We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Florence with Lise”

Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours
Ranked #52 of 226 Food & Drink in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours provides private, custom-designed tours throughout Italy: *Unparalleled, personalized customer service from start to finish*Art & history tours*Food & wine tours, tasting tours, market tours*Cooking Classes with home and professional chefs all over Italy (featured in the NY Times) *Food Workshops*Art classes such as mosaic, fresco, drawing or painting lessons, artisan tours*Walking Tours*Chauffeured tours and transfers *Experiences with art experts, archeologists and historians to sommeliers and chefs. *Hotel, restaurant, and train reservations We specialize in the best hidden gems of Italy~
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our family recently toured northern Italy. Ally, of Italy hotline, arranged a number of delightful and memorable tours for us, including a visit to Florence with Lise. Anyone who travels to Florence must take a tour with Lise. Having grown up in America, Lise's English is flawless. We arranged for her to take the women in out family on a fashion tour of the Gucci and Ferragamo museums, which they enjoyed immensely. Afterwards, she walked around with our entire family and displayed her encyclopedic knowledge of the city's art and history. I plan to return to Florence one day, and I hope that Lise is available when I do!

3  Thank 378FredF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy_Hotline_Tours, General Manager at Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Fred,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of the private 3-hour Fashion Tour you took with our tour guide Lise in Florence.
Lise’s original tour can be customized to focus on anything fashion-related, from visiting small local artisans and designers, to the study of the history of fashion at the Antique Silk Factory, to – as you chose – admiring the history and masterpieces of today’s famous designers, Gucci and Salvatore Ferragamo.
I hope to be able to welcome you and your family back in Italy very soon!
Warm regards,
Ally
General Manager
Italy Hotline Custom & Gourmet Tours LLC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 146 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our Monti Wine Tour. Ettore was so personable and fun to be with as well as extremely well informed about Italian wines. We learned a lot of new things while visiting local establishments off the beaten track. The following morning Sarah led us through the Campo di Fiori and the Jewish Ghetto. She took us to a fantastic cheese shop. Throughout the planning process Ally was prompt in replying and setting up the tours. She was even available to help us locate Sarah when we were in the wrong place. Italy Hotline Tours really enhanced our visit to Rome and I highly recommend them.

3  Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy_Hotline_Tours, General Manager at Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Pamela,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the 3-hour Monti Wine and 3-hour Campo de' Fiori & Jewish Ghetto Food tours with Ettore and Sarah!
They are professional wine and food experts, as well as tour guides, and I am thrilled you enjoyed their company and expertise. It was a pleasure setting these two private walking tours up for you and your friends, and I am so happy to hear that the combination of great food & wine enhanced your visit to the Eternal City.
I look forward to having you back in Rome!
Warm regards,
Ally
General Manager
Italy Hotline Custom & Gourmet Tours LLC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I turned to Italy Hotline for the gastronomic tours with an emphasis on cheeses and wines. Excursion cost was 230 Euro per person. During the tour two cheese shops and several shops (capucino, pizza blanca, gelato etc) were visited. On the same route we saw other touristic groups. I thought it was a typical excursion, not a special solution. And it is extremely expensive for the content.

3  Thank PolinaT16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy_Hotline_Tours, General Manager at Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Polina,
Thank You for taking the time to review the 3-hour private “Walking Food Tour with a Concentration on Handmade Cheeses” that you booked in Rome in June 2013.
I am sorry to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with your experience, and would like to make some comments about this tour.
All our 3-hour private walking tours in Rome cost 250 Euros – this price excludes entry tickets, transportation, gratuities and tastings. All our tours are 100% private and the price is calculated for a private group (that may consist of a single person, a couple, a family or a group of friends) of up to and including 5 people, lead by an professional expert in the field.
Since yours was a last-minute request and you were only one person, it was our pleasure to make an exception and offer you a discount of 25% and the tour at the rate of 230 Euros including all food and wine tastings. Your tour guide was Sarah, a professional sommelier and food expert, who only frequents the highest quality Slow Food specialty food shops and enotecas during her private food and wine tours.
Since you requested a special focus on cheese, Sarah took you to one of the finest cheese shops in Rome where you tasted a total of 10 different artisan-produced cheeses. You also sampled pizza ebraica, pizza bianca, olives, sundried tomatoes, gelato, cappuccino, and more cheeses at an excellent enoteca. Here Sarah conducted a tasting of both red and white wine. Sarah offered to have you also sample some suppli and ciccoria, but you said you were satisfied with everything and did not want to taste anything else.
Rome is a city that is world-renown for its wine and cuisine, and yours was a tour in the heart of the city center. The places that Sarah took you to are the best authentic, Slow-Food enotecas, bakeries and specialty shops which have been written about in guide books, online articles, and magazines and newspapers like Travel + Leisure, the New York Times, the Guardian and USA Today, as well as countless local Italian publications. It is inevitable that others have heard about these places and choose to come there too. This, however, does not make the quality of the food and wine you tasted anything less than excellent.
We pride ourselves in working with experts and showing our guests the authentic side of Italian cuisine and culture. Once again, I am sorry you felt the price you paid was too high. I can assure you, however, that our prices are competitive for a 3-hour fully private experience with a professional sommelier, all food and wine tastings included.
Warm regards,
Ally
General Manager
Italy Hotline Custom & Gourmet Tours LLC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I recomend to everyone. These guides are very knowledgeable and educated in Italian Culture. They are always on time and their transportation is very clean and reliable.

2  Thank mifa49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy_Hotline_Tours, General Manager at Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your review! We are pleased that you found our guides friendly and knowledgeable, and our chauffeurs and transportation reliable and of a high standard.
Kind regards,
Ally
General Manager
Italy Hotline Custom & Gourmet Tours LLC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

In mid July we traveled to Rome and would highly recommend using 'Italy Hotline'. Once we arrived, we had a private chauffeur service from the airport to our hotel, the car was on time, comfortable and the driver Marco gave us a mini tour in English of all the sites we passed by which was lovely!

later that night we did an "Evening Rome Highlights" tour which was very relaxed and enjoyable, a 3 hour stroll with Ally who was very knowledgeable, good company and knew the streets of Rome like the back of her hand, (we would have been lost without her!) together we saw the Pantheon, the Trevi Fountain, the Spanish Steps, Keats and Shelly's house, Via Condotti, and the area of Monti. All the attractions were quiet and had a lovely atmosphere at night, especially the Trevi fountain where we made a wish on a Euro coin.

Ally recommended and made a dinner reservation for us and scouted out an excellent place which had plenty of vegetarian options and we thoroughly enjoyed the meal. We had truffle pasta , local cheeses, amazing antipasti and were spoilt for choice with deserts!

We'd definitely recommend Rome Hotel Grifo as its really central, a few minutes walk to the amphitheater and lovely restaurants and cafes nearby.
All in all a lovely trip to Rome, millie grazie to Ally and her colleagues and we look forward to visiting again!

4  Thank Zara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy_Hotline_Tours, General Manager at Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Zara,
Thank you very much for your review!
I am pleased that you were happy, upon arrival, with your Rome Fiumicino airport transfer with Marco and with the hotel I recommended and booked for you in Rome’s Monti district.
I’m happy to have shown you a glimpse into Rome’s amazing history and beautiful art and architecture on your one evening here, and I hope it made you curious to learn more.
I’m glad you enjoyed your dinner in Rome, I hope you will be back! There’s so much more to discover (and eat)!
Kind regards,
Ally
General Manager
Italy Hotline Custom & Gourmet Tours LLC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours also viewed

 

Been to Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing