We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Alessio

Ristorante Alessio
Ranked #273 of 12,046 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Esquilino
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
132 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I had a couple of hours to lunch in Rome between trains at Termini station and wandered a bit searching for a good restaurant. Most were either too crowded or looked too commercial. Alessio wasn't either.

I chose a pretty much classic roman menu (cicoria, amatriciana, rucola etc.) and it was all perfectly cooked and generous. The amatriciana was about the best I ever had, to my surprise as the restaurant looked modern and I expected some reinterpretation of it. Glad there wasn't any of this classic dish.
There's a good selection of wines too. House wine is fine though. Considering the area, it was not too pricey either, 59€ for 2 people, 1 entry, 2 pasta, 2 meat dishes, wine and water. Service was warm and prompt. Absolutely worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gian81_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,627
    899
    215
    83
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I was walking around to find a restaurant for dinner, we notice this quaint downstairs restaurant. The service was excellent, I wanted to order the rib steak with potatoes, the waiter suggest another smaller steak because he knew I was not going to finish the steak. Glad I did, I ordered the pepper steak. It was excellent and still couldn't finished the meal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I found the stairway down to the garden by accident and loved the atmosphere. The first course pasta was excellent for both of us. Beef carpaccio was a poor choice for my husband, he didn't realize it was raw.. Our waiter was abrupt never asked how our meal was. Other waiters seemed much more personable. Our mistake, but we still enjoyed the evening. Plus my husband was full from the lasagna. Also, the complimentary lemon cello from the manager was a nice touch at the end.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kdlm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Forget the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Service is a joke. Waiters runing around breathlessly but leave you to yourself to eat the crackers after taking your order. They won't leave a menu either because it takes up too much space on the table. So they say with a straight face.
The food? Over very quickly after the third waiter and mercifully very forgetable.

Helpful?
Thank Thierry C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!! Service o.k...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

At our first night in rome we went there. The food & the service was very good. At our last night in rome we decide to go back, we enjoyed the food again but the service that time was very poor...
Fair value for money. Very good food. Service- ask maurissio to serve you!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gilad e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Alessio also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Alessio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing