We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional communication and guides”

Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours
Ranked #52 of 222 Food & Drink in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours provides private, custom-designed tours throughout Italy: *Unparalleled, personalized customer service from start to finish*Art & history tours*Food & wine tours, tasting tours, market tours*Cooking Classes with home and professional chefs all over Italy (featured in the NY Times) *Food Workshops*Art classes such as mosaic, fresco, drawing or painting lessons, artisan tours*Walking Tours*Chauffeured tours and transfers *Experiences with art experts, archeologists and historians to sommeliers and chefs. *Hotel, restaurant, and train reservations We specialize in the best hidden gems of Italy~
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We worked with Ally in planning transportation and tours in Rome and the Amalfi Coast. Ally was incredibly gracious in her communication and detailed and quick in her response. We also communicated with her associate Marcel who was just as helpful and even shared what to order at his favorite restaurant, Taverna dei Fori Imperiali... which was great.

The transportation and tours were exactly what we wanted. Our guides in Rome - Grazia and Ettore were both extremely knowledgeable and enjoyable to be with. Grazia took us through the Vatican and Ettore created a special 4 hour tour - 3 hours of Ancient Rome and over an hour of wine and food tasting at a wonderful little wine bar. Ettore's combined knowledge of history and wine, make for a special afternoon.

Our driver in Rome, Marco was fabulous. On our way from the airport to our hotel, he took a brief "detour" to share some very special sights with us. Our driver to Ravello and then from Positano to Pompeii was "another" Marco. Also, so engaging sharing his hometown (Naples) information with us. Our guide in Pompeii was Santiago. He was just great - so informative and a pleasure to spend a few hours with... even in the rain!

I found everyone I came in contact with through Italy Hotline to be hospitable and professional. In looking at other similar companies, Italy Hotline provided a very good value for the costs. They really managed all the details in addition to making restaurant recommendations and reservations.

2  Thank travelmore10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy_Hotline_Tours, General Manager at Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind review!
I am very pleased that you found communication with us pleasant and efficient, and that all the services were to your liking.
Grazia and Santigao are wonderful colleagues and absolute experts in their fields. I’m pleased you enjoyed the Vatican City and Pompeii! Ettore is not only a fantastic tour guide, but also a professional wine and food expert. This makes our fully customized tours that combine the culinary & the cultural in Rome an unforgettable experience! I am also pleased that you enjoyed your private transfers from Rome Fiumicino airport to your Rome hotel, from Rome to Ravello, and from Positano to Pompeii with our two driver-guides, Marco in Rome and Marco on the Amalfi Coast.
Finally, it’s not always entirely straightforward and easy to find a truly good , authentic restaurant in Rome: I am very pleased that you enjoyed our personal favorites! It was my pleasure to make the reservations for you.
Warm regards,
Ally
General Manager
Italy Hotline Custom & Gourmet Tours LLC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 145 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our family recently toured northern Italy. Ally, of Italy hotline, arranged a number of delightful and memorable tours for us, including a visit to Florence with Lise. Anyone who travels to Florence must take a tour with Lise. Having grown up in America, Lise's English is flawless. We arranged for her to take the women in out family on a fashion tour of the Gucci and Ferragamo museums, which they enjoyed immensely. Afterwards, she walked around with our entire family and displayed her encyclopedic knowledge of the city's art and history. I plan to return to Florence one day, and I hope that Lise is available when I do!

3  Thank 378FredF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy_Hotline_Tours, General Manager at Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Fred,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of the private 3-hour Fashion Tour you took with our tour guide Lise in Florence.
Lise’s original tour can be customized to focus on anything fashion-related, from visiting small local artisans and designers, to the study of the history of fashion at the Antique Silk Factory, to – as you chose – admiring the history and masterpieces of today’s famous designers, Gucci and Salvatore Ferragamo.
I hope to be able to welcome you and your family back in Italy very soon!
Warm regards,
Ally
General Manager
Italy Hotline Custom & Gourmet Tours LLC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our Monti Wine Tour. Ettore was so personable and fun to be with as well as extremely well informed about Italian wines. We learned a lot of new things while visiting local establishments off the beaten track. The following morning Sarah led us through the Campo di Fiori and the Jewish Ghetto. She took us to a fantastic cheese shop. Throughout the planning process Ally was prompt in replying and setting up the tours. She was even available to help us locate Sarah when we were in the wrong place. Italy Hotline Tours really enhanced our visit to Rome and I highly recommend them.

3  Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy_Hotline_Tours, General Manager at Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Pamela,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the 3-hour Monti Wine and 3-hour Campo de' Fiori & Jewish Ghetto Food tours with Ettore and Sarah!
They are professional wine and food experts, as well as tour guides, and I am thrilled you enjoyed their company and expertise. It was a pleasure setting these two private walking tours up for you and your friends, and I am so happy to hear that the combination of great food & wine enhanced your visit to the Eternal City.
I look forward to having you back in Rome!
Warm regards,
Ally
General Manager
Italy Hotline Custom & Gourmet Tours LLC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I turned to Italy Hotline for the gastronomic tours with an emphasis on cheeses and wines. Excursion cost was 230 Euro per person. During the tour two cheese shops and several shops (capucino, pizza blanca, gelato etc) were visited. On the same route we saw other touristic groups. I thought it was a typical excursion, not a special solution. And it is extremely expensive for the content.

3  Thank PolinaT16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy_Hotline_Tours, General Manager at Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Polina,
Thank You for taking the time to review the 3-hour private “Walking Food Tour with a Concentration on Handmade Cheeses” that you booked in Rome in June 2013.
I am sorry to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with your experience, and would like to make some comments about this tour.
All our 3-hour private walking tours in Rome cost 250 Euros – this price excludes entry tickets, transportation, gratuities and tastings. All our tours are 100% private and the price is calculated for a private group (that may consist of a single person, a couple, a family or a group of friends) of up to and including 5 people, lead by an professional expert in the field.
Since yours was a last-minute request and you were only one person, it was our pleasure to make an exception and offer you a discount of 25% and the tour at the rate of 230 Euros including all food and wine tastings. Your tour guide was Sarah, a professional sommelier and food expert, who only frequents the highest quality Slow Food specialty food shops and enotecas during her private food and wine tours.
Since you requested a special focus on cheese, Sarah took you to one of the finest cheese shops in Rome where you tasted a total of 10 different artisan-produced cheeses. You also sampled pizza ebraica, pizza bianca, olives, sundried tomatoes, gelato, cappuccino, and more cheeses at an excellent enoteca. Here Sarah conducted a tasting of both red and white wine. Sarah offered to have you also sample some suppli and ciccoria, but you said you were satisfied with everything and did not want to taste anything else.
Rome is a city that is world-renown for its wine and cuisine, and yours was a tour in the heart of the city center. The places that Sarah took you to are the best authentic, Slow-Food enotecas, bakeries and specialty shops which have been written about in guide books, online articles, and magazines and newspapers like Travel + Leisure, the New York Times, the Guardian and USA Today, as well as countless local Italian publications. It is inevitable that others have heard about these places and choose to come there too. This, however, does not make the quality of the food and wine you tasted anything less than excellent.
We pride ourselves in working with experts and showing our guests the authentic side of Italian cuisine and culture. Once again, I am sorry you felt the price you paid was too high. I can assure you, however, that our prices are competitive for a 3-hour fully private experience with a professional sommelier, all food and wine tastings included.
Warm regards,
Ally
General Manager
Italy Hotline Custom & Gourmet Tours LLC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I recomend to everyone. These guides are very knowledgeable and educated in Italian Culture. They are always on time and their transportation is very clean and reliable.

2  Thank mifa49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy_Hotline_Tours, General Manager at Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your review! We are pleased that you found our guides friendly and knowledgeable, and our chauffeurs and transportation reliable and of a high standard.
Kind regards,
Ally
General Manager
Italy Hotline Custom & Gourmet Tours LLC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours also viewed

 

Been to Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing