We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“20th Wedding Anniversary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria Barberini

Osteria Barberini
Ranked #93 of 12,045 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $53
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: family restaurant to the centre of rome/typicals roman dichesall day meat and fich frech/pizza also to lunch/all cards
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“20th Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Booked this restaurant for our 20th wedding anniversary - holiday to Rome. The staff spoilt us. We got champagne on arrival. The wait staff were all attentive and went through the menu. Food was fantastic. Had a mixed started of buffalo cheese, truffle brusheuta and egg plant stack - all delicious My wife had the black truffle fettuccine I had the Ravioli with black truffles for mains - again could not fault the food. Pannacotta and Tirimasu for dessert. Best of both of those that I have ever eaten. After that we were absolutely stuffed. We then were brought complimentary lemon liquor (Limeocelli). Price was very reasonable ($70 Euros) icluding water and wine and everyone there including the owner made us feel very comfortable and special. Thanks guys for an awesome meal. Half way through our trip we decided that we wanted to finish our holiday in the best restaurant we found. So at lunchtime we went there to book our last dinner (bookings are HIGHLY recommended). The owner greeted us and asked if we wanted a table for lunch. We explained that we were booking for a dinner several days away. He took our bookings and we couldn't resist. Unplanned we decided there and then that we would have lunch as well. Easily one of the best restuarants in Barberini/Trevi.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mathsman_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,360
    764
    173
    46
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
149 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Truffles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

This restaurant was recommended for it's truffles. We went twice! The food was well prepared. Fresh pasta with sauces of truffles. Good service by pleasant waitstaff and the owner and his son were quite welcoming.

If you like TRUFFLES don't miss this gem just near the America Embassy in Rome off the via Veneto.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rdeagazio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pasta you dream of”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We went to this restaurant on a recent trip on our first night and the food, service and wine was so good that we booked our final evenings meal there the same night. The owner recommended that we tried the specialities of the day, which was the set of 3 starters to share which were exquisite. The main pasta dishes (lasagne and ravioli) were the best pasta that we have ever had. On our second visit, the owner had actually saved a recommended starter for us both and the waiter actually spent so much time ensuring that we experienced a truly Roman meal, recommended a bottle of wine 15 Euros cheaper than our original choice. We choose on the second visit meat main dishes, which were just as tasty as the Pasta earlier in the week. Basically, if you come to Rome, you should try this small and lovely restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food with superb service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Love this place. The owner is a funny and very welcoming person. The staff? One of the best in DC. Great food and mood. Lots of tourists and few italians but otherwise, lovely place

Helpful?
Thank aWashingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A true gem in Rome...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

This restaurant was referred to us by a local and we were very nervous at first. We had reservations (make sure you make them it gets busy!) and the six of us walked into what seemed a very little place. We were directed to a downstairs and to my surprise the place is much bigger than expected. Our waitress was excellent, knowledgable about every dish and definitely steering us to correct choices. Then again, there are no bad choices since all of our dishes were AMAZING. Do not miss this restaurant!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mtbellini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Barberini also viewed

 

Been to Osteria Barberini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing