We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great one day in Rome tour”

Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours
Ranked #52 of 211 Food & Drink in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours provides private, custom-designed tours throughout Italy: *Unparalleled, personalized customer service from start to finish*Art & history tours*Food & wine tours, tasting tours, market tours*Cooking Classes with home and professional chefs all over Italy (featured in the NY Times) *Food Workshops*Art classes such as mosaic, fresco, drawing or painting lessons, artisan tours*Walking Tours*Chauffeured tours and transfers *Experiences with art experts, archeologists and historians to sommeliers and chefs. *Hotel, restaurant, and train reservations We specialize in the best hidden gems of Italy~
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Sunnyvale
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great one day in Rome tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our group of eight had only one day in Rome so wanted to get the most out of our time. I communicated with Ally by e-mail to plan for this trip. She was very organized and very professional. Our tour guide, Michael Karris, was very knowledgeable, engaging and had wonderful communication skills. He guided us through all the places we really wanted to see in a truly enjoyable fashion. We learned a lot from him. The only slight disappointment with the experience was that our car was not the Mercedes-Benz Viano as specified in the itinerary from Italy Hotline, and we also had an alternate driver. That said, we were still very happy with Humphrey, the alternate driver. Overall, a great experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank IsabelSunnyvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiennaReid, Owner at Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your tour with us, and that the driver Humphrey and your guide Michael helped make for an excellent experience in Rome. We do our best to make your trip easy, enjoyable and exciting!
We apologize for the fact that the car was not the car we had confirmed with you. It is our fault, and we realized when we received your review that we gave the description for the smaller car, rather than the larger car that would be booked for a group of 8, plus the guide.
We hope to see you again in Italy and would love to help you with any travel plans in the future!

All the best,
Sienna Reid
Owner of Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    5
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, CA
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pompeii and Sorento”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was a great experience. With Ally at Italy Hotline, I arranged for a car and driver to pick us up at our villa in Amalfi and we were to take a tour of Pompeii, with a local guide, do a "windshield" tour of Naples and a short visit to Sorento. We decided to eliminate Naples and just visit Pompeii and Sorento. Our driver was Salvatorre and he was great. He had no problem with the change of itinerary and he was punctual, professional and knowledgeable. The local guide in Pompeii, Filomena, was there right when we got out of the nice Mercedes air conditioned van. She, too, was fabulous. She knew exactly how to bypass the long lines at the entrance to Pompeii and we were inside long before we would have been had we tried to do this ourselves. I would strongly recommend having a guide to see Pompeii. We would not have learned anywhere near what we did had we done this on our own. It would be too large and overwhelming to do it on your own. Our tour was about 2.5 hours long and was a perfect amount of time. You could spend longer there but it is hot and crowded when there are cruise ships in port. Salvatorre then took us to Sorento and was right where he said he would be and at the stated time when it was time to leave. He even had a good recommendation for us for lunch in Sorento. Salvatorre also made stops along the way back to Amalfi at scenic lookouts for us to take pictures and pick up some locally grown fruits and vegetables. It really was a great experience and guided tours are really the way to go!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank HGM95747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiennaReid, Owner at Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Amalfi, Sorrento, and Pompeii. The area is magical and so much fun to visit with a local driver-guide. Salvatore knows the area as a local and can open up so many secrets. Pompeii is one of the most mysterious and fascinating sites to visit in the world and having a great guide like Filomena is a must!
We hope to see you again in Italy and thank you again for choosing Italy Hotline and taking the time to write a review.

All the best,
Sienna Reid
Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great customized tour itinerary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

My mom and sister were visiting Italy for the first time and I wanted to make sure they had a great experience. My husband and I had experienced an excellent walking tour with Italy Hotline guide Sienna when we were in Rome previously, so I asked them to help me plan something for my family during the four days that they would be in Rome. Sienna and Ally both worked with me to plan a great visit. Not only did they put together three self-guided walking tours through different neighborhoods, they found a reasonable hotel right near the Coliseum. Also, since it was crazy hot while they were there, almost all the restaurants were closed. Sienna went above and beyond the call of duty by calling around for hours until she found a good one that was open and made reservations. No small feat when most of Rome was totally shut down. If I am ever lucky enough to be in Rome again, I will definitely be using Italy Hotline.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank grittykitty05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiennaReid, Owner at Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. We had a lot of fun planning this itinerary for your sister and your mother for these self guided tours. Ally and I are so glad that they enjoyed them! August can be a difficult time in Rome, and it was my pleasure to find a good restaurant for them to eat at. My philosophy is that there are so many meals to eat in this life, and we better not waste one of them! So fortunately after many phone calls I found a good one to recommend!
We hope to see you in Rome or Italy again, and thanks for choosing Italy Hotline!
All the best,
Sienna Reid- Owner
Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Italian cooking class with Francesca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Thanks Francesca and Sienna! We had a wonderful cooking class and we're still talking about the food for days! Ciao, Doris and Iris

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank morgause8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiennaReid, Owner at Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks for letting us know you enjoyed your cooking class in Rome. It is a great way to immerse yourself in local culture and Francesca is a fantastic cook!
We hope to see you in Rome or Italy again soon,

All the best,
Sienna Reid
Owner
Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Hook, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We did two tours (day tour of Rome with Michael and wine tasting with Ettore) and felt truly taken care of every step of the way. Ettore was charming with funny and fascinating tidbits while Michael was a font of knowledge - better than google (he knows EVERYTHING). Both obviously work a ton in the summer, but neither seemed tired of touring us about the city. Booking to tour was a delight.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiennaReid, Owner at Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your review of our tours! We really love to hear from our clients about their time with us. I am so glad that you enjoyed our guides Ettore and MIchael. They are both so smart, charming and fun and they know how to share the best of Italy with you! Wine tasting is a great way to see the city and to discover its culinary and vine secrets.
We hope to see you again in Italy soon!

All the best,
Sienna Reid
Owner
Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours also viewed

 

Been to Italy Hotline Custom and Gourmet Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing