breakfast looking out onto the Colosseum was magical, and quite literally breath-taking.
The hotel staff were so accommodating for every request and were the most helpful staff we have experienced. We asked them to get us VIP tickets to see the Colosseum, which they ordered and payed for online with their own credit card, getting us to skip the queues and see the underground level and the third tier, all for cheaper than the price the English guides wanted outside the Colosseum, with the tickets also including Palatine Hill and the Roman Forum.
We also wanted to go for a meal but never having been to Rome before we asked the hotel manager Bruno for his recommendation, not only did he recommend a fantastic restaurant but he then preceded in phoning the restaurant to make us a reservation and then ordered our taxi, coming out to speak to the driver and telling him our destination.
We would certainly recommend this Hotel for anyone of all ages and groups, the location is perfect, the view is phenomenal and I cannot put into words how highly I rate the staff.
Fantastic hotel and will easily be staying here again the next time we see Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoManfrediRoma, Direttore at Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

What amazing words of compliments you have written, please accept my most sincere thanks on behalf of all my staff. I am so very proud that we have been able to assist in creating this lasting memory on such an important occasion.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again to Eternal city.

Sincerely,

Bruno Papaleo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#53 of 1,272 in Rome
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,272 in Rome
460 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux

Address: Via Labicana 125, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#38 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#63 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $263 - $701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Palazzo Manfredi is a magnificent historic villa that today serves as five-star hotel offering the tradition and warm hospitality of the Counts Manfredi. Every detail is a family jewel, from the spectacular view of the Colosseum, to the courtesy of our staff, the classic and contemporary elegance of the decor, and our sophisticated restaurant on one of Rome's most romantic terraces. History is on our doorstep, but true luxury is being part of a great family's history." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Manfredi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing